Sex and the City

Sex and the City

4.0 15
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Carrie and the gals are bringing sexy back. The soundtrack to the much-anticipated film adaptation of Sex and the City features new songs by Fergie, Jennifer Hudson, and a revamped version of the theme song.  See more details below

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Sex and the City 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't say enough about this soundtrack. It features some very well known artists with some rising stars. There is a great variety of music from rock, pop, techno, etc. All I can say, well worth the money spent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am so excited for the movie release next week. I'm rounding up a group of my gal-pals for a fun Ladies Night Out! Cosmos all around. I've pre-ordered the soundtrack so I can enjoy the music beyond the movie theater. The songs are an eclectic mix of pop, techno, classic rock, and fun theme music all set to a seductive, city vibe. There's a typical music soundtrack, and then there's a Sex And The City soundtrack - this doesn't disappoint. The offerings from Fergie and Jennifer Hudson (who also has a role in the movie!) lead off a great list of talented musical storytellers. Just checking out the sampler is a great appetizer to the movie....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sex and the City Soundtrack Review It's been years since those four fabulous Divas have come into our homes through HBO and given us something to talk about around the water cooler. May 27th was the release date for the new Sex and the City Movie Soundtrack. The fourteen tracks offer a diverse genre of music and has something for everyone. It's witty, sexy and fun just like our four favorite women: Carrie, Charlotte, Samantha and Miranda. 1.) Fergie: "Labels or Love" Fergie continues her infectious upbeat vocals on the song, "Labels or Love". It depicts the storyline of seven seasons of "SATC" and describes its purpose. Carrie Bradshaw moved to New York for "Labels and Love" and Fergie captures great moments with this song's lyrics name dropping designer brands like: "Gucci, Fendi, Prada purses, purchasing them finer things ...Men they come a dime a dozen, just give me them diamond rings...I'm into a lot of bling, Cadallic, Chanel and Coach" as the song moves into a wannabe rap adventure...but how can you not help but get caught up in the song when it flirts "Love is a run way...." 2.)Jennifer Hudson: "All Dressed In Love" You may remember her from American Idol, however, this Jennifer is all grown up...maybe too grown up. This song showcases her singing ability and has you looking to hear more. The movie features Ms. Hudson as Carrie's new assistant, Louise from St. Louis. 3.) Nina Simone: "The Look of Love" From the move and groove of Fergie, the soundtrack moves to a more soft jazzy tune by Nina Simone, "The Look of Love". This Madison Park/Lenny remix will have you believing in love all over again as the music awakens something deep within you. 4.) Morningwood: "New York Girls" Relatively new and a little too "hard rock" for my taste, I found myself hanging on to this song. Maybe I could hear Samanta in the lyrics: "In your tight black jeans...And my high heeled shoes ...God, I think you're hot...I got to get with you " 5.) The Weepies: "All This Beauty" Don't let the title mislead you, this is soon to be the biggest must listen to break up song yet. With lyrics like: “We traveled all night, we drank the ocean dry and watched the sun rise...Let me assure you, friend, every day is ice cream and chocolate cake...I try to be honest, I try to be kind, and honestly leave when I know that it's time." It depicts the emotions of confusion and at the same time discovery. 6.) Kaskade: "I Like The Way" How can I not appreciate Kaskade, who moved to Salt Lake City, my hometown and then on to San Francisco, my favorite city!? The lyrics express love:"I like the way we move...From left to right...I like the way we move ...You here by my side." 7. Jem: "It's Amazing" We haven't heard from this artist in four years and her comeback couldn't be better with "It's Amazing"...the title is pretty self-explanatory! 8. The Bird & The Bee: "How Deep Is Your Love" There's no questions the lyrics are perfect, they are the same ones that came to life through the Bee Gees. That being said, sometimes you can't improve on the original. 9. India Arie: "The Heart Of The Matter" This is one of my most favorite songs on the soundtrack. It has heartfelt lyrics that make you revisit those in your life where you need to extend some forgiveness. 10: Mairi Campbell and Dave Francis: "Auld Lang Syne" It's a familiar song and Mairi Campbell's voice makes it seem suddenly new and fresh. Dave Francis plays acoustic guitar lending chords that accompany the lyrics and voice perfectly! 11: Bliss: "Kissing" A beautiful ballad that moves you to those feelings you experience beyond the first kiss. 12: Al Green with Joss Stone: "How Can you Mend a Broken Heart" This song takes you
