Customer Reviews for

Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!!!

Oka first of all this book is wondefull. I thought it was well written. I usually dont read books like this but this one was actually really good. I have no clue what so ever were people are getting that this book is sexual. maybe one or two things. I too read this book...
Oka first of all this book is wondefull. I thought it was well written. I usually dont read books like this but this one was actually really good. I have no clue what so ever were people are getting that this book is sexual. maybe one or two things. I too read this book when i was in seventh grade, and this book was definitly age appropriate. Whoever says this book isnt age appropriate must a little too immature for the book.the book is what really is going on over there.so i have to say to all those immature haters GROW UP! and it was a VERY good book.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fair Book

The thing that I like about this book is that anyone who reads it will learn a little more about the Muslim culture. In my opinion, the middle and beginning of the story could be a tad boring because it mainly tells about the future life of a girl and her sister which i...
The thing that I like about this book is that anyone who reads it will learn a little more about the Muslim culture. In my opinion, the middle and beginning of the story could be a tad boring because it mainly tells about the future life of a girl and her sister which is about to get married. Then towards the end, more action starts to build and that is the only part where the story gets interesting and exciting. For anyone who would like to read this book, I will warn you something... it contains sexual harrasment and the ending is very sad.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Fair Book

    The thing that I like about this book is that anyone who reads it will learn a little more about the Muslim culture. In my opinion, the middle and beginning of the story could be a tad boring because it mainly tells about the future life of a girl and her sister which is about to get married. Then towards the end, more action starts to build and that is the only part where the story gets interesting and exciting. For anyone who would like to read this book, I will warn you something... it contains sexual harrasment and the ending is very sad.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    For all of you who think that this is not how life is for women and girls in Pakistan, your wrong. Unfortunitly, they are still seen as worthless in society, and are held back from being successful in life and getting an education. It is true though that things are different for women in America. Rules are much less strict, and some women even choose if they want to wear headscarves or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Pretty good book

    Thought it moved a little too slow but a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Intersting and over written

    I read this book for my 9th grade summer reading program. I personally did not enjoy it because of the political issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Shabunu's Flaws

    First off, I think the book was okay. I picked it up after a second attempt, and it was alright. I was enraptured yes, but some of the material I think is inappropriate for young viewers. She's always talking about her breasts, and about how she touches herself at night when her parents make love. What's up with that? Besides that, it's a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    shabanu

    shabanu is a very good book in wich the author shows lots of theme ex. Like one is growing up when it talkes about her sister getting monthly bleeading and her breast poke out, thats an authors way of showing growingup . It also has lots of characterizaton like their looks ,what they wear, and their expressions. It also has a lot of foreshadowing and point of view with first person and thats Sabanu. Their is also lots of plot and conflicts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    This book was interesting...

    This book was interesting...In a weird way. I like how they make Shabanu independent from her culture and dare to be different, but they go into WAY to much detail on camels. Im sorry if i find a WHOLE page on camels mating not interesting or good. Its just plain wrong. Otherwise I think they go into great visual details in the book (Except for the camel part!!). Its like you can actually see what is going on. I recomend this book for people who have alot of time to read and enjoy different cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    it was ok

    I like the way the author describes the lives of people in paki-land but she didnt stress the fact that the marrige stuff was all cultural and just because the girl was muslim it doesnt mean that all muslim lives are like that. I just wish she could have stressed that fact because you never know what people will think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    It was okay

    I'm assigned to read this for English Festival and it was a good book, I admit. But I wasn't happy with the ending. The whole story builds you up towards the weddings and bigger events. In the end, it just leaves you adrift... it didn't really satisfy me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    wonderful

    it was a great book and i cant wait to read the sequel it was just al little to discriptive on some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    Too long or too short?

    Shabanu was an okay book if you like a book that is too dragged out. It could have been better if there was more action. She described things well but in too much detail and in a boring way. The end could have been better. Staples could have described it more. Like how her father felt and if she was going to marry the old guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    stuff

    Shabanu is a good book but not the best book. Its a longer book. This book that has many different things happening. It gets very interings sometimes and other not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1