Customer Reviews for

Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!!! Hard to Put Down!

This book is fantastic!!! Sure to catch on... A fascinating eye-opener that addresses questions about human sexuality that we've nearly all come across -- it may finally answer things you've always wondered about!

It takes a close look at the origins of our prehisto...
This book is fantastic!!! Sure to catch on... A fascinating eye-opener that addresses questions about human sexuality that we've nearly all come across -- it may finally answer things you've always wondered about!

It takes a close look at the origins of our prehistoric past to examine the sharing, egalitarian nature of the communal groups we evolved in, and how far we've come so far from that now in our modern, often conflicted constructs.

The evidence is carefully researched, and the stories are captivating - taking you across history and across the globe as well, recounting fascinating anecdotes on sexual practices from cultures all over the world and examining the many surprising alternative approaches there have been to the same core issues. And it's all explained in language that's sharply intelligent -- and still fun, clear, and easy to follow.

This brilliant debut -- by a husband/wife team, no less! -- sheds light on how understanding the way human sexuality evolved is critical to answering questions about our lives today. Why is long-term sexual monogamy so difficult for many couples? Why do middle-aged men risk so much for meaningless flings? What do our own bodies tell us about our sexual evolution?

This book takes you on a journey that covers topics from the Origins of War to the peaceful, sexy nature of our close Bonobo cousins. If you've never picked up a text on evolutionary psychology, this is the perfect book to explain some fascinating concepts. If you're curious to travel a road that whisks you across the world to learn about exotic cultures and across time to explore our promiscuous past - you might enjoy this immensely. You could just come away knowing more about human nature - and about yourself as well!

posted by BBW_ on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

not a great read so far

I bought this book because of good reviews. I am about a third through it. Not a very well written book. It doesnt flow well. Also so far arleast book focusses on proving todays take on human sexuality and monogamy wrong. This is done mainly through authors interpreta...
I bought this book because of good reviews. I am about a third through it. Not a very well written book. It doesnt flow well. Also so far arleast book focusses on proving todays take on human sexuality and monogamy wrong. This is done mainly through authors interpretations of various things. It is really not very scientific. There is no evidence to back authors theory yet. So far, there are so mnay flaws in authors argument, i am wondering if i should continue reading or not.

posted by 3896898 on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Fantastic!!! Hard to Put Down!

    This book is fantastic!!! Sure to catch on... A fascinating eye-opener that addresses questions about human sexuality that we've nearly all come across -- it may finally answer things you've always wondered about!

    It takes a close look at the origins of our prehistoric past to examine the sharing, egalitarian nature of the communal groups we evolved in, and how far we've come so far from that now in our modern, often conflicted constructs.

    The evidence is carefully researched, and the stories are captivating - taking you across history and across the globe as well, recounting fascinating anecdotes on sexual practices from cultures all over the world and examining the many surprising alternative approaches there have been to the same core issues. And it's all explained in language that's sharply intelligent -- and still fun, clear, and easy to follow.

    This brilliant debut -- by a husband/wife team, no less! -- sheds light on how understanding the way human sexuality evolved is critical to answering questions about our lives today. Why is long-term sexual monogamy so difficult for many couples? Why do middle-aged men risk so much for meaningless flings? What do our own bodies tell us about our sexual evolution?

    This book takes you on a journey that covers topics from the Origins of War to the peaceful, sexy nature of our close Bonobo cousins. If you've never picked up a text on evolutionary psychology, this is the perfect book to explain some fascinating concepts. If you're curious to travel a road that whisks you across the world to learn about exotic cultures and across time to explore our promiscuous past - you might enjoy this immensely. You could just come away knowing more about human nature - and about yourself as well!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    not a great read so far

    I bought this book because of good reviews. I am about a third through it. Not a very well written book. It doesnt flow well. Also so far arleast book focusses on proving todays take on human sexuality and monogamy wrong. This is done mainly through authors interpretations of various things. It is really not very scientific. There is no evidence to back authors theory yet. So far, there are so mnay flaws in authors argument, i am wondering if i should continue reading or not.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    About Time someone could say it, and back it up.

