Customer Reviews for

Shade

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

    In SHADE by Jeri Smith-Ready, Aura was born post-Shift, which means that she can see ghosts and Shades (ghosts who have gotten really mad). She hates being able to do this and would give anything to stop it.

    Until her boyfriend Logan's birthday comes around, and instead of it being a great day, it turns horrific when he dies. But since she can see ghosts, she can still see Logan. So it's almost like having her boyfriend still there - but not quite.

    Aura meets a new friend, Zachary, who understands what she is going through and is a big piece to the Shift puzzle. But with both Logan and Zachary in her life, which one will she turn to in the end?

    I thought this book was so unique. The premise that people born after the Shift can see ghosts is so creative! I was hooked on the story right from the beginning.

    SHADE brought out a lot of emotions in me. There were times when I was saying "How can she do that when Logan has only been dead for a little while?" and then at the end, I was definitely teary eyed.

    The book ended on a cliffhanger. I want more! I want to know what happens next! And there are still so many questions that I have. Who are Aura's parents? Why was she the first baby born after the Shift? And a bunch more that I don't want to say so I won't spoil the story.

    The sequel, SHIFT, comes out in May 2011, and I can't wait to get my hands on it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excuse me, you just walked through my boyfriend.

    This book could have very nearly been a disaster. It could have taken the sour young-adult fantasy route that I'm experiencing more and more these days. It even had the dreaded love triangle. But, I was pleasanlty surprised in the end.

    This books is about a girl, named Aura (the name made me cringe), who can see ghosts. Which is not unusual because everyone born after the Shift can see the voilet figures of people who once were. The night of his 17th birthday, Aura's boyfriend, Logan, dies. He isn't completely gone though, and haunts her whether she wants him to or not. Then enter Zach: the sexy foreign exchange student who has a secret nearly as big as Aura's own.

    This book moved quickly and fluently, without just being comprised of action. I was sucked in nearly immediately. I was reading this on my laptop, so I began taking my laptop everywhere. The writing, while not particularly stunning, was fluidly done.

    The characters were strong. Aura, the main character, was no Mary Sue. Assertive and passionate, she was quick-witted enough to hold her own in the tensest conversations. Logan was perfect in that he wasn't perfect. He had a temper, but was overall very sweet. Even though he was dead for 90% of the novel, he managed to develop through out the story.

    And then there was Zach. Oh. My. God. I think I'm in love. All foreign exchange students are sexy, but a Scottish one? *melts* Smith-Ready must have dived into the deepest parts of my psyche, because he is a man of my dreams. And the love-triangle was well-done. All the emotions Aura felt were believable, and I think readers will be conflicted as to whom to favor.

    This was a smart paranormal read. The plot was original without being completely out-there. It was exciting and entertaining, with plenty of unanswered questions left at the end. Once the sequel comes out, I guarantee ya I'll be one of the first in line.

    Oh, and I thought the cover was ugly, but that besides the point.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    i give 4.5

    i found a preview to this book in a book that i was reading on paper back..i had meant to get it since i heard it came out but always forgot..then i found it on my nook and bought it.. i wish it was a little longer just bc i wanted to keep reading other then that i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent concept & great heroine, but it's hard to sympathize with Logan

    Aura was the first child born after the Shift which allowed young people to see ghosts. Ghosts are now a part of everyday life. No one older than Aura can see them, but there's still a government agency devoted to monitoring them (the Department of Metaphysical Purity) and BlackBoxes of charged obsidian keep ghosts out of bathrooms and other places they're not wanted. Aura works for her aunt at a law firm that deals with wrongful death lawsuits from the families of ghosts, where the dead can give their testimonies in court, via a teenage translator.

    Aside from the talkative over-sharing ghosts that plague every other kid, Aura's life is normal and she's crazy about her boyfriend, Logan, who's about to make it big in the music industry. Then Logan dies and comes back as a ghost, and a new guy comes into Aura's world, Zachary, who just happens to be the last child born before the Shift. Aura has to cope with the pain of losing Logan and the fear that he'll turn into a Shade--a powerful, bad, and irredeemable ghost--while she figures out her special connection to Zachary.

