Customer Reviews for

Sexy Forever: How to Fight Fat after Forty

Average Rating 3
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Suzanne Somers Saved My Life....

It's true, Suzanne Somers saved my life. Let me begin at the beginning....First, I am 68 years old, no spring chicken but no dray horse ready to be put out to pasture or to sleep, either. On March 22, 2010, I weighed 267 pounds. My life was nearly unbearable: I was taki...
It's true, Suzanne Somers saved my life. Let me begin at the beginning....First, I am 68 years old, no spring chicken but no dray horse ready to be put out to pasture or to sleep, either. On March 22, 2010, I weighed 267 pounds. My life was nearly unbearable: I was taking infusions once a month for rheumatoid and osteo-arthritis, I was using inhalers and nebulizers daily for COPD, my sleep was sporadic at best, and I was stuck like a hamster on a wheel between eating and thinking about eating, eating and thinking about my next food "reward." I believe if my life hadn't changed that day (why that day out of all the days of my life? I have no idea) if my life hadn't changed that day, I was destined to die a slow, miserable death, just as I had been living a slow, miserable life.

March 22 was the day I gave up, the day the worst part of me, the self-destructive part of me, died. It was on that day I began a life-altering change in thinking, nutrition and exercise that has given me life once again, that has brought me to better health than I enjoyed 20 years ago, and has restored my will, my confidence and my gratitude for the wonderful life we have available to us if we choose to live it.

On that day, after talking with Suzanne Somers, I committed to a complete overhaul of the way I lived. I began to take supplements to replace the life-giving and enhancing elements which had been absent from my diet, I stopped eating whatever and whenever I pleased and started eating 5 small meals daily, and I began to walk every day, at least one mile to begin with, as long as it took to complete. I got rid of the starches and carbohydrates that made me fat and sluggish. I shelved potatoes, rice, pasta and bread, all of which I dearly "love." I no longer eat sweets, including the ice cream that I consumed by the half gallon, if I bought it I ate it, and the candy and cookies I craved. And I haven't been deprived. I eat meat, vegetables, salads, berries, and more foods than I can name, and I don't spend afternoons and evenings partially asleep as my body struggles to digest the burden placed upon it as by those former meals eaten in a former time.

From a mile per day with three to four stops for pain and shortness of breath, I have increased my exercise to more than three miles per day, recently completing a 10 kilometer walk, 6.2 miles, at an average speed of four miles per hour, without stopping once. I am no longer receiving infusions, nor do I require a nebulizer or inhalers. My doctors are thrilled; they ask me what my secret is. I tell them: Suzanne Somers.

In short, I have reborn as the result of my efforts in implementing the suggestions so graciously and generously offered to me by Suzanne, the same general plan presented in Sexy Forever. What is that change worth to me? Beyond measurement in dollars and cents. I hit the lottery. And, if you're willing to make a commitment to your life and better health, you can, too.

Oh, by the way, on my birthday in November, I weighed 186 pounds. Down 81 pounds in 8 months. And I maintain that weight today. My commitment is firm.

If you're trying to decide whether to buy this book, buy it. It just might save your life.

posted by htsjr on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Leave it on the shelf...

I give it one star for a pretty cover. This is the same diet,food combination, hormone balance trick she has pitched in the other books. This book includes a pitch for her website if you want menus and recipes. That hoever cost a membership fee. I hate it when they do t...
I give it one star for a pretty cover. This is the same diet,food combination, hormone balance trick she has pitched in the other books. This book includes a pitch for her website if you want menus and recipes. That hoever cost a membership fee. I hate it when they do that. I already paid for the book so I should get the damn menus.
Go to the public library and check out any of her other books. It's basically the same thing with strong suggestions for removing all toxins from your life. ladies hairspray is makeing you fat. Buy organic.Too expensive? Plant your own garden. Balance your hormones. Suzanne happens to have a site where you can find a doctor.
Take supplements,,she has a site that that too. Leave this book on the shelf and save your some$$$.

posted by raidergirlEB on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Leave it on the shelf...