    Very readable, with a wry wit and a no nonsense approach to human and ape sexuality. This book is very well researched, and spends a fair bit of time on debunking the conventional wisdom. I suspect that it might be a bit scary to take on the established views on such a hot button topic, but the author manages to insert enough humor to help defuse the tension.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    This book was fascinating. His theory seems very plausible and he presents it in a very entertaining way.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Well argued, provocative and w Well argued, provocative and entertainingly written

    This book was compulsively interesting, well documented and genuinely fun to read. You'll feel alot better about yourself and unsettled about the supposed benefits of civilization after reading it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Tmi

    Did not like

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Dgtdsyhsgyv

    This book is awesume!I have thoght sex is fantastic,I had 12 children.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Great fun to read and very stimulating. Despite the denunciatio

    Great fun to read and very stimulating. Despite the denunciations of the patriarchialists and those insistent on the biological imperative of monogamy, the authors provide a vast number of exceptions and reanimate the concept of primal omnigamy. Would that Western Civilization would catch on!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Just one of the greatest books I have ever read. This should be

    Just one of the greatest books I have ever read. This should be mandatory reading for anybody who wants to be in a relationship. Just so fantastic. I could not recommend this book more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Compelling argument

    This book changed my life. Well, not really. It more just confirmed what's painfully obvious to anyone who's paying attention and not caught up in one of a million contemporary hang-ups: people were not meant to be monogamous. Not men, not women, not gays, not bisexuals, not straight people, not Westerners, not Asians, not Africans.... No one.

    The fact that they had to write a book about this, contradicting America's moral authorities with the only thing that makes them burn (science), is a testament as to how so many people can accept a ridiculous idea without examining it.

    It's not a technical book. I'm not an anthropologist but I understood the argument. While some of the humor is a bit American Pie, the argument is proved. The most scathing criticism I found of this book is that anthropologists don't really say that humans are by nature monogamous, which doesn't do anything to disprove the main point.

    The perspective isn't "Be a slut" but more "Do whatever you want, but realize what humans were doing for 95% of the species existence is probably not how you're trying to live your life." The tone itself is a useful antidote to sexual moralizing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    LOVE! A new perspective!

    I loved this book. I normally don't read non-fiction but I loved the sarcastic tone sprinkled throughout this novel. I am open minded, so to read a different perspective on this topic was refreshing. Their ideas are not forced onto the reader, they are merely presented with facts to back them up. Finished this in about a week. And honestly I would have finished it sooner but I actually took a day or two in between reads to think about what I have just read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Gdsjddjcjucvh

    Hfeundjhchbehbhhhhhuhrudhfjfhfiwjdjcjdjdodksjqjwidkfododoskdkxjdjcjvidufurjsifosoqkwjskwkdkskskfkdkdkf

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Very interesting and thought provoking.

    If you have ever thought of why people act the way they do when it comes to relationships and human social interaction then this would be the book to read. It is very well written with a lot of resources that you can look at yourself to see where the authors find their information. It is not written in a dry form like some other books written on this topic, but written like a person looking for answers. This book will open your mind at why we look at sex as we do and why over time we get bored with a long term partner and could warder off looking for something new (this goes for both sexes). It takes a look at why monogamy is failing with people separating without working on underlining issues or not looking at options at keeping their relationship intact. This is look from both a physical as well as psychology view. There is so many different topics in this book a review cannot cover them all. It is a book better read with the reader drawing their own conclusions on what the author's message is and what he wants the reader to know.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    SEX

    SEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEXSEX!!!!!..............sex........................i have had 20 children............the rooms smokin when me and my guy do it...hard.................im 15............BUT WHO CARES!!!SEX IS MY BABY!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Read it!

    Read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    This book asks and answers questions that I have often wondered

    This book asks and answers questions that I have often wondered about. It does so with class and humor, educating the non-scientist with clear explanation and wit!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Ashley

    Nook sex anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Htgrew

    Gijjybn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Boring

    This book goes over and over the same situations. It justifies present behaviors by comparing humans to animals and small cultures. If you want to justify your bad behavior, enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Loved it!!! Finally a fresh look at sex and a huge eye-opener! M

    Loved it!!! Finally a fresh look at sex and a huge eye-opener! Must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5