Customer Reviews for

Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!!!

Oka first of all this book is wondefull. I thought it was well written. I usually dont read books like this but this one was actually really good. I have no clue what so ever were people are getting that this book is sexual. maybe one or two things. I too read this book...
Oka first of all this book is wondefull. I thought it was well written. I usually dont read books like this but this one was actually really good. I have no clue what so ever were people are getting that this book is sexual. maybe one or two things. I too read this book when i was in seventh grade, and this book was definitly age appropriate. Whoever says this book isnt age appropriate must a little too immature for the book.the book is what really is going on over there.so i have to say to all those immature haters GROW UP! and it was a VERY good book.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fair Book

The thing that I like about this book is that anyone who reads it will learn a little more about the Muslim culture. In my opinion, the middle and beginning of the story could be a tad boring because it mainly tells about the future life of a girl and her sister which i...
The thing that I like about this book is that anyone who reads it will learn a little more about the Muslim culture. In my opinion, the middle and beginning of the story could be a tad boring because it mainly tells about the future life of a girl and her sister which is about to get married. Then towards the end, more action starts to build and that is the only part where the story gets interesting and exciting. For anyone who would like to read this book, I will warn you something... it contains sexual harrasment and the ending is very sad.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Great!!!

    Oka first of all this book is wondefull. I thought it was well written. I usually dont read books like this but this one was actually really good. I have no clue what so ever were people are getting that this book is sexual. maybe one or two things. I too read this book when i was in seventh grade, and this book was definitly age appropriate. Whoever says this book isnt age appropriate must a little too immature for the book.the book is what really is going on over there.so i have to say to all those immature haters GROW UP! and it was a VERY good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    A Good Read For Young Adults

    I read this book when I was quite a bit younger for a summer reading project, and I loved it. It really opened my eyes to middle eastern culture, and how different things can be half a world away. Shabanu is a very interesting character, and as you read you experience all the heartbreak and happiness she does. I recommend it to any young adult who wants to learn about other cultures. Haveli, the sequel, is a good read also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    THE BESTT

    i first had to read this book for a school project and i absolutly loved it i was the only person who liked their book. THe seccond is even better Haveli i couldnt pit them down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    HORRIBLE

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    A beautiful work of art!

    I read this novel when I was 14 years old and it has stayed with me for almost 10 years. The journey that this young Muslim girl experiences throughout the novel is captivating. Her spirit was strong and empowering. I will always keep this story close to my heart because it speaks to all nations and races about following your desires through a young innocent Muslim girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just chose this book for a couple of reasons. 1 it was on my book sugejust list for the project i had to do. 2 the name sounded cool and 3 the cover looked good. these are probly verey stupid thing to choose a book for but the choice led to an amzing book. The things i learned about shabnu's culter and they way of her life just made my world wider. before i knew these things happen but never really came to life before i read this book. Though a lot of bad things happen and i absolutle loved this book. I really hope to get the next book for christmas! I usally never read these types of book but i will defetily now. Once again I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. I usually don't read these kinds of books but I will now. This book Rocks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was amazing. There are sexual references, but they are required for the plot. How many adolesants do you know that don't wonder about that area? The only way these references can be uncomfortable is if the reader is not mature enough or interested enough to read it. It shows a lot about middle eastern nomadic culture, and draws the reader in...enthralling them in an ever-changing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Amazing Book

    To be honest, I read this when I was in middle school so my views and perceptions from it may have changed since then, but when I read it it was honestly one of the most enjoyable books I've read. It kept my attention the entire time, never got boring, and I was able to easily connect with the main character. It remains one of my fondest memories of a book, and I recommend it to everybody, especially teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Many perpetual twists

