Customer Reviews for

Sexiest Vampire Alive (Love at Stake Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

excited

I greatly enjoy vampire romance novels and this one definitely made it on my list. can't wait to read it.

posted by enticed on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Another Book That Won't Download

Pre-Ordered as a Nook book months ago. Went to download it this morning and got the dreaded error message. Checked online and they obviously don't even HAVE an e-version of the book for Nook. I am absolutely DISGUSTED that B&N keeps selling pre-orders of titles for t...
Pre-Ordered as a Nook book months ago. Went to download it this morning and got the dreaded error message. Checked online and they obviously don't even HAVE an e-version of the book for Nook. I am absolutely DISGUSTED that B&N keeps selling pre-orders of titles for their e-readers that they can't provide on the day of release. I purchased over 300 books last year from B&N and Fictionwise (a B&N company) for my Nook in the past 18 months. For Christmas, I'm asking my family for a Kindle.

posted by 277999 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excited

    I greatly enjoy vampire romance novels and this one definitely made it on my list. can't wait to read it.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Love At Stake romantic urban fantasy a nice pairing of a vampire with a human First Daughter

    Romatech Industries Marketing Vice President Gregori Holstein is in Brooklyn watching the filming of an ad at the Vampire Digital Network when Robby McKay and Rajiv the were-tiger arrive to escort Gregori back to Manhattan headquarters as CEO Roman and security chief Angus want to see him. The coven masters discuss the You Tube viral of Malcontent leader Casimir having his head cut off. Roman and Angus interrogate Gregori over whether he drank human blood. He says he uses the bottled product. Recently converted CIA operative Sean Whelan will escort Gregori to meet President Tucker. Gregori thinks his instructions are too weak as he opposes begging for protection from POTUS. Plan B is to become allies. He creates Plan C to offer humans protection from Malcontents.

    Gregori learns First lady Belinda is very ill while the First Daughter Madison hosts White House events. He is shocked to realize there is another daughter Abigail the scientist. At the meeting, Gregori realizes no one trusts him. Still the President says for Gregori to take his daughters out in New York. If Abigail accepts him, he will take her on a special trip to China to obtain three precious plants she hopes will save her mom's life.

    The latest Love At Stake romantic urban fantasy (see Vampire Mine) is a nice pairing of a vampire with a human First Daughter while the strong support cast enhances the vampires forced out into the open. Little things means a lot like the hero's stress balls and the first date though the latter is too long. Although the plausibility of a First daughter going on an illegal dangerous quest to China seems like zero, fans will relish this entertaining entry.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Another Book That Won't Download

    Pre-Ordered as a Nook book months ago. Went to download it this morning and got the dreaded error message. Checked online and they obviously don't even HAVE an e-version of the book for Nook. I am absolutely DISGUSTED that B&N keeps selling pre-orders of titles for their e-readers that they can't provide on the day of release. I purchased over 300 books last year from B&N and Fictionwise (a B&N company) for my Nook in the past 18 months. For Christmas, I'm asking my family for a Kindle.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can you mix science with love and have all the facts add up in the plus column?

    When the vampire nation comes out to the public, the vampires enlist their best public relations man, ah vampire Gregori Holstein to be the face of the kinder, gentler vampire. Gregori is the male perfection of what vampires aspire to with the face of an angel, and the ability to charm even the President of the United States to protect them.

    The one person Gregori is not able to charm is the President's daughter Abby. She is an independent scientist who has stayed off the publicity radar and wants to keep it that way. However, when she discovers that the vampires can teleport leaving the possibility of finding a cure to her mother's illness shy Abigail becomes assertive Abby and gets them to help her find the missing ingredients to solve the mysteries around her mother's sickness.

    The dangers are real as the dark forces of the Malcontents in the vampire world surround them and one mistake will cost them their eternal life. Secrecy is the key to any successful mission but one of the vampires has his own personal agenda that is distracting the team from getting what they need and getting back home. Gregori knows Abby will be safe with him as he is investing more than just a business relationship with her. The desire to see her life saved has taken on new meaning, as he wants more than he could ever imagine to have her life combined with his forever.

