Customer Reviews for

Shade's Children

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Gripping Sci-Fi Thriller from my favorite author

    No adults, no freedom, and no sense of security. Sounds pretty awful doesn't it? In Garth Nix's Shade's Children that's exactly what the world has become. In this futuristic sci-fi semi-thriller, teens are harvested for their organs and muscles on their 14th birthday. Sometimes they are kept alive as long as 18 in order to breed more body parts so that the Overlords can play games. When the Overlords came, all the adults disappeared, children and teens were then rounded up and taken to prison/factories, called the Dorms, so they could use them create creatures, powered by human parts, in an effort to win territory during battles.

    Few have escaped the Dorms, and run the streets fearing they will be caught. Gold-Eye is one such escapee. While running from Myrmidons, powerful machine-like creatures, he is saved by other escapees, Ella, Drum and Ninde. They are Shade's Children. They take him back to their hideout and introduce him to Shade; once a man, but now more of a memory preserved in a machine, he fights against the Overlords through his Children. Gold-Eye joins his saviors' team as the go on missions to discover why the Overlords are here and what can be done to stop them. More and more Children never return from these missions. Shade, who at first seems like the answer to every runaway's problems, starts to seem more and more like a ruthless machine, determined to win no matter what the cost.

    Nix creates a believable, and frightening world that makes the atrocities of the Overlords cut to the heart of the reader. The characters are developed in a way similar to how you get to know a person. Gold-Eye is the main character, and so we meet people through him, but at the same time we learn more about his past and how far he is willing to go for those he becomes close to. Not everything is revealed right away, you learn bits and pieces as the story progresses, and you begin to care about what happens to them as naturally as you would a real person. Their humanity is a stark contrast to the very idea the Overlords present.

    The action is non-stop, making the book incredibly hard to put down. The creatures and fights are described to a thrilling tee. In between chapters there are Archives, reflections of characters' pasts, Shade's thoughts, or what a camera placed around the city sees. This helps readers find a breaking point in all that action for the times when in fact, they must stop reading (like when you need to go to bed.) But then you can pick right up and be running with Ella, Drum, Ninde and of course Gold-Eye and their struggle to defeat the Overlords and save all the children still held prisoner in the Dorms, awaiting their Sad Birthday.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for scifi/fantasy lovers!

    I first read this book as a freshman in high school and ten years later I still read it again from time to time. The story never gets old. It always manages to draw you in, scare/creep you out and make you want to read more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable!

    This was an enjoyable book! I wish I knew more about the Overlords and how they got there and everything about that, but it was still a good book to read.

    Also, I got bothered that Gold-Eye's character seemed to fade as the story went on. He seemed less of a "character" and more of a vessel for plot. Shade, on the contrary, grew stronger as a character as the book progressed, which was really nice to read.

    The concepts and everything were very fascinating, and I loved the little bits where the Overlords revealed a little bit of the opinions they had towards the children. I just wish I knew a little more about what happened--WHY everyone over 14 vanished.

    But all in all, I really enjoyed this book. The atmosphere was well-crafted (and well maintained, besides. No ill-timed jokes or anything) and it was very compelling. I recommend it. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Great

    I read this book when it first came out years ago and loved every moment of it. It still continues to be one of my favortie books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Amazing

    Hand's down, one of my all time favorite books. Garth Nix really instills the fear of being there in you as you read. I've already read this multiple times and still have yet to get bored. A must read in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Favorite

    Great book. Should make a movie out of it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Better Than I Thought

    I didn't go into the book expecting it to be as good as it ended up being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    An Escape From Reality

    FREAKIN' AWESOME. Well at first I thought that I wasn't going to like it,but the description of the characeters and the scenes won me over. The bravery of the kids made me love them, the evil ways of the 'villians' made me hate them. What more could you want. This book made me escape from reality and I didn't want to come back until I knew what would happen next. It was a wild ride all the way to the end. I would defintly recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to take a break from the real world. This book was defintly a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    great

    way cool. Overlords come and use kids brains in robot creatures when they turn 14. its great. escapees have to unite to stop them, which sounds kind of stupid but it is NOT. best book ever. the main charachters name is gold-eye, which is awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    All time best

    It's too bad they only have five stars, because this book would get a 10 in my oppinion. A richly entertaining book that carries you through a mysterious world of scifi fantasy where except for the select few no one is over 14. This book was one of those that made me sit there for five hours nonstop reading til I finished. The very end, the vision is the best ending, a great way to wrap it up. It does mention two of the characters having sex but no details and it's there to show the how close the two characters are getting, so it's sutible for I'd say 12 and up. A great book all around. I give it a 10 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    This book is excellent!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome! No matter how hard you try, this book can't be put down because it is so exciting. if you're into fiction, sci-fi, and all that jazz, then this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    This is a GREAT book!!!

