Customer Reviews for

The Sexy Years: Discover the Hormone Connection - The Secret to Fabulous Sex, Great Health, and Vitality, for Women and Men

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Yes, Virginia, there is life after menopause

    A fabulous read in which I found some of my medical history and issues in nearly every chapter. Thank you, Suzanne, for bringing us out of the closet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Recommend this to your friends and family

    This book really lit a fire under my resolve to feel good. I had been on Premarin for years, but my doctor (a woman) switched me to bioidentical estrogen two years ago. I really didn't know the difference until I read this book. Now I have a man in my life after 16 years, and I WANT to have energy and I WANT a sex life. And believe it or not, my doctor is helping me! I felt silly telling her I had read it, but she was glad I was researching. There's something to be said for having a female. I met with a compounding pharmacist two weeks ago and started on the first of my 'other' hormones last night. I'm excited about the future. And it's all a result of reading this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    This book saved my life!!!

    If you are a middle aged woman battling fatigue, depression, weight gain, sleepnessness and the other symptoms of menopause, don't delay in reading this book. The first five chapters made me cry - it sounded like they were written about me! I raced to my doctor and requested the blood test described. He immediately sent me to a lab. I was in Stage Three Adrenal Fatigue and still trying to manage a demanding career, home, and schedule of an active 7th grader. Going to bed was not an option! I have been on bio-identical HRT for two weeks today. I feel so much better that it is difficult to describe. You will not hear about this HRT from your doctor - it requires effort, and you can't just order a pill. Investigate and be proactive about your middle age and your hormone therapy. Good luck! Thank you Suzanne Somers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    Good Information for Any Woman Interested in Feeling Her Best

    Clearly, Suzanne Sommers has done her homework. The information was well-researched, presented well, and easily understood. Excerts from professionals within the associated fields are included and informative Q&A format covers many of the concerns readers may have. Reads like it was written by someone passionate about sharing what they've learned... 'from a friend, to a friend' feeling. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    The Sexy Years

    Suzanne Somers book, which was recommended to me by a friend has helped me change my life! It is because of this book that I made an appointment with endocrinologist , who specializes in female hormone dysfunction.

    She discovered that although I have been on Thyroid medication for many years, that it needed to be adjusted.

    I was sorely lacking in Estrogen ,due to having gone through menopause many years ago, and that had affected my relations with my husband of over thirty years. I n this books , Suzanne stat s, that this is one of the main reason that middle age men leave their wives. I did not want that to happen.

    I am only on the BHRT , ( Bio Identical Hormones), as well as the other supplements that were rec commended, for a little over a month), and , my husband is telling me that I look prettier very day, and our love -life is starting to improve , ( slowly), but it is a start.

    I am so grateful , that my friend told me about this book. Her first book Ageless is a must as well

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Amazing!

    For two years following my discontinuation of HRT which I did upon my doctor's recommendation, my health was in a downward spiral. After reading Suzanne's book, I made the decision to start back on natural HRT and at 48 I have never felt better. Thank you Suzanne for educating me to the importance of natural HRT. I am amazed at the time and research you put into this book and am grateful you chose to share it with others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    It's More then the sexy years!

    Finally there is a solution for all women who are nearing or in the 'fall' of life. Now my mind, body and soul are in balance. This is no Hollywood hype! I finally have my life back, I feel so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    -Should be #1 on every woman's reading list.

    As Ms. Somers clearly relates, conventional Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT) has been misguided by patent laws which encourage pharmaceutical companies to develop and market non-bioidentical molecules that the human body has never encountered in millions of years of evolution. Over the past nine years I have used bioidentical hormones exclusively to treat both women and men, and attest to the many significant benefits in both body and mind function. Every woman who reads this book, whether she's already in menopause or not, whether she's treated with conventional 'non-human'hormones or not, will gain the understanding and knowledge that will restore the health and vitality these hormones provided in youth. Bravo Susan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    One to hold onto

    I read this after my Mom went through menopause. While I'm still young I plan on keeping onto this book for when I'm Mom's age. In my opinion, this is one all women could appreciate!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Great for young women who have had a hysterectomy

    As a 30 year old who had an emergency hysterectomy 18 months ago, I found this book to be such a tremendous help. Although the book does not cater to those of us who reached menopause overnight, the information about bioidentical hormone replacement has given me such hope for overcoming my hormonal roller coaster. Thanks for such a wonderful book and the answers to many questions over the past 18 months. Highly recommended!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Menopause Specialist Applauds Suzanne Somers

    Suzanne Somers is a great spokesperson for the treatment of menopausal symptoms with bioidentical hormone replacement therapy (BHRT). Her honesty in describing what she endured until she found this type of therapy will help many women. I have been prescribing BHRT for the last five years to hundreds of women with great success. Jerrold H. Weinberg, MD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    From Janie, age 51

    This book, The hormone connection, is wonderful. full of important information, for women, all over the world. I cryed and laugh. I'm not in this alone. I'm now well inform. Thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    This could be the missing link!

    Excellent resource for those enduring menopause or andropause. Natural bioidentical hormones vs. synthetic HRT is a timely and vital topic completely examined here. Suzanne is personally open and honest and includes her interviews of medical experts in endocrinology and other related fields. In addition some helpful websites are listed for her readers. I can say that because of this book I better realize the choices available to me now that could affect my happiness down the road!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    A must read...

    Everyone, 40 and older, m or f should read this book and make an appointment with a top-notch hormone therapy specialist. Especially for older parents with young children. I will breath new life into your marriage and active longevity for your time with kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    FINALLY SOME ANSWERS

    As I approach 48 I have begun to experience some of the symptoms of menopause. In this book I have found all of the answers to my questions and with humour. Thank you for such a great book that lets us all know that even stars are human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1