Customer Reviews for

Sex with Kings: 500 Years of Adultery, Power, Rivalry, and Revenge

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Historical Smut is always the best

At time I too felt that this book was disjointed, however, that doesnt mean it wasnt a good read. I truly enjoyed this book, its fun to get into the nitty gritty of things at times. I've used Herman's books as well as Farquhar's books to occasionally break up my more se...
At time I too felt that this book was disjointed, however, that doesnt mean it wasnt a good read. I truly enjoyed this book, its fun to get into the nitty gritty of things at times. I've used Herman's books as well as Farquhar's books to occasionally break up my more serious reading. You will learn a lot reading these books, but its fluffier than some other books. I look forward to reading her book about the female pope!

posted by PiggityPig on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could Have Been a Good Book

This was a disappointing read. It's written in a casual, almost blog-type or Enquirer style, which shoots all over the place to the point that it made my head spin. It would have flowed more smoothly had it been written chronologically, but instead, the author chose t...
This was a disappointing read. It's written in a casual, almost blog-type or Enquirer style, which shoots all over the place to the point that it made my head spin. It would have flowed more smoothly had it been written chronologically, but instead, the author chose to write the chapters by subject. The readers would have been better served had the author written about the monarchs from a historical perspective. I was hoping that I would have learned something about history while getting the scoop about the sex life of monarchs, but instead I was inundated by a constant jumping around through the centuries. It really could have been a great read, as the subject matter is juicy, but sadly it just left me yearning for a better book.

posted by 650239 on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Smut is always the best

    At time I too felt that this book was disjointed, however, that doesnt mean it wasnt a good read. I truly enjoyed this book, its fun to get into the nitty gritty of things at times. I've used Herman's books as well as Farquhar's books to occasionally break up my more serious reading. You will learn a lot reading these books, but its fluffier than some other books. I look forward to reading her book about the female pope!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Could Have Been a Good Book

    This was a disappointing read. It's written in a casual, almost blog-type or Enquirer style, which shoots all over the place to the point that it made my head spin. It would have flowed more smoothly had it been written chronologically, but instead, the author chose to write the chapters by subject. The readers would have been better served had the author written about the monarchs from a historical perspective. I was hoping that I would have learned something about history while getting the scoop about the sex life of monarchs, but instead I was inundated by a constant jumping around through the centuries. It really could have been a great read, as the subject matter is juicy, but sadly it just left me yearning for a better book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    eBook Review: Extremely well-formatted, but full page pictures missing

    Because B&N doesn't support line breaks in reviews, my lengthy review for the (5-star) content of this book can be found elsewhere online. This review will focus on the formatting of the eBook at time of writing (03/30/2011). This eBook is extremely well-formatted - I never noticed any errors in the text nor in the table of contents links. However, the paperback copy of this book has several full page color pictures of the kings and their mistresses, whereas in the eBook format the pictures have apparently been left out entirely, which was disappointing. Otherwise, this is an extremely well-formatted eBook with no major flaws.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Its fluffy fun

    This book is The Star of history books... which is perfect for me! I think too often people try to be overly academic in the history writing and research; history should not always be glorified they had their drama everyday as us. This book is great for relaxed and enjoyable reading. Its incredibly entertaining. At times it seems disjointed in its presentation, however, its not so bad as to detract from the book or her great deal of research. I look forward to reading more of her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Sex with Kings: Five Hundred Years of Adultery, Power, Rivalry, and Revenge

    Okay! I have finished this book and loved it. I highly recommend it if you are interrested in the behind the sceens life of the royalites. I'm going to pick up Sex with a Queen as soon as I leave work!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    Sex with Kings: Five Hundred Years of Adultery, Power, Rivalry, and Revenge

    I have not even finished this book yet and realy love it. It is very informative and entertaining. I read a lot of historical fiction on the monarchs and just about every story includes one mistress or another. This book takes you deeper into the functionality of the mistress and how she got to her status and/or may have lost it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Fun, but lacking

    I found this book to be a fun little ditty. The relatively short chapters make it good light reading. The intriguing title made me want to read, but I was greatly disappointed. I agree with a previous reviewer when she stated that more in depth research could have made this a better book. I also found the book to be repetitive in many places, restating facts (ex. pompadour was a sickly women)in practically every chapter. Additonally this book lacked organization, which made it harder to read. One was constantly jumping around from country to country and over many different time spans. The chapter headings are clearly not enough to make this mess organized. Overall this was a fun book, but nothing I would recall a year from now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    A very entertaining book!

    Entertaining and well researched. A guilty pleasure you won´t want to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    cute

    I got a kick out of this book, and not just from the eyebrows raised when people saw it in my bookshelves. It is a fast, easy read that details the life and times of some of the women behind 'great' men. I found it incredibly eye opening, especially from a standpoint of fiscal (ir)responsibility. I found the book to be a tad redundant in some places...the same mistress and her story was mentioned multiple times with no new information. But, overall, I recommend this book to people who enjoy somewhat obscure niches of history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Looking for more

    I thought the author could have done more. what drives a powerful man to adultery? What sexually satifed these powerful men? What about some dirty little bedroom secrets of the most powerful men of there time? As readers we were only given the most mundane of sexs acts ' one dirty little Frenchmen with a toe fetish' there has to be more. I also could have used a little more of the authors personal views her voice not unlike an automated phone answering machine 'just the facts mam'. I removed the dust jacket so as not to look like a perv reading somthing with the word SEX in four inch red letters. This is probly a good coversation starter at the local starbucks but with out the depth this subject could have the book left me looking for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    This is absolutely one of my favorite books, and I recommend it

    This is absolutely one of my favorite books, and I recommend it to my friends all the time!  I couldn't put this book down, and I have read it several times since.  Absolutely on the top of my list of favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Royal Bedrooms

    An intimate glimpse into the boudoirs of some of the kings throughout history, Sex with Kings investigates their liaisons outside the marriage bed. There were lots of meaningful and trivial facts, but the subject matter was well-researched and in most cases, intriguing. It was easy to feel sympathy for the kings, the queens and the mistresses, as accepted practices throughout the years were not optimal for the fairy tale love I'd read about in storybooks of my youth. Definitely worth the romp, if you enjoy royal history!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    Great Beach Read

    I really enjoyed this book! It was sometimes difficult to follow because Herman jumps around in each chapter to different monarchs and mistresses, but I'm not sure there would be a better way to organize her points. I thought it was well researched and Herman's writing style keeps you engaged, and of course the subject matter does too! Perfect for your beach vacation or a lazy weekend afternoon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Fun Historical Non-Fiction

    I really like the perspective of this book, since women in history are so rarely written about or even remembered. She covers all aspects of these women's lives: the good, the bad, the politics, the sex, the social aspect, the scandal, everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Delightful and Insightful!

    Who says history has to be a dry, dusty trudge through a desert of dead factoids? Ms. Herman's witty, eloquently written tour of the naughty girls of history proves that the past was a living thing wrought by lusty human beings with needs and desires that directed the course of events. If, like me, you have always been curious about the sex lives of the great monarchs and their mistresses, SEX WITH KINGS will enthrall you from first page to last. You will encounter the most powerful women in Europe; women whose sexual liasons with kings brought them to the forefront of political life and enmeshed them in the machinations of state. Fascinating and meticulously researched, this magnificently illustrated and arranged volume is compulsively readable--impossible to put down! I have purchased several copies to give to my friends. Written with great flair, intelligence and humor, SEX WITH KINGS is for everyone who enjoys a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3