Customer Reviews for

Shades of Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I think Shades of Twilight is a very good book. I own it in boo

    I think Shades of Twilight is a very good book. I own it in book format as well as e-book format. However, I'm wondering if Linda Howard is aware of the poor job of conversion to e-book format. The biggest mistake is the name mis-spelling of Roanna's grandmother. In seven instances the name "Lucinda" was written as "Luanda". That fact alone takes some of the pleasure out of reading Shades of Twilight in e-book format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    My All Time Favorite Book

    I love Linda Howard, and this book it why. The relationship between Webb and Roanna is written so well, I felt like I was Ro at times. This storyline is sexy, intriging, and leaves you so satisfied. I appreciate that it is not your typical cookie cutter romance, and lord, do I want to find me my own Webb!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Love Story...EVER.

    I'm a huge fan of Linda Howard and have read most of her books. That being said: this is my favorite. I don't know why (and it kind of weirds me out because they're cousins) but Ro and Webb just GOT to me.------


    Roanna is the black sheep, and ugly duckling, of a wealthy family. Webb is the head of the family (I guess the patriarch) that stands up for her when nobody else does. Ro has been in love with Webb for her entire life, but he is older than her and is married to the beautiful, spoiled, unfaithful, golden child of the family.------


    Webb's wife gets murdered in the family estate and everyone assumes it's Webb who-dun-it. They're a wealthy southern family, so the investigation gets hushed and the killer is never caught. Webb leaves and returns years later -- drama ensues.------


    I don't know why I love this book so much, but I must have read the chapter when Ro and Webb first kiss a dozen times. (I got honest-to-goodness butterflies in my stomach.) The chemistry and love between the two characters is amazing.------


    It's not a coincidence that most of these customer reviews are positive! If you're a romance fan: READ THIS BOOK. If you're a Linda Howard fan: READ THIS BOOK. If you just want a good story: READ THIS BOOK."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh how I loved this book. I'd like to thank a friend of mine on

    Oh how I loved this book. I'd like to thank a friend of mine on Facebook Elle Boon for mentioning this book one day on line. 
    The book grabbed me from the first pages and wouldn't let go until the end. It has everything a good story needs. Great characters, alpha hero and strong heroin, suspense and a fabulous twist at the end. I've loved almost all of Linda Howard's books that I've read and this book is a perfect example of way she's a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Fabulous

    Fabulous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    One of my favorites

    Okay, I usually stay away from books with even hints of incest. While the two main characters are second cousins they are raisedinthe same house so I thought about not finishing the book once I started. I love linda howard however so I kept going. I wasn't disappointed. I loved the characters and their growth. I loved the storyline. The main character really spoke to me. My heart went out to her and I was glad she got the ending she did. I would recommend this book to anyone who doesn't mind a few really hot scenes with a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Never misses to entertain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    This is a wonderful romance. My favorite Linda Howard book......

    This is a wonderful romance. My favorite Linda Howard book......I won't go into details as I respect fellow readers but if you like a good sexy romance this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    11/6/12

    11/6/12 Wonderful book. WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great for romance lovers with some mystery thrown in!

    I have read quite a few of Linda Howard's books and highly recommend them for adult reading. I find I can relate to her heroines in different ways which makes the story more exciting. The author's descriptions of locations, etc., make one feel like you are right there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loovved it!!!

    This was one great book with one problem they were cousins yew gross, i choose to ignore this. I loved this book so much one of my top twenty favs;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Awesome mystery/romance!

    I was a little unsure when i read the synopsis because it mentioned two cousins fell in love, but once you get past that it really is a great love story! Probably my favorite Linda Howard along with Mr Perfect!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read!

    This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and it is the type of book you never want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    One of my favorite books of all time!

    I absolutely LOVE this book, and have reread it many times. Great intrigue, romance, and steamy sex. A lot of people said they were turned off by the incestuous nature of the book. I didn't really have a problem with Webb and Ro's relationship, as they seemed to be distantly related, at best (second cousins once removed, I think). I think the whole point of Jessie's sexual relationship with Neeley was to show how truly tramp-ish, despicable and disgusting she really was. This book made me feel a whole gamut of emotions, from grief and sadness to disgust to joy. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I really liked this book, the characters, the plot, and the excitement of it all and that is why I gave it 4 stars. It lost a star because of the kissing cousins.... that was a lil uneasy. Overall, greaat story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite By Far

    I absolutely love this story. I did think it was odd that they are cousin in some way but it still was great. I have read nearly all of Linda Howard's books but this is beyond my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Wow, what a great story!

    This Linda Howard novel had it all! Interesting and original characters that were well developed and backgrounds that were detailed and lushly painted. A very touching and romantic mystery thriller that has to be my new favorite from this talented author.

    Steamy sexy scenes in both naughty and nice with incest, family tensions, greed and envy all played out against the ancestral home of the heroine and her lover. Their home and family is deeply entrenched in southern traditions, a family both rich and powerful which also has its share of tragedy and scandal.

    I sincerely enjoyed this novel and was almost sorry when I reached the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great one

    I just love Linda Howards book. I couldn't put this down. Read it in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Loved It!!

    Linda Howard is awesome and this is one of her best novels. One thing about her is that you can read her stories over and over and over and over...Both characters are a bit tormented but it makes the end result that much sweeter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story is very complicated and some what strange with all of them being related one way or another, at some point I did think Roanna was too weak but after all she goes throught who wouldn't. I loved the story, it has a lot of drama, and it's intense it keeps you on the edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7