Customer Reviews for

Shade

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    I hate this book

    I cried like 3 times reading the first and second book. The book is really good, I dont hate it because its bad but this book had a BIG effect on me. Ughh. Its bittersweet. I hate that it had such a big effect on me. Yeah some books make me sad but this book actually put tears to my eyes. This book is beautiful. The characters are great, story line, details and everything. Every sad part that came I was like ' ughh i hate this stupid book ' loll. But i dont regret reading it and if you're looking for a beautiful heartfelt story then read this book.. however if you're a cry baby like me then be cautious:) lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read ya/pnr

    One of the best YA/PNR books EVER! The writing, characters, story - all outstanding! I need more ZACHARY & Logan! #KILTS! @kujo317

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!

    I could basically talk about this mind-blowing book for days because, "it's amazing and horrible and bizarre and beautiful."

    This was my first supernatural ghost story and it left me speechless! (mostly because I was too busy crying!) With so many vampire & werewolf stories out there these days, I think Shade literally shines brighter than all of them. The storyline actually has MEANING and DEPTH to it, you can't help but love it once you read it. I could not recommend this book anymore. If you don't read it, you are truly missing out on one of THE best stories ever written!

    I promise you will NOT be disappointed and if you are... well then... you can give me a virtual slap! (but that will NOT happen!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Shade

    I've been meaning to read this for awhile now (along with her other series). With the chance to review the sequel, I finally got to it! I should have read it sooner.

    I instantly liked Aura. She seems level headed. She has a great boyfriend who you can tell adores her. But, it's not a perfect relationship and we know this because they're fighting when the story opens. I also liked the she has a life outside of her boyfriend and his music. I was most intrigued by the idea of the Shift and Aura's ability to see ghosts. I wasn't sure how this worked until after Logan died.

    Aura seems to be different that must kids/teens who can see ghosts. Most seem to try and drown them out. Aura is actually known for helping them fulfill their purpose to move on. With some many people being able to see ghosts, people like Aura actually help ghosts testify at trials and voice their wishes for funerals. Very rarely, do the interact with Shades. Aura has only seen 3 in her life. Shades are ghosts that have left their anger take over them. The government tries to capture ghosts before they turn Shade. Aura attracts unwanted attention because of who she is and because Logan is displaying some very Shade like tenancies.

    Enter in Zackary, the sexy guy with the Scottish accent. He was born right before the Shift so he can't see ghosts. But, he has an interesting effect on Aura. The governments is interested in him as well. The three of them together make for an interesting love triangle. Plus, they may hold the key to why the Shift occurred.
    As things come to ahead, we learn some interesting thing about Zachary and Aura and their connection. Logan also has ultimatum placed on him. He has to move on or risk containment forever. Aura struggles with her love for Logan and helping him move on and her feelings for Zachary who is very much alive. It was wonderfully built story that had me in suspense. The love interests were wonderfully done and I fully felt the difficulty Aura had in making a choice. I can't wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark, Sexy, and Addicting - A Must Read Series

    4.5

    Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready was one of those books that I kind of wanted to read, but didn't think I'd adore. Boy was I wrong. Smith-Ready's take on ghosts is so far from the norm that I was instantly taken by it. Aura can see ghosts; she can talk to ghosts; she can even translate for ghosts. But so can everyone else born after her. After the Shift. The world that Aura lives in is exactly like our own, only filled with ghosts. These ghosts can be nice, mean, or go shade. Shade is a whole new level on a bad ghost spectrum. Shades get locked up, trapped by the government agency that wouldn't even know they existed without the younger generation telling them.

    Aura is one of those characters that I couldn't help but love. She's funny, smart, caring, a bit of a spitfire, but not at all apologetic for being who she is. She loves her boyfriend Logan before and after he dies. She wants to be there for him, but realizes he can never really be there for her in his new ghostly state. Logan is a great guy too, despite his stupidity and resulting death. He and Aura make a good pair, but so do Aura and Zachary.