    Gregori has another nightmare bigger and more sinister than anything he can control - his mother! She is forever in his life haunting him for grandchildren, and using every conceivable way to convince him that Abby is "the one." Gregori loves his mother but this one he may have figured out on his own.

    This series has held on for so long due to Ms. Sparks's ability to write original and creative storylines. You have the basics but what Kerrelyn does with these characters is pure magic and allot of romantic fun that makes you fly through this book waiting for the next. Read them all and you will enjoy every one, I promise.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes a good series goes bad.

    This book seemed really immature to me. I haven't liked tThe last two books. I think I'm done with this series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    LOVE, LOVE

    I just love the Love at Stake Series....I want more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly recommend...

    Another great fun read from Kerrelyn Sparks.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Good Read

    Of course I liked it because I love the whole series. But I will say it seemed rather short. Almost like it was "rushed writing". NOW..... that being said maybe we fans just beg too hard for a new book that sometimes authors may actually do just that! Its still a good read and I recommend to all the fans of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    everything i expected

    love every book written by kerrelyn sparks. love this book so much i couldn't even put it down. was exactly the type of paranormal romance i love to read. finished it in one day

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Yet another wonderfully funny book in this series. It was nice to see a more serious side of Gregori, even though it might have been a touch *to* serious at times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I've been waiting for Gregori's book ever since I read about him in the first book in Kerrelyn Sparks's vampire series. The only bad thing I can say about this book is that it ended. I absolutely *loved* it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great One!

    Sexiest Vampire Alive is the story of one of the youngest (he was turned less than 30 years ago) vampires in the Love at Stake world, Gregori Holstein. As with her previous books, this one has all of Kerrelyn Sparks' trademarks - a fast pace, sparkling humor, witty dialogue, likeable characters, and a sweet and sexy romance. These books are just so much fun. I have to admit, though, that I was a little worried about Gregori's story. He has a reputation as a playboy, and is rather smooth and urbane, qualities I find unattractive and unappealing in a hero. But I should have trusted in the author's skill at revealing characters to have more depth to their personalities. As with previous stories, she takes characters who were seemingly one-dimensional, and realistically reveals aspects of their personalities that are both new and seem quite natural, not forced. We learn that Gregori is really not a playboy, but has a gentle kindness and consideration for the feelings of others. At the same time, he has been training as a warrior with the older Scottish vamps, and can definitely protect himself and Abigail, the mortal he is falling in love with. Abigail is a great heroine - she is the seldom seen eldest daughter of the President, and has devoted her life and brilliant scientific mind to studying her mother's disease in an attempt to save her. She has spent most of her life in a gilded cage, surrounded by bodyguards and the Secret Service, her behavior always on display and judged in relation to her father's political career. She misses freedom, just as Gregori misses a life in the daytime, and feels he must always act the right way in order to blend in with the older vampires. They are a great match, and their attraction is believable and very sexy.
    The big bad villain of this series has been Casimir, leader of the Malcontents, but he was killed at the end of the last book. But by the end of this story we see a return of Master Han, and the introduction of a Demon, so the plot thickens as the good guys have more fights in their future. I'm hoping the next book will be Russell's story - he was turned by Master Han during the Vietnam War, and left in a vampiric coma for 39 years.
    Readers new to the Love At Stake series will easily enjoy this book, but will probably get more out of the series by reading it in order. There is much history between these friends, and their centuries long battle with the Malcontents.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    ????????????????????????

    DID ANYONE DOWNLOAD THE BOOK?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    A disappointment

    To enjoy this book, readers must accept it as okay to trade support from the USA president for a personal favor. And must be able to accept it as okay to reveal a confidence ensuring the safety of a whole group of people. And that both are honorable! Otherwise, the story does not make much sense. The heros deserve each other. Bunny

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    To bad on another per order

    Had to bo back a buy it again it would not download

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Great Book!

    After being teased for being young, Gregori's youth and inexperience in being a vampire is coming in handy ... it seems the president of the United States has called for a meeting, one desired by the vampires as well. They want his help to quash the video released in the book prior that proves the existence of vampires. But the vamps need to send someone who can honestly say he's never bitten a mortal for blood.