    Aura seems very strong and capable until we see her with Logan. She's really worried about losing him, either to fame or to another girl, but I didn't think Logan was much to miss. Early on, all I saw him do was be a tremendously talented musician, squabble with his siblings, and assure Aura that she didn't have to sleep with him unless she really wanted to, when it was obvious that she was very nervous and only offering so that she could keep him happy. I need to see a little kindness or self-sacrifice in order to think a fictional boy is special, and I got none of that from Logan. The night he dies, he reveals that he's gotten Aura's name tattooed on his chest, then he consumes three and a half pints of beer, plus an alcoholic mixture of unknown content, plus cocaine. I feel sorry for him, and it hurt to see him die, but he seemed like a little kid in a teen's body, always making the absolute wrong decision.

    I am impressed with the mythos of the ghost-infused world, and I thought that a lot of important details were revealed unobtrusively in the first few pages. I wanted to high-five the author for doing her job so well, because the factual info was seamlessly introduced and it hooked me and made me want to read on.

    There's nothing really wrong with the story, it's just that almost the whole book is tied up with comforting and redeeming Logan, who I'm not really interested in. I may pick up the sequel, to see more of Zachary, who is smart, strong, and Scottish (a winning combination) and who seems to be involved in some interesting supernatural developments that will come out in later installments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loving Shade!

    In Shade something caused a shift in the world 16 years ago giving everyone born after the shift the ability to see and talk to ghosts. There are ghosts who have unfinished business and can simply be annoying, but then there are ghosts called shades who are angry and hurt the people who can see them. The government is working to trap shades and is recruiting anyone who has the ability to see them.

    There isn't a specific logic to who will simply pass on after they die and who will ...more In Shade something caused a shift in the world 16 years ago giving everyone born after the shift the ability to see and talk to ghosts. There are ghosts who have unfinished business and can simply be annoying, but then there are ghosts called shades who are angry and hurt the people who can see them. The government is working to trap shades and is recruiting anyone who has the ability to see them.

    There isn't a specific logic to who will simply pass on after they die and who will turn into a ghost. One way to help ghosts pass on is to file a wrongful death suit and if the lawsuit is won the ghost can move on. Aura the first baby born after the shift tries to ignore ghosts in her everyday life except when she is working at her aunt's law firm translating or speaking for ghosts. Aura's mother died when she was a child but Aura has a feeling that her mother might have known what caused the shift. With her mothers journals as a guide Aura hopes to find out more.

    Aura's views on ghosts change when Logan, her boyfriend, dies suddenly. Even though she knows that Logan should move on Aura can't help but hold on to him. Aura even feels that she could some how stay his girlfriend. Shortly after Logan's passing she meets Zachary who is pre-shift, so he can't see or talk to ghosts, and he's stunning. Zachary tries to be her friend, but he also shows signs of liking Aura. To make matters worse Logan starts to display signs of turning into a shade and his family is quickly trying to file a wrongful death suit to get him to move on. If either of these things happens Aura will loose Logan for good.

    Shade is the first teen book by Jeri Smith-Ready. I first heard of Jeri when the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour was announcing authors and then again when the Haiti earthquake happened and she very generously was giving autographed books to people who made a donation to Doctors without Borders and again with the Multiple Sclerosis Society's Walk.

    I found the story unique and emotional. When Aura lost Logan I was in tears and I found her to be a great lead character. Shade kept my attention the entire time and I kept wondering what would happen next. At the end of the book I couldn't decide between Logan and Zachary. Overall I found this to be a great book and would recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Shade is hands down one the best books of the year!

    From a sexy love triangle between Aura and two utterly charming boys to an action packed plot to an enticing premise were some of the main aspects that make Shade the excellent and heart-racing book that it was destined to be.

    Aura was a likable character with a compelling voice from the instant I started her story. I really liked how Jeri crafted her character in a way that she never got too mopey and suicidal over the death of her boyfriend, but instead made the best of the situation, even if it did hurt at times. Also, I loved reading her interactions with Logan, her long-time boyfriend and sexy lead singer of the Keeley Brothers', and Zachary, the sweet Irish boy. If I was her, I'd have no clue of who to pick.

