Customer Reviews for

Sex and the City

Average Rating 3
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why are you doing this too me?

Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on t...
Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on them selfs.


People use their anger on somebody else. Would you have fun doing sex while getting hurt. A friend told me once that if you have anger issues, sex is not made for you because you are just going to hurt somebody or even hurt yourself. I am not saying you can't ever have sex again just don't hurt any body while doing sex.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sex and the City

Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and mode...
Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and modern life for women in a creative style which reads well and flows beautifully. It is noteworthy as bordering on a great piece of literature for the 21st century.

With Sex and the city, the flow simply wasn't there. But it is a worthwhile novel in that she dared to right about the sexual escapades of the single woman....which can be true...depending on how independent and daring a woman wants to be in her lifestyle. Modern times haven't changed much for women, although, some of us don't seem to care what others think. However, content, is not what I criticize, it's presentation of that content and the development of a connecting thread through the pieces. However, what do I know, it was liked well enough to become a hit TV series.

Interestingly enough, Sex and the City, was catalogued in the Social Psychology section.

I like that way I approached reading all of Bushnell's novels. And, I have recommended to friends to read them all in the reverse order. But, I would give Sex and the City 1 or 2 stars compared to the 5 that I would give One Fifth.

posted by 2349097 on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    So Not What I Expected

    I was completely and utterly dissatisified with this book. The writing style alone was all over the place. Although I am a huge fan of the HBO series, I wonder how this book made it to the best seller list. It had no real direction and seemed to glorify the drug abuse more than anything among everyone in the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a huge SATC fan and have watched each episode multiple times. I purchased this book likely for nostalgia only. I anticipated an interesting tale which outlined the foundation of the show. I was painfully surprised to read not a story, but rather small paragraphs of information that, at times, made little sense. Yes, there are aspects of this book which will ring true to SATC viewers. However, I believe that for many fans, this book will be very disappointing. Honestly, I am amazed that the book attracted enough attention to even be considered for a television series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Horrible

    I thought the book was gonna be one of those great reads since it took so long to come out in paper back and i love love love the show!!! I was to discover that it was the worst thing ever written and i want a refund!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    If you want it to be the series I would pass.

    I am a huge fan of the show. The book is similar to the first season where she speaks to many people and stops to look at the camera. but it is not a novel. It is too choppy for my taste and I wanted to read about the characters on the show. It did not keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Mind numbingly boring

    I was looking forward to reading this based on the recommendations of numerous friends. I made it through 5 chapters before I could read no more. It is without a doubt the worst book I have ever tried to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Horrible

    How did this become a show? How did this become a BEST SELLER?! The sample I read prior to buying the book was too short. If it had been longer & had seen the layout of the stories, I NEVER would have purchased this book. I feel duped because I was expecting it to be like the show. I'd gladly accept my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    BORING

    THIS IS NOT WHAT I THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE IT IS VERY CHOPPY AND BORING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A disappointment

    I am trying to find a reason to give this book more than one star but cannot think of one thing redeeming about it. The characters were trashy, I did not feel connected to them, and I couldn't wait for it to end. It goes without saying it is nothing like the series, most of the main characters are barely mentioned, and if they are, are always drunk or high. I like other work of Candace Bushnell and am surprised at how much I disliked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A Complete Turn-Off

    I was anxious to read the novel since, having many sleepless nights from working the 'graveyard shift,' I saw some of the episodes as reruns-I never saw the show when it was on HBO when all of the shows were new. The Carrie Bradshaw that was depicted in the book is not like the Carrie Bradshaw from the series at all, at least not as far as I can tell. To me, the Carrie from the novel was constantly looking for a good time, no matter who it was with. The Carrie from the series wanted to have a good time, but through her own immaturity and indecision was always questioning who should be her companion, and she ruined, in my opinion, what could have been the perfect relationship, which was with Aidan-I hope I spelled that right. For somebody like myself who has made mistakes and was never forgiven for them, no matter what I did, I really didn't need to read this book. I have grown, I have progressed beyond foolishness. And no, I wouldn't see the film if one paid me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Darrin Star is a genius

    This book is terrible. The show really took a lame book and made it into something absolutely amazing. when I first got the book, I thought I'd get a novel. Instead, I got stupid snippets of little pointless stories that frankly...aren`t funny...Just watch the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Sex and the City

    I can't believe a woman wrote this book......i dont think any female can relate to anything in this book.......love the show....hate the book!!!!!!!!....please dont waste your time reading it..you and all your girlfriends will hate it ...just watch the show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    If i could give it no stars I would...I was so disappointed

    I read this book because I love the show, well thankfully HBO has some writers who get paid a lot of money for a reason. They made a great tv show out of a book that was in one word TERRIBLE! I can not believe this book is what the tv show came from the only thing they have in common is that they are based around a girl named Carrie. Horrible book, just watch the DVDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2