Customer Reviews for

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band [Remastered]

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Was 42 Years Ago Today...

    There's no way to simply gauge just how great and influential The Beatles 1967 album "Sgt. Pepper" has become. Forty-two years since its release, people still talk about it, people still write about it, people still listen to it and people still love it. On September 9th 2009, Capitol/Parlophone will finally re-release all of The Fab Four's albums on CD and give them the sonic respect they should've gotten in the first place. First and foremost, of course, is "Sgt. Pepper", which has lost none of its luster and crackle. The album, which was easily inspired by Brian Wilson's sonically beautiful "Pet Sounds", has John Lennon and Paul McCartney feeding off that masterpiece and in turn, making their own. Rambling psychedelia, poignant ballads, fanciful British music-hall tunes and Indian raga songs are all here. Although The Beatles weren't touring anymore, they still made the first (and arguably finest) concept album of all time. All this and "A Day In The Life" replete with that swirling orchestra, that lone piano note, that dog whistle and The Beatles rambling off until somebody shuts off the phonograph. And just three years after making "Sgt. Pepper", The Beatles would be no more.

    Paul McCartney once said that he didn't feel that anybody was "musically educated" unless they heard "Pet Sounds". I feel the same way about "Sgt. Pepper".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Game Changing

    This Album really changed everything, including the Beatles. Up until then, songs were no longer 2 1/2 min "hit singles" played on the AM radio. After Pepper, everyone bought albums, and bought an FM radio. In fact much of this album was banned on AM radio, leaving such tame cuts as "When I'm 64" left to be played, the only really safe song, that one could be sure didn't mention drugs. I bought mine in Mono, because I didn't want to wait to save the extra money to get it in stereo, not, at that time, knowing, Mono was the way to go. (and I was disappointed at how my stereo copy of Rubber Soul sounded, voice on one speaker, music on the other, stereo was yet to be special) Was surprised when I finially bought the Pepper CD at how different it sounded from all the listenings of my album. You should have both the NEW Mono and Stereo copy of Pepper. There will never be another Beatles, or SGT. Peppers, nor will the world, or I, for that matter, be the same. A must have, even though, not my favorite Beatle Album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sgt.Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band CD

    If you love the Beatles, you MUST have this CD. The packaging and sound quality are excellent. The CD literally takes you to the "fair" and introduces you to the "band", in another place in time, and runs the gamut of emotions and feelings. It will make you smile with the delight at the whimsy, tug at your heart with the melancholy and dazzle you with the commitment to the intricate instrumentalities. I especially liked the packaging and the booklet inside the CD package, which explains the technical and production aspects of the ground-breaking musical endeavor by the Beatles. This CD clearly emphasizes why the Beatles were and continue to be the group that has set the bar for content and performance. You will be hard pressed to pick a favorite, as all the tracks are excellent. This is one CD that I would definitely take to a desert island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Masterpiece Upgraded to Todays Audio Standards

    What can I say, this is one of the most influential and creative albums in history. The songs have withstood these many years and are as fresh now as they were then. Compare that to the other ground-breaking album "Pet Sounds" by the Beach Boys where the songs just sound outdated.

    The newly mastered quality brings crystal clarity to these ancient recordings. The packaging includes some old photos of the original artwork shrunk down to fit the CD booklet format. Included on the audio CD is a small documentary. The documentary is only about ten minutes and doesn't include any detailed information about the making of Sgt. Peppers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Clean and straightforward remaster

    Music is cleaner but still retains that signature multi-track engineering and fullness that is sometimes overdone in re-masters.

    Disappointed at the computer "extras" that were included -it did not run on my Macintosh at all so it was worthless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite Beatle Album

    This album has always been my favorite. The sound quality is excellent. This record makes me happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1