    As mentioned before, the plot in Shade was an action packed story that only gave you one choice. That choice? Rush right through it, of course, because it was just that addicting and amazing! I loved reading about the Shift and am looking forward to seeing more of it and the mystery around it in the sequel coming in '11 titled Shift. Also, I can't go without mentioning in this review how much I enjoyed Jeri Smith-Ready's writing. I can definitely see her being something really big in YA a few years from now.

    In all, Shade is a book that I not only highly recommend you buy, but insist that you do so; since I assure you that you will definitely not be disappointed in this one! Though, word of warning, you'll be dying to read the sequel as soon as you read the last word like I am now.

    Grade: A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hauntingly, Endearing Supernatural Novel!

    Reviewed by Eleni from La Femme Readers Blog
    Rating: 4.5

    Shade was a hauntingly, endearing supernatural novel. I was utterly impressed with the flow of the plot and the unique characters. The world that Jeri created was very original and fresh. In this community, people born after the shift had the ability to see and communicate with ghosts. Pretty cool right? The violet-hued spirits were friendly while the dark "shades" were unpleasant and bitter. Aura was not the biggest fan of her ability. But, when her boyfriend Logan passed away, she was grateful for the chance to see him again. The raw emotions Aura went through was quite depressing. I could not imagine dealing with not only the loss of a loved one but also being surrounded by their ghost. I was saddened when Logan passed away, he was my favorite character. There was something about his demeanor that made me feel comfortable and fuzzy inside. He would of continued to be a great boyfriend to Aura if it wasn't for his stupid mistake. *sighs*

    Now, throughout the book the suspense slowly developed with the mystery behind the Shift. No one with this ability was aware as to why this phenomenon occurred. Aura, a strong and passionate teen sought out answers behind her power, even though it was forbidden. I admired her determination and understanding that something shady was going on. Meanwhile, another character stood out to me, Zachary, a handsome new student from Scotland who held some interesting secrets. He genuinely cared for Aura and always kept her best interest at heart. The connection between the two was intriguing and I can't wait to see their progressing relationship in this series. Jeri concluded the first book perfectly, I am eagerly anticipating the sequel, Shift which comes out in May 2011. Overall, a great supernatural read which I recommend all YA lovers should read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Note that this series review might contain slight spoilers for p

    Note that this series review might contain slight spoilers for people who haven't read the first two books.

    The Shift is an incomprehensible and strange phenomenon that appeared exactly sixteen years ago. Since then it's been controlling the lives of everyone born after it, giving them the ability to see ghosts. The SHADE series introduces ghosts as a matter of course. They are a part of modern-day life after the Shift instead of some paranormal happening to fear. No people are being haunted. Everyone knows about them and they aren’t the scary spirits we know from other books, which got me interested to read SHADE in the first place. This series presents us with a not at all ordinary ghost story paired with scientific and cultish elements involving a lot of research about what's behind the Shift.

    Aura has an exceptional job, as a kind of ghost whisperer. She's supposed to hear out ghosts and work together with her lawyer aunt. Which teen wouldn't want such a job? In the beginning of SHADE she's together with her boyfriend Logan, a hot musician. And everything seems to be just cut out of a contemporary romance novel. He's celebrating his birthday, they're having a good time and are about to take the next step in their relationship, when.. yeah, when he's being a jerk and dies. His death had been announced in the summary, but I was shocked at the stupidity behind it. Now thanks to the Shift it is possible that he's coming back, even so for a larger part of the story. And with Logan, comes the music. You'll get to be a groupie and just enjoy the show with all the musical aspects Jeri Smith-Ready put into her story!

