Customer Reviews for

Sex and the Single Fireman: A Bachelor Firemen Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terrific

Love the characters and story. I cannot wait for this author's next book. This was worth the wait. Read in one sitting.

posted by 3848476 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cute, but not as good as the other books. The actual hookup took

Cute, but not as good as the other books. The actual hookup took forever and the story felt like it was all over the place at times. 

posted by 311987 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Bernard knows how to deliver sexy, romantic, emotional

    Jennifer Bernard knows how to deliver sexy, romantic, emotional stories, and Sex and the Single Fireman, the third installment of the Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel series is all that and more!

    One of the things I most love about this author is how well she tells a story. They're easy to read, yet compelling, and pull you in right from the start. Her characters are people we come to care about because even though they're amazing, they're also human. They the kinds of people you live next door to, and they're like the odd cousin that everyone wonders about. They're the people you meet in the grocery story and the friends you wish you had... they're people who draw you in and make you love them, every single time.

    Sabina is the "Bachelor" fireman in this book and Chief Rick Roman is a man who's trying to build a life for he and his son after losing his wife in the 9/11 attacks. That right there got my attention because we've all heard the tales of the real men and women who gave their all that day, and stories like this - stories of the ones left behind - never cease to touch me deeply. Whether it's only mentioned briefly or the center of the story; whether it happened yesterday or eleven and a half years ago, it gets to me. Every single time.

    Watching Sabina and Roman's relationship grow from lust to love was heartwarming - and burn up the pages sexy. Start to finish, through the good and the bad, I couldn't get enough of them and that thirteen year old Roman-in-training, Luke.

    My thanks to Avon Books for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    A must read series

    Got the first book either free or greaty reduced. Bought this one because I enjoyed the first so much, can't wait for the next one to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    What a great read! Looking forward to the next Bachelor Fireman

    What a great read! Looking forward to the next Bachelor Fireman story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    To slade

    Im a teen whos 16 girl
    Covington Georgia
    On Salem rd
    Im a cute brunetee
    187mcgiboney rd
    770-786-8842

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Slave

    Yells and screams thinks oh cra.p she owns me i cnt do a thing she can hit me beat the fuq out of me if she wants

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Sex and the Single Fireman is the third book in the Bachelor Fireman series. I didn't read the first two books in the series and had no problem reading this book. I did, however, read the novella and was immediately sold on Jennifer as a writer. Most of the characters in the book are likeable, if not loveable.

    Sex and the Single Fireman did not disappoint. Sabina Jones and Rick Roman first meet under unusual circumstances. Another chance meeting leads them to contemplate a one night stand. Well, the one night stand doesn't actually take place, which is a good thing, since it turns out that Rick is Sabina's new boss.

    Rick Roman uproots his life in New York for his thirteen-year-old son, Luke. They move from New York to San Gabriel, CA so Luke can play baseball year around. Rick is a good guy with a past no one wants to have. Like many others, he lost the love his life, his wife, Maureen on 9/11. She was also a firefighter and died when the towers collapsed.

    Sabina Jones is a strong, independent woman who loves fighting fires. She's also trying to hide from her past. But sometimes, no matter how hard you try, the past comes back and bites you in the butt, when you least expect it. In Sabina's case, her mother wants to put her back in the spotlight.

    Neither Rick nor Sabina are looking for love, but that's one of the best parts about a romance book. You gotta love watching the characters fight against something you already know is a losing battle. And boy, when that battle is lost, the aftermath turns out to be nothing but hot. Sex and the Single Fireman is a really good story with multiple storylines going on. You will get drawn into a story that's tragic and touching at the same time. This is a story of love and forgiveness.

    FYI - The San Gabriel Fire Station 1 curse is STILL alive and well.

    Source: Edelweiss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third book in the Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel se

    This is the third book in the Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel series by Jennifer Bernard. This story follows one of the two women firefighters on the force, Sabina Jones or Two as the firemen call her. This story starts during Thanksgiving, with Sabina going to Reno, as is her usual Thanksgiving tradition. On the way there, she encounters Rick "Rock" Roman. First by trading insults in their cars, as he is trying to speak on the phone, and she is busy blaring rock music. And next when they end up seated together at dinner. They nearly have a one night stand, but Sabina comes to her senses at the last minute and walks away. Next they meet when he is introduced as Battalion Chief, Section Commander in charge of Training Section and Sabina is in line up. The sparks being to fly as they each fight their attraction to each other.

    Battalion Chief Roman is very tough and by the book. He moved to California to support his son, Luke by letting him play year round baseball. There are also some tough memories for him in New York, as his wife and fellow firefighter was killed on 9/11 in the tower collapse. At first the guys at San Gabriel firehouse dislike Roman. Even when Chief Brody stops by to give Roman a talk, Roman blows him off. If it weren't for the interactions with Luke, I probably would have really dislike Roman to begin with. It doesn't help that that Chief Renteria is constantly on Roman about making sure that there is no media about the Bachelor Curse. Needless to say, when Sabina's secret gets out, the media circus begins and leaves Roman fighting a losing battle. 

    Sabina had some major issues and secrets in this book. We find out that she is actually a former child star of a very popular tv series and has done everything in her power to stay hidden from the press. It helps (and hurts) that her and her movie star mother have been estranged for the past 13 years. But all that ends, when her mother shows up at the firehouse pitching a reunion show.

    There were many, many issues for these two to over come on their way to a happily ever after. The theme of forgiveness and acceptance continues to play a large part in the series. This book focused much more on the San Gabriel Bachelor Curse than the previous book. There were some cameo appearances from Captain Brody and Melissa and Ryan and Katie, but the crew of the firehouse were front and center in this book. I really enjoy the guys and can't wait to find out which one's story is next. 

    I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads. The author took would could have been a very big cliche with the "former child star", and kept it about real life issues. Like parent/child communication and expectations. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Resha

    "Okay. Hey Izzy. Wanna join me and Kyle?" Smiles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sex and the single fireman was an exceptionally well written sto

    Sex and the single fireman was an exceptionally well written story with multiple plot elements and very likeable characters.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.




    Roman married is widowed after losing his wife, NY firefighter Maureen, in the 9/11 tragedy.  He is left to be the father of their 13 year old son Luke.  He dedicates his life to Luke and decides to honor Luke's wish to live ""where he can play baseball all year"" by moving to San Gabriel, CA.




    Sabina is fleeing San Gabriel and another lonely Thanksgiving, and encounters Roman on the highway.  He asks her to turn her music down and in an act of defiance she turns it up.    They irk each other and end up with traffic fines.  They bump into each other at a restaurant and the chemistry is more than they can handle.  They decide on a one night stand but Sabina changes her mind and leaves a note ""sorry"" under his door.




    She returns to work to learn that Roman  is her new boss.  The fireworks began and through the mix of bar room brawls, movie star mothers, sizzling sex you fall in love with these characters and wait with baited breath as they fight dangerous fires and rescue runaway teens.  The author tackles the grief, pain, loss, and isolation faced by those touched by the 9/11 tragedy.  She does equal justice to the complex relationship between mothers and daughters.  She writes about how the character's pasts and draws a line between past events and present actions.  The story expands to the epiphany that only through releasing past hurts and forgiving offenses are the characters able to move forward.  She is able to do this while weaving a tale that keeps the reader uplifted and unfolds for the reader as if you were the character.  Indeed it did cause me to reflect on my own life or close family/friends that allow the past to get in the way of living in the present and moving forward to the future.




    The book entertained, enlightened, and educated me.  I would definitely recommend reading this book.




    Reviewed by Michelle for Cocktails and Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1