Customer Reviews for

Sex and the City

Average Rating 3
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why are you doing this too me?

Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on t...
Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on them selfs.


People use their anger on somebody else. Would you have fun doing sex while getting hurt. A friend told me once that if you have anger issues, sex is not made for you because you are just going to hurt somebody or even hurt yourself. I am not saying you can't ever have sex again just don't hurt any body while doing sex.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sex and the City

Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and mode...
Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and modern life for women in a creative style which reads well and flows beautifully. It is noteworthy as bordering on a great piece of literature for the 21st century.

With Sex and the city, the flow simply wasn't there. But it is a worthwhile novel in that she dared to right about the sexual escapades of the single woman....which can be true...depending on how independent and daring a woman wants to be in her lifestyle. Modern times haven't changed much for women, although, some of us don't seem to care what others think. However, content, is not what I criticize, it's presentation of that content and the development of a connecting thread through the pieces. However, what do I know, it was liked well enough to become a hit TV series.

Interestingly enough, Sex and the City, was catalogued in the Social Psychology section.

I like that way I approached reading all of Bushnell's novels. And, I have recommended to friends to read them all in the reverse order. But, I would give Sex and the City 1 or 2 stars compared to the 5 that I would give One Fifth.

posted by 2349097 on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Sex and the City

    Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and modern life for women in a creative style which reads well and flows beautifully. It is noteworthy as bordering on a great piece of literature for the 21st century.

    With Sex and the city, the flow simply wasn't there. But it is a worthwhile novel in that she dared to right about the sexual escapades of the single woman....which can be true...depending on how independent and daring a woman wants to be in her lifestyle. Modern times haven't changed much for women, although, some of us don't seem to care what others think. However, content, is not what I criticize, it's presentation of that content and the development of a connecting thread through the pieces. However, what do I know, it was liked well enough to become a hit TV series.

    Interestingly enough, Sex and the City, was catalogued in the Social Psychology section.

    I like that way I approached reading all of Bushnell's novels. And, I have recommended to friends to read them all in the reverse order. But, I would give Sex and the City 1 or 2 stars compared to the 5 that I would give One Fifth.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Sex and the City

    I read this book because I absolutly love the show.....but the book is horrible!!!...with all the tittles this book does not keep my attention at all....In fact this is one of the worst books I have read...take my advice and watch the show!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Horrible book. The characters are underdeveloped and therefore u

    Horrible book. The characters are underdeveloped and therefore unlikeable. The whole thing is hard to follow and lacks flow. It could have been really great, but it just fell painfully short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    A Disappointing Read

    I read Bushnell's book after having watched the show for years. I can see how the show developed from the book seeing as many situations in the book are easily remembered from episodes of SATC. I was however, disappointed in the overall organization of the book. I do agree with a few of the other reviewers that the titles within the chapters are not all that necessary I felt they kind of disrupted the flow of my reading. I was also disappointed because Carrie is not the Carrie I grew to love from the show, nor are Miranda or Samantha. I missed the four strong friendships that I connected with in the show that did not once appear within the book. Although, I am never a fan of TV shows or movies being an exact portrayal of the books they are based off of, I do give the writers of the show praise for taking the idea Bushnell created with her book and developing it into a culture phenomenon that most women I do believe connect strongly to. I believe the true reason I did not enjoy this book was because I began reading with high expectations of it being like the show, which it was in some ways, but not the way I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    Not even close to what I expected

    With expectations high since I love the show, this book cannot even be called a story. It is small, very small snippets of (I don't know) maybe the newspaper column written by the 'real Carrie Bradshaw.' I'm not sure where the book is heading. I understand where the show came from but this book was not worth reading. Either find a good, humorous sexy woman's book or watch the show. Don't bother with the book. I'm sorry I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    She should Re-write it!

    This book is quite confusing. Making all the titles everywhere makes it not interesting at all. The HBO series are too wonderful, but this book is too disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Hmmmm...

    I have a really hard time believing the television series came from this book. The entire book was disjointed and confusing. I never could figure out who was actually telling the story or when the story really began. At the end of every show credit is given to the book and I find this an insult to the series, because this book has very little to do with the series other than the name. I was severly disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Wow, and the series came from this???

    The idea and characters of this story are great but the book is just poorly written. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2