    Zachary is a swoonworthy character, if I ever saw (or read) one. If an author wants to make her readers all swoony, do what Jeri Smith-Ready did and give them an accent. Zach is Scottish, with a Scottish accent and Scottish words and swoony behavior, but he's real too. He's what Logan can no longer be, but he's wary of that. Like Logan and Zach, all the secondary characters add something to the plot. Megan, Aura's best friend is someone I'd be friends with. Logan's family are the kind of people the reader can relate to and Aura's aunt is a wise and all about the ghost (not girl) power! Unfolding each bit of the plot was a pleasure and seeing how Aura's life as a Post-Shifter and Zachary's life as a Pre-Shifter tie together kept me turning the pages.

    Shade is a dark story layered with well-developed characters, backed by an increasingly interesting plotline, and littered with music that is felt throughout the pages. Aura's determination to find out more about the Shift, keep Logan from going shade, and sort out her relationship with Zachary will keep the reader enthralled and turning the pages at breakneck speed. Be prepared to pick up Shift directly after finishing because you will NEED to know what happens next. I know I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Storyline was awesome!

    I have always loved the thought of a world where everyone can see ghosts, however the said thing about the book was not that Aura's boyfriend died the sad thing to me was how the author would write and then make Aura sound really patethic. I absoluatly loved the storyline but the writing style is really hard to read past. But i would definatly read it over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Ghostly Read

    Hooked from the first page, Jeri Smith-Ready helped start and fuel my new addiction with her fabulous writing and her even more fabulous subject of story.

    Ghosts.

    Aura, who couldn't have a more fitting name, doesn't expect that her boyfriend Logan's birthday will be his last. With great opportunities working to go his way, and a girlfriend ready to take the next step to prove her love to him, Logan dies a tragic death- never truly experiencing either of his two biggest birthday gifts.

    For most people, getting over loss is grueling enough. Try being born after the Shift when you can't get away from ghosts. Aura, who normally despises the fact that ghosts can talk to her and ruin her every moment, isn't sure whether seeing her now-dead-boyfriend is a good thing or bad. It makes letting go and moving on near impossible, I could feel it. Even when he is on the brink of becoming a Shade.

    Cue, Zackary, the handsome Scottish bloke which immediately befriends, self-proclaimed outcast, Aura. With the excuse of a school project, and motives of his own, Zackary is able to form a friendship with Aura confusing her feelings and making her situation even more shady then before.

    Aura is torn in two pieces, as I was, longing for the love she had and wanted to keep and wishing for the ability to move on to the perfectly understanding, and safe (in several ways) new-to-town-guy. Even more then her love problems she needs to dissect the clues she finds within herself, Logan, Zackary and their pasts to figure out the Shift and what they all had to do with it.

    Jeri Smith Ready, not only hooked me by page one, she kept me wanting more. This book is fast paced, full of real and relatable raw emotions, and in a far off way a little bit believable (I mean, come on, what are you going to believe more? Ghosts or glittery-vamps?) This isn't your run-of-the-mill romance. It holds a little action and mystery too.

    With a sequel due out in May 2011, the date couldn't come fast enough. I know there is more fabulousness to come.
    This story definitely makes it onto my fab reread list! How couldn't it with each page turn there was flutters of my tummy, grins creeping across my face, and my brow furrowed helplessly?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional rollercoaster well worth the ride!

    My first thought of this book after reading the blurb was, "Ehh, it's another ghost book - and, oh, look at that ... it's another love triangle." After the past few unmentionable reads, I had had enough of the love triangles to last me a lifetime. But Shade kept calling me. Everywhere I turned, it was there ... staring me down. Breaking me down. Finally, I gave in. Best. Decision. Ever.