    I give it one star for a pretty cover. This is the same diet,food combination, hormone balance trick she has pitched in the other books. This book includes a pitch for her website if you want menus and recipes. That hoever cost a membership fee. I hate it when they do that. I already paid for the book so I should get the damn menus.
    Go to the public library and check out any of her other books. It's basically the same thing with strong suggestions for removing all toxins from your life. ladies hairspray is makeing you fat. Buy organic.Too expensive? Plant your own garden. Balance your hormones. Suzanne happens to have a site where you can find a doctor.
    Take supplements,,she has a site that that too. Leave this book on the shelf and save your some$$$.

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Must Need Cash

    She writes the same stuff as in her previous books and promotes her website. There is a fee charged to get menu's online. If you've read previous books written by Ms. Somners, this book will not be worth the investment. If you want new menu's to compliment the program, go online and give up cash to get them. As for me, keeping my cash and returning the book.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Suzanne Somers Saved My Life....

    It's true, Suzanne Somers saved my life. Let me begin at the beginning....First, I am 68 years old, no spring chicken but no dray horse ready to be put out to pasture or to sleep, either. On March 22, 2010, I weighed 267 pounds. My life was nearly unbearable: I was taking infusions once a month for rheumatoid and osteo-arthritis, I was using inhalers and nebulizers daily for COPD, my sleep was sporadic at best, and I was stuck like a hamster on a wheel between eating and thinking about eating, eating and thinking about my next food "reward." I believe if my life hadn't changed that day (why that day out of all the days of my life? I have no idea) if my life hadn't changed that day, I was destined to die a slow, miserable death, just as I had been living a slow, miserable life.

    March 22 was the day I gave up, the day the worst part of me, the self-destructive part of me, died. It was on that day I began a life-altering change in thinking, nutrition and exercise that has given me life once again, that has brought me to better health than I enjoyed 20 years ago, and has restored my will, my confidence and my gratitude for the wonderful life we have available to us if we choose to live it.

    On that day, after talking with Suzanne Somers, I committed to a complete overhaul of the way I lived. I began to take supplements to replace the life-giving and enhancing elements which had been absent from my diet, I stopped eating whatever and whenever I pleased and started eating 5 small meals daily, and I began to walk every day, at least one mile to begin with, as long as it took to complete. I got rid of the starches and carbohydrates that made me fat and sluggish. I shelved potatoes, rice, pasta and bread, all of which I dearly "love." I no longer eat sweets, including the ice cream that I consumed by the half gallon, if I bought it I ate it, and the candy and cookies I craved. And I haven't been deprived. I eat meat, vegetables, salads, berries, and more foods than I can name, and I don't spend afternoons and evenings partially asleep as my body struggles to digest the burden placed upon it as by those former meals eaten in a former time.

    From a mile per day with three to four stops for pain and shortness of breath, I have increased my exercise to more than three miles per day, recently completing a 10 kilometer walk, 6.2 miles, at an average speed of four miles per hour, without stopping once. I am no longer receiving infusions, nor do I require a nebulizer or inhalers. My doctors are thrilled; they ask me what my secret is. I tell them: Suzanne Somers.

    In short, I have reborn as the result of my efforts in implementing the suggestions so graciously and generously offered to me by Suzanne, the same general plan presented in Sexy Forever. What is that change worth to me? Beyond measurement in dollars and cents. I hit the lottery. And, if you're willing to make a commitment to your life and better health, you can, too.

    Oh, by the way, on my birthday in November, I weighed 186 pounds. Down 81 pounds in 8 months. And I maintain that weight today. My commitment is firm.

    If you're trying to decide whether to buy this book, buy it. It just might save your life.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Find out the truth!

    When a reviewer says it's "malarky", I have to respond and say... Find out the truth.!