    In case you might be wondering - it is always one of the questions I am asking first - there is also a love triangle. Aura, Logan and Zachary. Those three have a lot of issues to sort out thoughout the entire series. As opponents, as lovers, friends and even variations in between.
    I often feel the need to choose between the boys who are fighting for the girl. In the SHADE series I was drawn to both of them, could equally understand their motifs and feelings for Aura. Logan's been there from the beginning and I so badly wanted him to find a happy ending, even as a ghost. Then there's Zach, the super nice and supportive Scottish beau who stole my heart with no effort. He just walked into the story and became an inseparable part of it. It's as simple as that!
    Aura & Logan as Aura & Zach have their sweet and sexy moments. Their relationships are steadily emerging, updating, changing. And I really liked the way their relationships and Aura's feelings took from the first to the last book. It always seemed like she was on a journey and in the end she's finally found her way home.
    Aura and Zach's fate - for various reasons - being so closely intertwined, adds a pretty nice touch to the story. Zach is the sweetest and it can't be summarised all that he’s doing for Aura. Their research and connection to the Shift makes up a large part of the story. There is much to discover! But their interest also turns them into targets. And soon they find themselves hunted down by a bunch of bad guys, which adds a kind of really good spy-action-thrill to the books.

    The Irish influences were pure joy to my heart. I've never even been there, but this country sure has something mysterious and compelling about it. Every time I see pictures or read about it, it feels like it's calling to me with its ancient history and culture.
    Aura and Zach travel the Irish landscape, explore the myths behind Newgrange and hopefully return with what they've come to find. Jeri Smith-Ready fitted their journey with a massive original and authentic atmosphere.


    4/5 **** SHADE series - Purple ghosts, seeking love and mysteries in the heart of Ireland. This trilogy is very rock star!

    This is an entirely different kind of ghost story. It's funky, offers cultish references and a huge amount of musical support. There are governmental conspiracies and a bunch of really bad guys that are after Aura and Zach. Romance and action both guaranteed! Especially the last book in this series left me hoping to see a new book by Jeri Smith-Ready on my shelf very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Best ghost book ever! Yeah - ghost books usually aren't my thin

    Best ghost book ever!

    Yeah - ghost books usually aren't my thing. Let's face it - relationships with non-corporeal beings are doomed for failure. No kissing, no touching, no sharing a dessert... it takes all the fun out of it, right? So, I approached Shade with a measure of trepidation.

    As it turns out, I really had nothing to worry about. Not only does Shift include a heroine with tons of moxie (my favorite kind), but it also includes a hot... SCOTTISH... boy. Who is completely alive. And, did I mention hot? Bottom line - I freaking loved this ghost book!

    Honestly though, hot Scottish boy aside, one of the best parts of Shade is the paranormal mythology that is all Jeri Smith-Ready. This is some completely unique stuff here, and the way she explained it was so perfect. See, people couldn't see or talk to ghosts until one second... they could. The people born before that second can't see the ghosts, and the people born after that second can. Aura was born on that second - she was the first. Zachary was born one second before Aura. He was the last.

    I loved how Jeri Smith-Ready created a world around the idea that some people (in this case, no one older than 17) can see ghosts and some can't. Ghosts can testify in their own murder cases. They can be waitresses and rock stars. There's a policing agency designed to keep them in line. And, if ghosts go bad - or, shade - they go to a prison of sorts. This was an amazing concept, and Jeri Smith-Ready sold it marvelously.

    Aura is so cool. She's fun and funny and totally in love with her boyfriend Logan, a local rock band front man. And, when Logan accidentally dies, she understandably struggles. Her devastation is confused by two things - first, she can still see and speak to Logan. And, she does frequently. Second, she befriends Zachary and finds many things to love about him, not least of which is, she can actually touch him. Can you imagine mourning a loss like that when you still can see the person you're mourning? For a teenager, she handles things like a grown-up.

    Zachary is, obviously, my favorite part. He's sweet, charming, smart and he has a really sexy accent. Better than all that, he really cares about Aura and wants to help her, even if that means letting her go. That right there is a keeper. Aura should take note.

    The mystery is so great. Although we know there's a connection between Zachary and Aura - being that they're the last and the first - we don't know what it is, exactly, yet .We also think it has something to do with Zachary's dad and Aura's dead mother. But, we don't know what that is yet, either. And, we know that Zachary and Aura both have some extra powers, but we don't understand the extent of them all yet or the implications on the rest of the world because of them. So, there's plenty of fodder for the next book, which I cannot wait to get into.