    I very much enjoyed the story. I enjoyed the perpetual twists, and the truth about the lives the women of the middle east must endure. Yes the book is blunt, no question about that, but it speaks the truth and in the book although it portrays the villains as rapists and killers, can you really expect the world to not be filled with them, but it also tells of wise men and women as well. If you skim the book you think that it is perverted and the characters of the middle east are given the characteristics of savages, but if you truly pay attention and read the book you learn a lot from it and realize not all the characters are made to seem evil some are even praised, and you understand why the author is so blunt. It gives an insight into the life of one extrodinary girl who is strong willed and intelligent. She must choose between her happiness or her family's security. She starts at eleven but by the end of the book she grows on the outside and on the inside. It is only the truth about what some of the women go through, even today, and it doesn't spare mercy, such as in life itself, life isn't fair, and this book most certainly lets the reader understand that. Not all people in this world will be nice and wise. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Awesome Book

    'Shabanu' is a wonderful book. It describes the plight of Pakistani and Indian girls very well. You can learn much about that culture from reading this book. And if you want to find out the ending, just read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    An endless adventure

    I really enjoy the book. It gives a meaning to anyone who reads the story knowing how tradition is really worth in different cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Wonderful, really well written.

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. One of the other reviewers said that this book was dated and extreme but I really don't think so. This is set in a rural part of Pakistan so the people are not exactly up to date also I don't think the book is set NOW modern but quite a few years back. This book really helps you to understand the strugles of a middle eastern girl. It also helps me fully apreciate how lucky I am to be allowed to go to school and choose my husband. I recomend this book not only to young adults but to adults as well. My mom has read this book and she loves it. I am in the middle of reading Haveli, the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Awesome book

    This is a great book! Its so true.. I myself am from Pakistan and now I understand why a womens life doesnt matter in Pakistan.. They always put a huge difference between a man and a woman. The book is so beautifully written its great every girl should read it because it really is telling the true life of women in Pakistan and middle east

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Very Good Book!

    I picked this book up in my school library and was kind of bored with the book in the begining and was about to take it back! But soon the story started to get better and the plot unfolded. After I read the book I saw how life was for the women in Pakistan and the middle east. I mean you never hear what the women do and what their lives are like. you only hear about the men and what they do to help their families. Well what about their families?! Anyway this a great book and I would recomend it to girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    so amazing

    i read shabanu and haveli i was totally captured it both books i wish she would write a third to the sequal i need to know what happens i love her writing style it's descritive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Loved it!!~

    Shabanu was assigned in my english class. It starts off a little slow, but man is it good! Obedience, obedience, obedience! Shabanu must learn this before she is married to Hamir, her cousin. After their dowries are prepared, it seems to Shabanu and her sister Phulan that nothing can go wrong. if only....things turn bad as a dangerous encounter ruins everyone's plans...read this but be prepared to learn and research Islamic culture....Very Interesting! Five stars hands down! I didn't know there was a sequel but I came across it in a bookstore today and I bought it in a heartbeat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    The best book I've read this year

    SHABANU IS A REALLY GOOD STORY.TELLING THE STRUGGLES A GIRL HAS TO GO THROUGH LIVING WHERE SHE LIVES. THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS OF THE BOOK HAD ME GOING BACK READING MORE.ANYONE WHO REALLY WANTS TO KNOW HOW THINGS ARE IN THE DESSERT ,THE TRUTH IS IN THE BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    The key to entartainment

    This book will take you into a wonderful journey of Shabanu's life. Her story will definately capture your heart and you will not be able to put it down until you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Truly brilliant

    This book is fabulous. The characters are interesting but believable, and their relationships and lifestyles give us a realistic glimpse into an entirely different world; the Middle East. We are unbelievebaly ignorant of the East, and of the vibrant and ancient religions that reside in the hearts of most of its inhabitants. 'Shabanu' was not only enjoyable, but highly informative, and it's something I think we should all read, especially in these times when 'the Muslims' are misunderstood and judged. It was very interesting, but also beautiful. Staples's descriptions of Shabanu's family and of her dangerous, unpredictable desert gave me dreams of starlight reflecting off the white hot sand and of chadrs of silk and tassles. I loved this book, and highly reccomend it to everyone with an open mind and heart for the different people of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3