    What she explains in this book is life changing. As I was reading, I just kept nodding my head saying "yep" over and over. I can see these truths in my life and the lives of my family members. It's pretty easy to do some of your own research to verify what she is saying. I've randomly done that, and it was easy to find the independant resources online that backed up what she said. There's also that old-fashioned concept called "common sense".

    Some may call this "malarky", but sometimes its difficult to accept the truth because then you will have to change your ways.

    After less than 2 weeks of making changes in my home, I can already see differences. We've changed out cleaners, detergent, soaps, shampoos, and are buying more organic/clean/natural/toxic free. I won't go 100%, but I will change where I can. Already I see my belly fat going down, and I FEEL better inside.

    I am recommending this book to all of my friends. Even if you don't want to change your lifestyle, at least being informed will help you to make better decisions, remember..."Something is better than nothing."

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Finally - Something more than Eat Right and Exercise!

    I used to be one of those people who would get a little chunky, then slim down with ease when there was an occasion where I needed to look good. After 40- the chunk seems to be here to stay and I AM NOT HAPPY! Everyone keeps telling me to check out Suzanne's info and when I saw this book was to Fight Fat After 40 that was enough for me. Ordered right after the new year and devoured the information. Found myself saying aloud, "THAT'S ME!" as I was reading. The eating program is fairly easy to follow (and I am already down 4 pounds!), but it's all the other information that really resonates with me - toxicity, hormones, allergies. I finally feel like someone is offering solutions to really figure out why losing weight is so much harder than it used to be. I ordered some of the tests she recommends for food intolerances - can't wait to get the results. Thank you, Suzanne! You are a champion of women!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    You need this book - your mother needs this book!

    Although I am in my 20s - I am always trying to stay fit,thin, healthy...and sexy! This book will allow me to change my habits in time for a big payoff later in life. I am so happy Suzanne has written this book - my mom is happy too! She is finding it useful and has made my dad read it and together they are enjpyinh the food and their journey to become toxin free and...sexy forever!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly recommended - provides useful insight and answers.

    Suzanne Somers has done it again...she has proivided us with a book that is full of information that we (at least I) desperately need! From the very basics to the things that I never thought about - this is an incredibly fantastic book to walk the reader through living cleaner, toxin free, lighter, sexier lives. Thank you Suzanne for using your voice to get us answers that allow us information we might never have.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    repetitious of older books of hers

    I bought this thinking maybe she had something new to say. I do like some of her recipes and food guidlines, but once again she fails to realize that ordinary people dont have the money she does. America cannot afford to completely xlean out a house and replenish everything in it. And dont get me started on the hormone thing. She sounds like a shill for wher medical friends and the organic food industry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Same BS, different cover.

    Bought it,read it and really wanted to believe that somethine was new. It's the same malarky peddled in all her other books only this time you get to subscribe to a website for a fee if you want recipes. I gave it one star for organization of chapters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    not recommended

    And several face lifts also help too. Don't waste your money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    GREAT NEW INFORMATION

    anyone who reads this book will immediately want to change their lives for the better.
    It goes right to the heart of my problems with weight and exhaustion.
    I can't wait to turn my life around.
    Thanks Suzanne.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    YOU HAVE DONE IT AGAIN!!!

    Suzanne, thanks for another great book. The amount of time and research you have done is helpful for all women...and MEN. You are changing lives with all this great information. I just turned 40 and this book came out just in time. Thank you for figuring out that it isn't all just me!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Kato

    Simply sexy. Look for that book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended: An ABSOLUTE MUST

    This book along with Suzanne's other weight-loss books are GREAT!!! It is a MUST READ!!! for anyone trying to lose weight!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    terrible book

    thought this book was terrible

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Nothing New

    Waste of money. Diet reminds me of South Beach with few changes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    nothing new here

    old advice

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Aspen to jake

    Can we fu..q each other

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Taylor

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Jake

    I need hardcore sex now

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7