Customer Reviews for

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Cant wait

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wow

    I havent finished yet, but it is amazing! I love how Beth Revis writes in a way to force the emotions that each character feels upon the audience. I am completely captivated! What an amazing beginning of the ever so dreaded end of the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I won an ARC of this book, so I was able to finish it before pub

    I won an ARC of this book, so I was able to finish it before publication day. Across the Universe was my favorite book of 2011, and I loved A Million Suns as well, but Shades of Earth blew them both out of the water! The element of mystery that I've come to love from Revis' books was well-executed, the premise was amazing, and the ending was perfect. I'm going to miss Amy and Elder, but the twists all the way up until the very end were superb. I can't wait to see what Revis' next project will be.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I have no idea where to start. I adored this book! For those

    I have no idea where to start. I adored this book!




    For those who are still catching up on the series, or haven't read yet, don't worry -- no spoilers here! I'll just say this:




    - This is a spectacular conclusion to a series I loved, worthy of the first two books in every way.




    - Nobody is safe, people. Nobody is safe. Brace yourselves.




    - That Beth Revis, she plays a LONG GAME. All those little things you were wondering about in the first two books? Those little questions that raised themselves that didn't have answers? It's all here. She's been preparing you since the start, carefully dropping information, teaching you what you need to know.




    - The twists. And turns. And twists. And reveals. And twists. (You get the idea, right?)




    I just... I loved this book. The author was brave. She went places. Get it, read it. Gosh, just read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I almost cried at the end... I was so shocked by some events (An

    I almost cried at the end... I was so shocked by some events (And you will be too). But dat ending... wow... I was MIND-BLOWING! Something terrible happened... and I was so sad, and then on the last page, everything got better!!! I wish there was another book... But all in all, IT WAS AMAZING, and you will not expect half of the stuff that happens...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    LOVE HER!!

    She did her book launch at the library where i work, she is soooo sweet and this book promises to be the best one yet!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Overall: Another masterful piece of work by Beth Revis. She wor

    Overall:
    Another masterful piece of work by Beth Revis. She worked through many challenges including a new setting, new characters, and new conflict. Just like the first two books, Beth Revis finds a plot twist that is entirely unpredictable. Also, I really respect that the ending is the usual "and they lived happily ever after" mentality that I see all too often in other YA novels. Once again, I was dazzled by Beth Revis's work.

    Setting:
    As I mentioned earlier, the setting of this book is different from the first two. After living on Godspeed, we now are faced with this new planet, one that holds both great hope and great fear. With suspenseful trepidation, we join Amy and Elder as they explore this breathtakingly exquisite paradise. We learn about the world from both scientists and simple observations. I was pleased that too much time was not spent on every minute detail of the planet. However, I do wish that more emphasis was put on the sky on Centauri-Earth. In the previous books, the stars held hope, beauty, and peril. We learned the secret of the stars while sailing through them. I feel that some revelations could have been made by Amy and Elder while looking at a new sky of stars that would have not only carried the last two books, but also developed this book even more.

    Characters:
    With the frozens awake, Beth Revis had to work with a new cast of characters. I like the differences and conflict apparent between the shipborns and frozens from the beginning. I was really impressed with the small scale character development that took place in this novel. It really shaped the fact that each person is a precious individual and leaves no deaths insignificant. Also, Orion was done wonderfully. However, there are a few characters who I believe could have been portrayed a bit differently. First of all, when Amy reminisces about her parents while on Godspeed, she seems closer to her father. In this book, this is reversed. I wish that Amy's father was more understanding. I understand that Beth Revis wanted to establish his militaristic side, but I felt that this was a bit exaggerated. Secondly, I believe that Harley is referenced only once in Shades of Earth. I wish that Amy and Elder had thought more about him. For example, they might have thought about what he would love to paint if he could see Centauri-Earth. It almost seemed that Amy and Elder had forgotten him.

    Pace and Plot:
    Like all the other books, there was never a dull moment. The pace and plot were brilliant. From tangible action to heart-wrenching decisions, I couldn't put it down.

    Unresolved Issues:
    Also, there were a couple issues from the first two books that I had hoped would be resolved in Shades of Earth. Mainly, did any of the other frozens dream through the centuries like Amy did? Also, what happened to Victria?

    I hope you all enjoyed this book review and I urge to check out this trilogy. And, not sure if she'll ever read this, I want to give a huge thank you to Beth Revis for writing this amazing trilogy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    I am a very big fan of sci-fi book, and i was not dissapointed w

    I am a very big fan of sci-fi book, and i was not dissapointed with it. This book has everything you would look for in seeing what we as humans would act like on another planet trying to survive.It is filled with much action, adventure, and even mystery.The ending will leave you in shock but I feel as though it was left off at the right point.  I recommend this book to any one that loves a good sci-fi. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Loved this book!! Great way to end the series!