    I listened to the audio version of Shade, and the narrator, Khristine Hvam, did a fantastic job. Her accents were spot on, and her reading made the story absolutely come to life. She was wonderful!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    I bought a copy of this book at a library book sale. I read the

    I bought a copy of this book at a library book sale. I read the inside flap and was intrigued that this was about ghosts.

    I was very surprised by this story. At times I kind of hated Aura, but then I have to remember she's only sixteen and we were all sort of narcissistic at that age. We take things for granted when we are young and we forget that things CAN hurt and touch us in life altering ways.

    The story was very well written and unique. How often do you get a paranormal sort of dystopian story were everyone born after a winter solstice can see ghosts.

    My one issue with the book seemed to be the 'kids' that can see ghosts that are about to come of age. Now, you have what appears to be a group of extreme government agents that seem to feel the seeing of ghosts is bad and--well evil. Apparently if you are a really angry ghost you can do what is called, Shade. You black out and become just crazy roaming around all black and screaming. I am going to assume this is a form of being a Poltergist, this is how was understanding this.

    However, all these kids have ghosts coming to them for 'closure' they need help passing on. Seems logical right. Yet all these selfish teenagers are unwilling to help them. That was the lone thing that really put me off about the story. I was like JUST GO SEE HER DAUGHTER AND TELL HER! But instead they plug their ears and "la-la-la". It not only annoyed me but made me really lack sympathy for anything happening to the characters.

    Then you have NO adult encouraging this aside from ONE ghost in the story, but that is only because the lead female wouldn't let go and it was 'holding her back.' That was the only really BIG thing that bothered me.

    I found that Zach was my favorite character. I thought Aura as a lead was weak. She was slowly redeeming herself by the end, then at the end she does something selfish AGAIN, but I think the author is rolling with a whole love triangle thing here.

    As much as I really want to know what caused 'the shift' which I am assuming it is something fae related since they hint at that and it being based in Ireland, I don't know how soon I will jump into book two. I have like atleast ONE female in a book to really want to move forward, but Aura and Megan sort of just give female leads something to be desired.

    *I purchased a hard cover edition of this book from a library book sale*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I read this book paperback. I have been serching for the other books and i finnaly found them. What an amazeing book.

    Wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Okay

    I thought this book was just okay. I liked the idea of people getting to see and hear ghosts. But, the story fell short for me.

    We are not given that much info about the cause of the Shift. I also really did not like either of Aura's love interests.

    Not sure if I will be reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good quick read.

    This is a good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Read the house of nights

    Thiss was a good andsad but romantic book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    I would reccomend it to anyone

    "Shade" was suprisingly real. The way the teens talk about things real teens would say and do. I guess you could say it was hauntingly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shade!!!

    What if there was a world that you could keep in touch with your loved ones after they have passed??? I actually really don't know how I feel about it. I mean if it was my family and their death was tragic, I don't think that I would want to keep in touch with them. I would just really want to move on. Well in this book Aura doesn't have that option. She can see and talk to the dead that walk among the Earth. And now she is communicating with her dead boyfriend. But should she wait and stay together with her ghost of a boyfriend, or should she go for the very much alive and drop dead gorgeous Zachary????


    I am not going to lie. This book, at first, was very hard to get through. I think that I was waiting for it to be very romantic between Zachary and Aura. And when it really didn't I was kind of disappointed. When Zachary finally tells Aura how he feels, is when I actually really started loving the book.

    The book was a really good book. I am hoping that Shift is going to be a lot better. If you can get past the fact that the book is about a girl that has a boyfriend that dies and she stays with him then this book is for you. But I am so glad that I read this book. It opened me to a new world, a world of Zachary and how hot Scottish boys are!! :) When I was told about Zachary I didn't know what to expect. I was told that you are going to crush over Zachary and you are going to crush hard. Boy did I crush hard. I kind of love Zachary. He is awesome. And I am now TEAM ZACHARY!!! I am so glad that I decided to read this book for him.