    Gregori is such a fun character, and I was thrilled to see him finally get his own story. He's always been so carefree, good-natured and adorable. We see another side of him in Sexiest Vampire Alive, and it's interesting. He's not just a sexy playboy. Nope. He has ambition, intelligence and can be very serious when it's required.

    Don't get me wrong - he still plays his share of practical jokes (especially on Sean Whelan), and VANNA is still hanging around for fun, but when it counts, he settles down and does what needs doing.

    I love that they found the perfect foil for Gregori's heroine, Abigail. To be honest, I would have expected him to fall for someone like her sister: sexy, flighty, a little silly - sort of a Paris Hilton type. But his heart was nabbed by the more serious Abigail. She was so focused and scholarly, that when she did crack a joke, it was twice as fun (I loved "Gori").

    Truthfully, there really wasn't much of a conflict in the story. A few things create tiny speed bumps: the fact that she's the president's daughter and he's a vampire, issues regarding mind control ... but nothing really big until right at the end, and even that is rather easily overcome (though we do get reminded about the new "big bad").

    Regardless, I never even thought about putting this book down. The interaction between Abigail and Gregori was priceless, and I fell madly in love with Madison, too. Ms. Sparks strength is in her characters -- they are what keep us reading no matter what, and once again her book is populated with characters I cared about and wanted to follow.

    Sexiest Vampire Alive is a book for someone who wants to enjoy the romance of two people falling in love without a lot of angst and high drama ...if they're in the mood for hot fun, then Ms. Sparks delivers.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I Highly Recommend

    a very good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Must Read for fans of the Love at Stakes Series!

    This book is about Gregori. He is searching for his Lady Love. It just happens to be the oldest daughter of the President of the United States! He also must convice the President Vampires do not exist since that stupid video went viral!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great series!!!

    Great love stories!!! Could not put down & had to read next one! But don't read them out of order, it gives away spoilers & the twists of the story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Fhjffrhgxhfttybgg

    Tgfggbfcbhgdvbbfdxnjfedgjjybgsffggavhyrethhggffetttfdvbgfvgfderggseggdejdhebbffwswtgvggfgggggffettdhsuqiwfgufgyfuduyhdudwwsudufjeydjfhgjdkgjfwqpfucnzmsjsfufuhgtdyweehxtdteeryyeebbniqisydhrdgyddwbeyfhfbeuehfueuyyeeehheheryjrrrejrfyeddjuujwhuwsuxxxjjjedudjjedjdddyddeeujjjeukjuujjdjjdfhdjdjdjjjfjdjdjjkeeeye jkvbenmifofgwkikkfknjfhshejjdhdwjqnqbcbcbbvdjfjfhdjjjdhxbdjbdbfbdndnndcnndbdddbbxbxbbbxxbxbxbdbbbcbvjbdbndndjdjkf bjdxnnnfjeywhcnhfyfffvhdffrgrfdddddfkdrdkejejekfjdjcjcnd ejdjdjwjwkdkdkdddjdjddkswidnxjsjdkdegtggggggggggggggggggggggggsuhhhdhdhdjdjhdddernrhygtrndrhyfjhhhxjjhfffhfdddkksjsujsjsjdjxdjdjxjxjnjjdjdhbdndjdgidjdduuwddjbbcjfdjjdyujjfjhjwudufjjdjdjjkjjdndnsjdjdjfjcndncndjfndnejxjfjdhehenrjfbghdjjdjejfbfhwkshvhfjdjdhdkvjdjjwbwfjdbcnfhdhdndhgjfbagdjfhddkdifufueudidjsjqkqklqhfhfhjjijfuudufudfjkdkjjkjkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkdrddfftdfgfydjefffgejufyffghhgdgcjdnudhfnhfbbfjhhhhebehfhhfhgggdggfgfrffhcfjfjdeefhffffetthfyyrgryyjfuggfggfgffggghfgw trvffhhedryrggfgyfhggtgrgfhfjgjrddgdgdgddghg

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12