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got my own copy of this CD, and I can honestly say I'm enjoying it. Fergie & Jennifer Hudson do a great job setting the scene for the rest of the album, giving it some high energy upbeat pop songs that make you want to get ready for a night out with your friends. I think what really sold me on the album though are The Bird & The Bee's version of "How Deep Is Your Love" and India.Arie's remake of "The Heart of the Matter"... just gorgeous. There are a few songs I don't care for (who wants to listen to "Auld Lang Syne" the other 355 days of the year that aren't New Year's Eve??), but overall still a very good compilation. I haven't seen the movie yet, but this CD (and all of the fabulous reviews of the movie) are really making me look forward to it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just like the ladies of SATC, the songs of the SATC Soundtrack all bring their own unique flavor to combine into one unbeatable ensemble. This soundtrack embodies what every good movie soundtrack should have: the old, the new and the old with a new twist. It should have diversity along with some cohesiveness. For this soundtrack, the diversity of genres makes it interesting. Some songs on this are good, and some are just brilliant. The soundtrack starts of with Fergie’s “Labels of Love”, a catchy pop dance tune that embodies all things STC. The soundtrack then does not follow the expected route and continue with more pop hits. Rather, it takes a long and winding path through the story, hitting a plethora of genres on the way. There is a soulful, bluesy song “All Dressed Up” by Jennifer Hudson and an amazing duet with Al Green and Josh Stone, “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart”. For the truly nostalgic, there is a hauntingly beautiful cover of “Auld Lang Syne”. Then the journey takes new turns. The classic rock Aerosmith/Run DMC classic, “Walk This Way” is included as well as the classics, “How Deep is Your Love” and “Heart of the Matter”. These last two songs are my favorites on the soundtrack. These are both amazing remakes of the classics. The Birds and the Bees’ rendition of “How Deep is Your Love” is at once familiar and different. India.Arie places her own unique sound on “Heart of the Matter”. Again, the songs has not be changed to the point that the very essence of the song is gone, nor is it the same exact song we are used to which we hum along, just with a different voice. Both are beautiful, skilled remakes that actually offer something very new while still preserving the integrity of the song. Keeping pace with the twists and turns of the movie, the soundtrack journeys into the dance music arena with songs such as The Weepies, “All This Beauty” and Morningwood’s “New York Girls”. Even though many of songs have lyrics that reflect the movie, the true genius in this compilation is in how the songs all reflect the women of Sex and the City: some are slow and sweet, some are fast and clever but in the end, they all enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Saw the movie today. No disapointment there. Every song seemed to totally fit the scene without distracting you from the actors. The women were amazing as usual, great storylines, glad to see Jennifer Hudson back on the screen. Thanks ladies for giving us another chapter in your Sex and the City lives. I'll be buying my CD tomorrow.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the variety of artists and songs. It has something for everyone. I really like the duet with Al Green & Joss Stone. The song "The Heart of the Matter" by India Arie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was not a huge fan of the show when it was airing new episodes, but have started to watch the re-runs. I did not think the movie was as spectaculr as everybody else seemed to think it was, but this soundtrack is wonderful! I listened to it all the way through, and especially liked Joss Stone. It would be perfect for your next girl's night out, or in :-)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Simply put, this is just a great album. Of course, you will love it more if you've watched the movie. Go listen, I'm sure all girls would agree with me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After I recieved my copy of this soundtrack I played right away.. India Arie blew me away and that's now my favorites.. Great soundtrack..
cookiepolly More than 1 year ago
i am a huge sex and the city fan. loved all the tv episodes and of course the movie. The sound track is awesome. i have it on my ipod and listen to it on my way to work and at the gym. can't wait for the new movie and the next soundtrack
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Terrible - hope it's not any indication of the movie.