    Wow! This book has to be one of the greatest books I have ever read. It is wonderfully suspenseful and keeps you reading for hours and hours and hours. It has a wonderful storyline that keeps you interested through the whole thing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    This is such an awesome book!

    when i found this book i felt like i had won the lottery(hehehe).this is my favorite book of all time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    This remains one of the most disturbing books I've ever read. Ma

    This remains one of the most disturbing books I've ever read. Maybe it had to do with my age at the time -- I was 14 myself -- but I literally had nightmares for years later.

    I regret nothing.

    It's more than a good scare, though. I think one of the reasons it's so creepy is because of it's not the hero story you're expecting. It is gritty and gruesome and nearly hopeless. You really feel the cost of the disaster, not only to the characters personally, but to the entire world, the walk-ons who die horrible deaths, and even to the nameless monsters built out of kids' body parts. Only one other post-apocalyptic novel I've ever read comes close to being this bleak.

    Again, no regrets for reading it, though! It's fantastic. I also loved the way it used narratives and perspectives. Talk about a book that will stick with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    WHAT IS BOOK ABOUT??

    S

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Set in a future dystopia, where the Overlords have decreed that

    Set in a future dystopia, where the Overlords have decreed that no human can live past their 14th birthday, four fugitive teens set out to set society back on track. Under the watchful eyes of their once-human mentor, Shade, they come face to face with all manner of evils.

    I really enjoy good dystopian fiction, but lately they all seem the same. Shade's Children was remarkably fresh and appropriately dark. The world of this book is the near-future, making the story terrifyingly believable.

    The story centers on the character of Shade, a former human now living in a complex computer server. Shade collects children who have escaped the hands of the Overlords. He trains these children to gather information on the Overlords in an attempt to overthrow them. These missions often result in death. This begs the question, "How much sacrifice is acceptable in the pursuit of freedom?"

    Character and back-story development emerge largely via interludes between each chapters. These include interviews with key characters, entries in Shade's journal, and records of video surveillance. Though these pieces annoyed me at first, but I quickly realized that they are vital and compelling elements of the story. I especially enjoyed the pieces that gave us insight into the true purpose of the Overlords.

    I absolutely loved Shade's Children. It even made me cry. The only thing that kept me from giving it a full 5 stars is that the ending was a bit too happily-ever-after for me. It reminded me of the last scene in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

    3 adjectives that describe this book: futuristic, gritty, action-packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Wonderful

    When I read this, I was immediately draw the dark armosphere of the story. It was unlike any story i had ever read before. Garth Nix truely has a talent for whar he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Possibly, if this book is read in these days of popular post-apo

    Possibly, if this book is read in these days of popular post-apocalyptic stories, one might be tempted to throw this one in with the "ah, someone read 'Hunger Games' and wrote a book" crowd. Well, actually, "Shade's Children" was published in 1997. And while it is about young people surviving deathly odds in a post apocalyptic type future, it is very much it's own wonderful, dark story. I wouldn't recommend it for young readers, though, or anyone that is too sensitive to, well, violence. There be monsters here. Creepy weird things that do not leave the people they encounter well off. That said, I love dark science fiction! I loved this story, and recommend it to anyone looking for a book that moves quickly and has a creepy, engrossing environment with good characters. Get moving, and get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    A little difficult but it gets really good as you go!

    This is a really good book but it is a little dissorienting but it makes sense by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Another hit for Nix

    I believe I might be biased because Nix is my favorite author of all time.But is book was amazing. Suspenseful and a scary concept and also a coming of age for not just one person (as in Sabriel) but for a whole group of people. A must read for any young adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7