Customer Reviews for

Shades of Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Amour

    Same. Gtgtb. Night

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Shade

    Night love u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Liked this book

    I liked this book but it is very dark. 2 characters that I liked from a previous book (Gabriel's Ghost) return. I have to be in the right mood to reread this one though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Leaves you wanting more!

    I really enjoyed this book and was never bored! I fell in love with Ren, Chaz and Sully. I even liked the "bad boy" Prince. He was sooo naughty! The book was well written and I would love to see what a movie producer could do with turning this into a movie. I am a sci fi die hard! The love scenes were tastefully written without becoming too raunchy. I wanted more from Chaz and Sully by the time I got to the end of the book. I was really sorry their story ended! I love them! Great book for the beach, rainy day or laying around. Kudos to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Iloved this book!

    I have enjoyed every book by Linnea Sinclair especially the ones about Gabriel and Chaz. I have also read Hope's Folly and look forward to any other books about the war and jukors and more interesting characters that keep me coming back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Hard to Read Yet So Wonderful

    *If you're reading this before Gabriel's Ghost, stop, turn around and go get Gabriel's Ghost first. Then come back and read this one. Seriously, folks. ***** In retrospect, after everything Sully and Chaz go through, Shades of Dark is the perfect descriptor for the evolution their relationship endures. It's been three months since they infiltrated the jukor-breeding lab on the Marker space station. Now it's time to go after the big guns, the brains and monetary brawn behind it all and the mobile ship lab coasting across the universe, breeding even more jukors. The continued kidnapping of Takan females to use as breeding machines is quickly escalating a desperate situation towards open war. ***** Sully and Chaz are adamant as ever in their resolve to stop the bloodthirsty creatures from getting loose as well as annihilating those behind it. Their mission has never been in question. What is though is their relationship. Sully's powers grow stronger everyday, yet do not become easier to bear. Chaz is his firm support, however he needs it, but when a new crew member comes aboard, another with powers like Sully's, their love will undergo the ultimate test of wills and survival. No one ever said saving the universe was easy, but no one ever warned them it would demand - and take - so much of them personally either. ***** Sully and Chaz are one of the most passionate couples I've ever had the pleasure of reading - and this isn't even a romance! We learn a lot more about the two in terms of how they came to be a couple. I thought I was already as invested in their relationship as I could get. Wrong, I was so wrong in that regard. This may not be a romance, but a lot of other romance couples could learn a thing or two from Chaz and Sully. The conflict between these two was HUGE! Again, Sully's powers are a major contender for foremost villain. But it was stepped up quite a few notches in this sequel to Gabriel's Ghost, where it seemed as though they'd at least come to an understanding, a compromise in terms of Sully's powers effecting them as a couple. Wrong again - at least somewhat. Sully, despite a willing and wonderful partner, still feels very much alone as he struggles to control the darker instincts of his Kyi-Ragkiril nature. He's not had the benefit of growing up learning and adapting to his skills and therefore perfecting them into something usable and at his whim rather than him at the power's whim. It was heart wrenching at times to read, the uncertainty and self-doubt he goes through. ***** The third that steps in, takes the scales that are trying to balance and throws them into the outer reaches of space is another Kyi-Ragkiril, one Cordell Delkavra, Captain Regarth - or Del, as he is preferably called. it is hard to talk too much about him without giving everything away. He is the core of it all, the igniter to not only Sully and Chaz's relationship, but the main plot as well. At first, it's very hard to ascertain his motives and I wanted to know them right away, very much. Something about him fascinated me from the get go, but also a thread of unease crept in and refused to go away. He definitely makes the book more interesting. It had lagged a bit in pace till he shows up. But when he does show up, hold on to whatever you can because he is the engine, the creator behind the roller coaster that engages the moment he steps into the picture. ***** And then we have Admiral Phillip Guthrie, who will be getting his own book in the future, titled Hope's Folly (Feb.24, 2009). He becomes a valuable asset, as well as a solid friend, to Chaz. There were moments where I had to chuckle or sigh, when he and Chaz clearly show they've come to an understanding and forgiven where they ended up with each other. Phillip's sporting major whispers of hero duds and I can't wait to see how he handles his own full length story. ***** This book had me by the throat and more times than I could count, my heart leaped up there too to j

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    5 STARS- A COMPELLING, PASSIONATE STORY

    Shades of Dark is a terrific must-read sequel to Linnea Sinclair's award-winning novel Gabriel's Ghost. At the end of Gabriel's Ghost, Chaz and Sully embark on a new personal relationship while on their way to hunting down a ship carrying a jukor breeding lab. The story resumes in Shades of Dark with the pair on their way to meet 'Del,' an individual who may be able to provide them with information to find the ship carrying the jukor lab. In addition to Del, Chaz's ex-husband, Philip, also plays a prominent part in the story. He grows into his role as Chaz's friend and a source of strength for her. Ms. Sinclair has written a book of intense feelings. The love and passion between Chaz and Sully is a palpable thing. The climax of the book is not to be missed. These words describe the story best for me: Powerful, Profound, Provocative, Heart-rending, and Redemption. I STRONGLY recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2