Customer Reviews for

Shades of Gray: A Jude Magdalyn Novel

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Shades of Grey

    Shades of Grey is the first installment in the Jude Magdalyn series by LM Pruitt. Words can't describe how brilliant this book was. There was action, romance, a bit of smut and heartbreak: the makings of an awesome story.

    Jude Magdalyn Henries is just your average girl trying to make a living in the streets of New Orleans, be it hustling or setting up a scam, it puts food on the table and pays the bills. But all that changes after a scam goes wrong and Jude is on the run when she stumbles head first into an ongoing war: a war that she is at the centre of. From this encounter, Jude goes on to learn more about her heritage and all the goodies that come with it.

    I can't rant and rave enough about this book. I absolutely loved it from the get go, the story is unlike anything I have read before. Yes it's supernaturally based but the story itself and how it unfolds is different, it kept things interesting. I thought I knew what Jude would do next, but every time I thought I knew what Jude would do next, I was wrong. Jude is a very unpredictable, outspoken and kind character. Her attitude gets her into trouble most of the time but sometimes it's useful. No story would be complete without a love interest or two and Jude has some choices. Albeit the choice Jude made threw me, but I loved that this character could keep me guessing about what is going to happen next. The love interests themselves are some fine specimens and I don't think I have ever been this jealous of a fictional character in my life, but I am.

    Overall, just brilliant!! I can't wait for the next book in the series, Shades of Desire. I highly recommend this book to anyone, but maybe not of any age. I would say mid-teen and upwards. LM Pruitt, you rock for writing this book!

    Disclaimer: I was sent this e-book as part of a tour via The Bookish Snob Promotions. I have not been paid to review this book and everything I have said is of my own honest opinion.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book and am already in the middle of the s

    I really enjoyed this book and am already in the middle of the second book of the series "Shade." The author has a talent for weaving her story with a pace that keeps the reader glued to the book. Good job with character development and world building. I am already wanting to see a third book in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    An Excellent Read - This is the first book of a very promising series.

    L.M. Pruitt does a fantastic job of story telling. Well developed characters with a few surprising twists in the plot. A nearly perfect blend of realism, fantasy, romance, suspense and humor. This book is hard to put down and leaves you with both a satisfying ending and eagerly awaiting the next installment. Some material may not be suitable for younger readers.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great!

    Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Highly enjoyable urban fantasy/ paranormal romance novel

    *4.5 of 5 Stars*
    I really, really enjoyed Shades of Gray. Jude Magdalyn is a tough, independent heroine who adapts well to new situations. She is smart, quick, and in no way a damsel in distress (well, at least most of the time). Jude had a tough upbringing, as an orphan raised by nuns, and forced to live on the streets for awhile. However, Jude was not completely hardened by her background, she is still capable of caring for other people, and she is fiercely loyal. Judy is suddenly thrown into a new life situation, given responsibilities and expectations. She handles all of her changes pretty well, even with her sarcastic nature. I was laughing at her mouth, her sarcastic personality is very entertaining and funny too.

    Jude has more than one romantic interest, she has two! Both men are hot, powerful, and different. Williams is a vampire, and the attraction between him and Jude is intense. Theo is the more constant interest, he is part of the covenant, has magic similar to Jude's, and he is dependable. The pseudo love-triangle is very intriguing, and I can't help but wonder what will happen next for Jude.

    Jude is cast into a new world and a new role in Shades of Gray. She learns about the covenant, an group of magically inclined people, and becomes an integral part of a war between the covenant and vampires. The magic in Shades of Gray is pretty cool, and based on elements and spells. Mixing the politics of the covenant and the danger from the vampires, the plot is exciting and fast paced.

    With excellent characters, especially the unique and hilarious Jude, enticing and complicated romances, and a story teeming with magic, Shades of Gray is an exceptional urban fantasy, paranormal romance read. I highly recommend this book to fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    I have nothing positive I can say about this book. It was boring

    I have nothing positive I can say about this book. It was boring, with a weak storyline, and no real character building. I would recommend this book to be used as an example of how NOT to write a book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Ehhhh

    It was okay. I kept expecting her to go one way but it never happened. I will keep reading the series if it is a continuation of her story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    WOW!!!