    Oh and that there is a book that character loves Notre Dame Football just as much as I do!!!! GO IRISH!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heart-Achingly Beautiful

    I'm not even sure where to begin with Shade. I spent most of the book in tears. It has been so long that I have read any book that truly took my breath away, I almost didn't know what to do. Two words to describe Shade - Heart-Achingly Beautiful. The prose is both poignant and eloquent. Every word written is important in one way or another. I tend to skim over paragraphs that I deem unimportant in a book. I can honestly say there is not a single word I did not read with utter interest. The characters were just...wow. Each of them with a dynamic and significant place in this alluringly woven love story. Aura Salvatore was born post-shift, meaning she can see and talk to ghosts who have not passed on after their sudden deaths. By day she works with her Aunt Gina, by night she is a supportive and loving girlfriend of a soon-to-be rockstar. Logan Keeley is the rockstar boyfriend. He enjoys being in the spotlight as much as he loves Aura. He just needs to prove this to her. The boy loves a party...too much. His life is about to change in ways he never imagined. Mickey Keeley is the oldest of the Keeley Brothers and the second half of this made-for-stardom duo. Mickey is a little more level-headed than Logan, also more brooding. Megan is Aura's best friend and Mickey's girlfriend. Megan is self-sacrificing with her feelings in order to support Aura and Mickey which causes her to have some resentment toward her friends. Siobhan Keeley is Mickey's twin sister and plays the fiddle as a part of the Keeley Brother's band. She loves her music but knows there are things that are more important in life. Dylan Keeley happens to be the youngest of the siblings and not musically inclined. He is the "geek" who collects action figures and plays video games. Zachary Moore...oh, Zach. How many ways do we love you? As a newbie in the States and at Aura's school, he is both mysterious and sensuous. Aura finds herself drawn to this sexy Scottish boy in ways she knows she shouldn't be. As the last person born before the shift, he holds a completely different set of powers from Aura. Maybe a compliment to her ghost-seeing abilities, maybe a cure? Aunt Gina has been a mother to Aura since her mother died when she was three. Gina is someone I grew to truly respect as a person and a mother-figure. She is empathetic, compassionate, but unafraid to take a stand. Shade is like any other book I fell completely in love with...I glanced at it in the store and thought a ghost story...nope, don't think so. Then I began reading review after review of how amazing this book was and thought, okay, maybe I should give it a chance. I was already in love with the covers so I decided I had to own both Shade and Shift even if I didn't like them. Well...after the first chapter, I knew I that not liking them was completely out of the question. After the second chapter - I was in love. The third - completely addicted. This is a tragic love story with a complete different twist. I warn - it is not for the faint of heart. Actions cause consequences - always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Excellent read

    This turned out to be a fantastic book and once I started I couldn't put it down. Luckily I had a day off from work so I was able to just snuggle under the blankets and read it all in one shot. =]
    It's refreshing to see a different perspective on ghosts/afterlife etc, though I feel the description of shades could be a bit better. It's also nice to see a semi-love story where the main characters aren't drooling all over each other in unrealistic and unhealthy worship.
    I'm bummed that I didn't order the second book at the same time, now I have to wait a week for it to come in the mail. =[

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Wow. Just wow! Shade is a whirlwind of emotions in one book. Love. Is all I can say.

    Shade starts off with Aura, who since the shift can see ghosts. Aura is special though, she was first. That doesn't stop her life though, or her love for her amazing, sexy, singer boyfriend Logan. So when Logan tragically dies she's thinks it's all over, until she realizes that Logan is still with her in ghost form. As more mysteries unravel, she becomes close to Zachary, a green eyed, Scottish cutie. Together they begin to figure out what the Shift is all about. What do you do when you're in love with your ghost boyfriend, but someone else is willing to be there for you?

    I loved this book. The story was fantastic. And I really, really want to know more about the Shift and Aura's mother. Another aspect I loved about this book was the music. I adore music. It's one of my favorite things in the world. There always seems to be a lyric for every situation and every emotion. The fact that Logan sang, and played guitar killed me. I wanted to jump right on him haha! And Zachary's song was I Will Posses Your Heart? Hellloooo amazing.