    From the very first page, I was hooked. It's not just about ghosts, or just about love. Yes, there are those things in the book, along with family issues, relationships, peer pressure, friendships, sex, death, gossip mills, angry soulless ghosts, bad guys, etc etc. Honestly, I thought my banana split cake had a bunch of layers ... but this book seriously takes the cake! (Ha!) It'll have you laughing one moment, crying your eyes out next, then you'll be sitting on the edge of your seat frantically reading to find out what happens next.

    Smith-Ready is an incredible writer and she did a fabulous job with this book. Not only did she manage to blend all of the layers together seamlessly, she also created a multitude of dimensional characters that were both believable and easy to relate to. Aura is a girl that you will fall in love and empathize with wholly - especially when it comes to her internal struggle of not only trying to let go of Logan and figure out her feelings for Zachary, but also try to find the answers to all the questions left by her mother.

    And the ending? One word: intense. That's another emotional roller coaster in itself, and one that you can't get off easily because you're left seeking answers and wanting to know what happens next - but you'll have to wait for the sequel, Shift, that comes out May 2011. It can't get here fast enough!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    good read

    The Shift happened sixteen years ago and since then, everyone born after the shift was able to see and communicate with ghost. But two years ago ghost seem start becoming agitated and some were turning in to shade; much anger and more dangerous spirit. This all was more than just an average nuisance to Aura until the night of Logan's birthday.
    It was Logan, Aura's boyfriend's birthday, his brothers and sister decided to have a party at the house because the parents were out on a cruise. This was to be the night, Aura decided to giver herself to Logan for his birthday. They had waited too long, the moment was just never right so she decided tonight would be the night. But fate had other plans. Logan drank way too much and was on the verge of passing out. Aura was very upset that he had ruined their night together and yelled at him. Determined to fix the problem Logan left saying he was going to take a shower. Once Aura herd the shouting outside the room she knew something was wrong. Upon stepping out of the room she immediately seen Logan's body on the floor and his brother trying to do CPR to revive him. Then Logan's spirit showed up next to her apologizing for being stupid. He said he thought the cocaine would help him sober up swearing he didn't mean to do it and he was sorry. It was more than Aura could handle.
    After that night she was not sure she would see Logan again, she was not ready to let him go. But she knew he needed to move on. Aura is a cute girl she has a great personality and she seems to have a good head on her shoulders. She is very interested in her mother's life and who her father is. This will be interesting to read more about in upcoming books. I love Logan he is such a cutie. His carefree attitude, but he's undying love for Aura was the most striking thing. He had everything a great family a music career and he could have any girl he wanted, but the only one he wanted was the one who was always there.
    Aura meets this new guy Zach, who just moved here with his father from Scotland. He intrigues her, in ways she thought only Logan could. She is forced to work on her project for school with him, a project she is determined to do alone, since she doesn't trust anyone with the secrete of what she is really looking for. She thinks there is a connection between what happened to her mother and the shift. But what Aura doesn't know is that Zach has a few secrets of his own.
    Now with Logan back spending his nights with her , the only way he can in is spirit form. She almost feels normal again with him. But she can't touch him or be touched by him. She can feel a bit of darkness in him and if she is not carful she could lose him in to a shade. She knows she should convince him to pass on but she is not ready to let him go yet, even as her feelings for Zach grow stronger the more time she is with him. But how can she choose between the love of her life or the boy who is actually in her life now.
    This book was very fascinating. It was different I liked it was not like anything I have read before. Once I got stated reading it, it sucked me in and it was very hard to put down, I wanted to know what would happen to Logan, Aura and Zach. It took me on a emotional rollercoaster. I was happy at times and sad at others. It is a very well put together book. I loved Logan, he was my favorite. He just had so much life in him it was so hard to see him as anything other than alive. I am very excited to see what happens between n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    Aura is not your normal girl, her birthday has a whole lot more meaning to it. Her boyfriend plays a great set and is looking to be signed. Since it was her birthday and a great day for the band, she decides to finally lose her V to him. But being a guy, he insteads did some drugs which allowed him to um....how can I say it, not be able to do it. He feels guilty and goes to the bathroom to try to um...well you know. Anyways, he ends up dying from all the drugs in his system. This is the start of an adventure in which Aura finds out her life is all that she thought it could be.