    Loved this book!! Great way to end the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book was amazing! I couldn't manage to put it down! Revis doesn't dissapoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great Ending

    Probably one of the best trilogy I've read in awhile. A great end to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    TO BETH REVIS

    Your ending to this amazing series broke my heart and left me wiping tears of sadness and joy.i have never cried so much in my entire life.this was.........i have no words...........incredible beyond belief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    The book Shades of earth had left me in such an adventurous mood

    The book Shades of earth had left me in such an adventurous mood.  I loved the way that the author had included, romance and action, I believe that this is a great combination. I also had liked how well put together the plot was. I would suggest anyone that hasn't read the firs two books, to read them first. But if you are like me and like a good scifi book then you would love the shades of earth. It shows you how our lives would be on another Earth like planet. It interested me very deeply. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    It was great, but it could have been better. There were many twi

    It was great, but it could have been better. There were many twists that I didn't expect, but some of the explanations just weren't enough for me. I felt like we should have ended with book two, but it wasn't tied in a neat bow so the story had to go on. I'm not saying that she didn't do a great job, but I would have liked the story to be a little different. I would have liked to have a bit more character development too. The world building is not as phenomenal in this book as the previous two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Amazing

    So i almost didnt finish the book. SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!! Whenever the main character dies, i give up on the book right away. Its just i find it a waste of time if they die. So obviously i thouglht elder died, so i just put it away. Later, i decided to continue it. And am i ever glad i did!!! Boy, talk about an unexpected ending. I just wish there was an epilogue though. Otherwise, FREXING FANTASTIC NOVEL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Oh frex!! The ending was sweet and made me love the whole series

    Oh frex!! The ending was sweet and made me love the whole series!!!! OH MY FREXING GOSH!!
    The ending made me cry, a lot of people died in Shades of Earth and the plot twists were crazy, but I wish
    she gave us an epilogue, but the execution of this series made me widen my views on books, because usually
    I would't read sci-fi, but I saw the cover and it looked interesting! And Beth Revis, you are an genius!! Thank you for writing this series!! I finshed it in about a month or two, and it made me happy.
    But, if you haven't started this series shame on you LOL!! Pick up Across the Universe and you will be hooked until the end, because AAALLLL of the pieces of the book fit together!!
    So thank you if you are reading this review by a fangirl who is now gonna cry, because the series is over!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    .

    Really great.loved the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Such aa unique, beautiful,add Such a unique, beautiful, and ADDICTING series.

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Please note that this review contains spoilers for people who ha

    Please note that this review contains spoilers for people who haven't read A MILLION SUNS!

    You haven't yet recovered from the adrenaline rush named A MILLION SUNS and you need a break? That's something the thrilling last book in the ACROSS THE UNIVERSE series can't serve with. SHADES OF EARTH continues the strong and action-packed storyline you've surely come to love in the previous books.

    Here's a short reminder how the second book ended:

    '"It's worth it." I move to touch him, but he grabs my hand first, squeezes my fingers, then let's me go.
    "What was it you said to Doc?" Elder asks. "About faith?"
    "I don't remember," I say with a dry laugh. "I was too busy trying not to get killed."
    "Well, whatever it was - you were right." His hands rests over the auto-pilot launch button.

    "Ready?" he asks.
    "Ready."'


    And I was SO ready for the next book then! Fine, you know that Amy and Elder are alive, but what about the fact that the new planet has been there all along? I wante to scream! And then they didn't push that launch button in the end of book two? That was just mean, because anything would be possible after that. So, you can imagine my outburst of joy when I finally held my copy of SHADES OF EARTH in my hands.

    With the new planet within reach, Beth Revis' possibilities to continue the story seemed endless. Isn't the idea of a new world scary and exciting all at once? Amy, Elder and their group could build an entire new world or be attacked any time. Beth made sure that this planet wouldn't be a snooze.
    After the landing, our group is surrounded by unknown land and after only a few hours on their new planet, they know that they are not alone. Always knowing about the dangers out there, but never being entirely sure about their origins or how to protect yourself from them. There are hostile animal-like creatures, unpredictable plants, abandoned ruins looking like houses built for humans. It is not 100 % alien-free either. The tension was tangible! There are scary things happening in SHADES OF EARTH and you should definitly be prepared for DEATH (yes, capital letters. Beth Revis is THAT evil).
    And the mystery behind the beings responsible for all that misery and harm, is an entirely different category. It is as brilliant as it is disgusting and contemptible. Beth Revis never reveals too much at a time, she keeps the reader constantly charged up, always athirst for answers, to learn more about the intrigues and complots sourrounding Godspeed.

    With all the new-found land, animals and dangers one could think that there wouldn't be time for love. But Beth was kind enough to guarantee us some quality time with our lovely Godspeed couple Amy and Elder. I was so relieved the new planet didn't have a no-kiss policy. These scenes of affection and care gave hope and lightened up the dark mood the consequent uncertainty caused.

    Amy and Elder continue to be awesome and well-rounded characters. Amy grows stronger every day and I've always seen the leader potential in her that she's showing in SHADES OF EARTH. I'm glad they both are critical in nature, and ask questions first before they follow any commands. And that is even more important in this very difficult situation caused by the differences between ship-born and earth-born people in the colony. The clash of beliefs and attitudes between sol-earth military and Godspeed inhabitants is a very prominant issue in this part of the story.
    Advanced technologies and highly interesting scientific research make SHADES OF EARTH a diversified and intelligent read, presenting us with numerous inventive ideas that could affect our future at some point, too.

    SHADES OF EARTH is a science-fiction book through and through. Spaceships, new plants, aliens and the task to master life in an entirely foreign and new environment. It is the conclusion to a thourougly well-written trilogy.


    5/5 ***** SHADES OF EARTH - The beauty lies in the stars. Beth Revis caught them and spun them into a powerfully written and adventurous space mission tale.

    When I started with this series I was very reluctant to give a story with a space adventure a chance to sweep me off my feet. Right now I can't imagine not reading more science-fiction and set in space YA books! I'm counting on many more books by talented author Beth Revis! SHADES OF EARTH is the last book in the ACROSS THE UNIVERSE trilogy, that's how it's advertised, but I really do hope that there is still room for more books in the series. And so I'm having my fingers crossed for a spin-off series, who doesn't?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Across the Universe Series...

    This is a great series, hard to put down. I recommend making sure you have the next book available before you reach the end of the previous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4