    I loved every character in this book. Well with the exception of Brian, Becca, and Nadine. I loved the Keeley brothers and Megan! Aura was something else. I really ached with her. I know what it's like to love someone and also have someone in the background saying 'hey! I'm here for you. I'll catch you when you fall.' It's the worst decision in the world. One to this day, I haven't made. And honestly my heart aches for Aura for having to chose between two amazing guys.

    As of right now... I adore both boys. Zachary is such a sweety and he has green eyes, which is a killer for me. Green eyes are my favorite! He's so willing to do anything for Aura and be there for her when she needs him. But, I am a tiny bit more a Logan girl!!

    This book is so much more than romance. It dives into drugs, parties, music, school, how cruel people can really be, and how much people will do for love. I'm really rooting that somehow Logan and Aura end up together. I just don't see how it will happen though. Here's hoping! :) If not, Zachary is still a keeper and I adore him too!

    This book was amazing! Definitely worth a buy!! I cannot wait for the sequel I neeeeeeed more!!!

    Most importantly... Always fight for what you want and don't give up. Believe in music. Believe in yourself. Believe in love. Always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such an interesting story line...

    My Review:
    When this book came out, everyone raved about it, so I knew that it was going to be good, but Wow! This series is fantastic!! I just finished book #2 in this series as I write this review...and I know better than to do that because it affects my objectivity over the first book. But Wow! This series seriously rocks. Book 1, Shade, is not as good as book #2, Shift, but the premise in these books is so astounding and interesting. Just amazing!


    The world has changed for the new generation. There was a Shift and now everyone 16 and under can see ghosts. They have grown up that way. Ghosts have always been a part of their lives. The ghosts are seen as violet/purple beings that can be seen in low light. The world has figured out stop-gap measures to keep ghosts from invading certain areas...black-boxes that can keep the ghosts out, obsidian rock also repels them, as well as the color red which many children have taken to wearing constantly because it is known to repel them. Aura is one of those kids that has taken measures to prevent the ghosts from being around her, but then her boyfriend, Logan, dies and she wants nothing more than to have his ghost as near as possible...at least, at first.


    There are three main characters in this book:


    **Aura was born the day of the Shift. She's typical of a lot of teenage girls. She is being raised by her Aunt Gina after her mother died from cancer when Aura was three. She has never known who her father was. Logan and she have been fighting lately over things like sex. She has issues with doubting his love especially as his fame grows. She adores music. She's a typical teenager, but there is a lot of layers to this character. She does work for her Aunt Gina and the ghosts in the court system. She realizes that something more is going on with her birth and is trying to research it on the sly via her History research paper. She's smart. She's conflicted. She's simply trying to find her place in the world and not hurt anyone around her. She loves Logan and his death is devastating to her. My heart ached for her throughout so much of this book because her longing is palpable. Her life is filled with "what if's"...


    **Logan...first word that comes to mind- IDIOT! He blew it and I had a really hard time liking his character. He's self-centered and so focused on his music and making it big. The guy freaking overdosed because he couldn't get it up...OMG! IDIOT!! But you know, he paid the ultimate price for his mistakes and there are times throughout the book when that is simply devastating. When he dies and immediately shows up as a ghost. OMG...so freaking sad- his shock, Aura & Dylan's (his brother's) devastation at seeing him purple, the anger. So sad. But I have a hard time with him because he won't let Aura go. It's all about him and his remaining with her is tearing her apart. She needs to move on, but as long as he's there, she can't.


    **Zachary...LOVE him!!! Zach is from Scotland. His father's job has brought him to the states for a year. He's been assigned to help Aura with her History research project, but we quickly learn that there is more to him than that. He shares Aura's birthday, but unlike her, he can't see the ghosts because he was born the minute before the Shift. (She was born the minute after the Shift.) It's obvious fairly quickly that he is developing feelings for Aura and how can you not love this guy? He is so protective of her. He gets int

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7