Customer Reviews for

Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Surprised!

    I expected this to be dry and boring. It is written to show more of Shackleton's attributed than faults, but interesting testimony from his men/colleagues give it flavor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    a reviewer

    This compelling volume accomplishes the unlikely feat of being both a useful management guide and a suspense-filled page-turner. That¿s because the book enjoys an unusually rich source of material: a near-deadly Antarctic voyage that everyone survived by dint of the leader¿s formidable management skills. Margot Morrell and Stephanie Capparrell present a strong case that Sir Ernest Shackleton was indeed a great leader. They mine the journey for the telling details of Shackleton¿s management style, and include short accounts from modern business leaders who look to Shackleton as an inspiration. We recommend this guide to leaders and would-be leaders who love adventure tales and seek an inspiring take on management from a true master.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Lessons Applicable in Leading Anything

    I was a Software Tech Lead and had to learn how to lead through the school of hard knocks - but at least I did learn. Many never learn, never know what they are doing wrong. This book shows you using a marvelous example and also has case studies using some of today's leaders in all areas of industry/govt. I loved the book and want to thank the authors. I became aware of Shackleton via recent popular movies and was struck by the example he presented to all who aspire to lead and those who want a chance at being great at it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Wow - what a great read!

    This is an absolutely incredible book. It is written for anyone in any industry. I read the entire book with a highlighter because there are so many excellent ideas included. It isn't too often you read a book on leadership that has such an incredible story to support the principles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Worthwhile

    A very good introduction and summation of this most incredible story. Real men involved in a true life threatening ordeal. No faux 'Survivors' here! Important lessons are presented in a concise and engaging manner. I'm looking forward to reading Shackelton's own account of this voyage in 'South'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have been a great fan of Ernest Shackleton for many years. Th

    I have been a great fan of Ernest Shackleton for many years. This book is just one of many I have read about his Antarctica voyage from 1914 to 1916. In fact, if I ever get to the UK, going to Dulwich College and seeing the whaling boat the James Caird is on top of my list. I have thought and dwelled on his leadership skills during this horrific event and believe as most that Shackleton was a good leader but with a caveat.

    After finishing Shackleton’s Way which concentrates on his leadership, it caused me once again to reflect on Shackleton’s management and overall governance of this expedition. As the other well written reviews have pointed out, the preponderance of evidence clearly states that leadership was involved. This entailed crew selection and placement, morale, big picture and the ability to remain calm. He also excelled at seeming to make the right decision in a timely manner.

    But there are a couple of areas of concern when we try to place the wreath of great leader upon his crown. 1) He never accomplished his goals. 2) He failed in other very important areas in his life such as business and family. Furthermore, the deeper my knowledge becomes (and this book helped) the more I arrive at the conclusion that luck played a much greater role than leadership. Luck combined with the strong survival instinct was the reason not a single member of the party lost their life.

    This is not meant to distract from the bravery, skill and toughness of Shackleton and his crew. They are to be extoled and certainly deserve our highest respect and praise. And maybe combined with other leadership lessons this book could play a vital part. I just strongly believe that if you remove providence and flukes, you are left more with a survival lesson than one of leadership.

    Maybe I will check out a fellow by the name of George Washington. I hear he was a great leader.

    I hope you find this review helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch, SPHR – Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1