    In this world they had something called the Shift. A certain point in time in which something cause something in the world to allow people to see ghost. If you were born after a certain day, you can see ghosts. If you were born before you can't. The have boxes all over place catching ghost and sending them away. Aura can see Logan ghost and he is angry. Instead of moving on he hangs around making it difficult for his family and for her to move on knowing that he is till there.




    Aura meets Zachery.A handsome young boy who has a connection with her. She is the first and he is the last.Their friendship and recent connection bring down the government on them.




    This book was a great adventure. I loved the plot and the connections. Jeri did a great job building everything between these two. I love the major connection between them. The romance between them was great. The drama was another great point as well. Mostly this story is different from most ghost stories. It not the same ghost haunting. Instead they use ghost to help solve murders, etc. Even the way the government involved was a great twist in the story.




    Jeri did a great job writing this. I was engrossed in reading this that it didn't even take me more than a couple of hours to read it. Her story and the way that she wrote it had me hook from the beginning. If you want a completely different type of ghost story with great drama and real characters, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    wow

    this book is amazing !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This aren't always what the seem...

    This book is so much different then most ghost stories and I love that about it. Aura and Logan are amazing and Zach just puts the icing on the cake. The conflict is unforgettable and the plot is just thrilling. I did cried, I might, when I reading this book, but who can blame me? It was just so amazing and I suggest this to anyone who loves scary love stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This book was awesome, you really connect with the charaters it was sad but amazing :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Super Cool Read! :) (By Kaila)

    This Story Is A Really Good One. It Wowed Me. The Shift Is An Unknown Change That Occured That Led Everyone Born After It To Be Able To See Ghosts. After The Shift Ghosts Became Purplish And Are No Longer Seen In A Whitish Hue. Ghosts Now Can Become Shades - An Angry, Bitter Shapeless Spirit, Who Has Not Moved On Immediately. Aura, The Main Character Was Born On The Exact Date Of The Shift At The Very Exact Same Time. She's A Little Angry At The Fact That She Can See These Ghosts And Works With Her Aunt To Try And Solve Unresolved Deaths. She Can Not Find A Way To Block Out The Ghosts, And Is Also Seeking Some Way To Find Out Why The Shift Happened And How She Can End It. There Is Also An Amazing, Intense Love Story Here But I Don't Want To Give Too Much Away. You Have To Read It To Know What I'm Talking About. This Is A Book That Just Makes You Want To Talk About It. The World That Was Created For This Book And The Characters Jeri Created Are Heartfelt And You Can Fall Into This Story And Get Super-Lost In The World Of Shade.

    I Highly Recommend This Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Original!

    I loved this book. It was beyond creative and refreshingly different from so many other teen books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome new series!

    This is one of the books I've been anxiously awaiting, and it didn't disappoint! Love the whole idea of the pre- and post-shifters, with the post-shifters being able to see ghosts. I've read other books with ghosts, but nothing like this. These ghosts are violet-colored and when they turn bitter and bad, become angry spirits knows as "shades".

    Aura is an interesting new heroine. She doesn't like being able to see ghosts, but deals with it the best she can. Aura and her boyfriend Logan are ready to take their relationship to the next step, when Logan suddenly dies. For the first time, she is glad that she can see ghosts as that means that Logan is still around. But how can someone move on with their life when the dead don't really go away? And what about the cute new Scottish exchange student, Zachary? Does he really know secrets that could help her solve the mystery of what caused the Shift, and is it possible to reverse things?

    Really enjoyed this book, and gave it a 4/5 rating. I loved getting to know Aura and her friends, got a kick out of the Shift-universe that Jeri has created, and can't wait to see what happens next! Highly recommended for anyone who loves a good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7