    What a well written, original story! Highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    In a recent review I said I was over vampire books, but this se

    In a recent review I said I was over vampire books, but this series could make me change my mind. Granted it’s not all vampires, but it’s very clever. The Covenant is a group in charge of keeping the supernatural world in working order. The main character, Jude, finds out that the things that go bump in the night are really the things from nightmares in “Shades of Grey.” Jude is an orphan who makes a living doing odd jobs. She has no family, was orphaned at birth, raised by nuns, lived on the streets as a teen-age runaway, and meets her first vampire when she is pretending to be a psychic. Of course, she doesn’t initially know he’s a vampire, just that he scares her.
    “Shades of Grey” is a taut, intense story about Jude finding out who she is, why she is, and who her family is. “Shades of Desire” continues the story of Jude and her coming into power. It gives more information about the Covenant, what it is and how it works. It also explores the balance of power between the Covenant and the vampires in New Orleans.
    L.M. Pruitt has written an intense series that has drama, humor, paranormal, heart, romance, and tons of action. There is something here for everyone. The fast paced read keeps you drawn into the story and the plot keeps you intrigued. The characters make you care what happens to them, a true feat for any author.
    I give this series 4.5 out of 5 clouds.


    This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I recommend this book.

    A very enjoyable read. Not what I expected but a great surprise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I did enjoy reading this book. Keeps your attention and I will most likely get the follow up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Good read

    My friend told me about this book & I'm glad she did. It was an easy read with a good plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    ok read

    But mostly forgotton already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shades of Gray

    Wow! This was truly a phenomenal read with an amazing cast of characters, written by an equally amazing author, L.M. Pruitt. This urban fantasy gem features Jude Magdalyn (how cool is that name?), who has been on her own since leaving the Catholic orphanage she grew up in. She doesn't trust easily, only a few select friends, and she gets by running tarot card scams. That all changes in one single night and she realizes that nothing will ever be the same.

    There are SO many things that I LOVED about this book. It was one that, as I was reading, I just kept thinking OMG I have to tell everyone about this! Jude, the heroine, is one of my favorite kind of female leads. Her sarcasm & wit have no boundaries, she thinks on her feet, takes s**t from no one, has tons of love to give but only a select few see it, and she is willing to sacrifice herself for the greater good and those she loves. Here are a few more reasons:

    LIKES
    -An incredibly rich story line that kept me intrigued throughout the book and wanting to turn the page to read more. I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next.

    -An incredible cast of secondary characters. In my opinion, L.M. Pruitt, pushed her book to that next level because of those characters. They did not detract at all and added tremendous content to the overall plot. Jude's story touches so many lives and she is affected by so many in her ever-changing world, the amazing development of these characters was pivotal to her journey.

    -Williams - enough said!

    -The lead in for book #2. If you know me, then you know that I hate cliffhangers. The set up for the second book, Shades of Desire, was enough to leave me really anticipating the next, but not feeling like I wanted to throw the book (think Dreamfever).

    -Jude's sarcasm & wit. I know I mentioned it earlier but it was absolutely incredible and one of my favorites parts of the book. I couldn't wait to read what come out of her mouth next. It was sharp when needed, funny & best of all - completely necessary to her character!

    DISLIKES

    -There were not many and the ones that did present themselves were not enough to lessen my rating any. There is one particular thing that I wished we would have gotten more information on. It's something that I would consider a spoiler, so be forewarned. In the beginning Jude has a friend, Izzy, whom is her closest friend. Izzy is killed by Hart (Jude's arch nemesis) very early on. We never really get Jude's thoughts, feelings or how she copes with Izzy's death. I would have liked to see how she dealt with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    This is a fantastic story! I feel in love with the characters.

    My thoughts: This is a fantastic story! I feel in love with the characters.
    The story is captivating! The plot is exceptionally developed. Jude is fascinating. Her snarky attitude is refreshing. I enjoyed watching her find her way in the life she is thrust into. L.M. Pruitt has created characters that will win the hearts of every reader. They live in a world that is both realistic and just a little bit more. The setting is perfect, it seems only natural for the story to take place there. The story has so much to offer. There is mystery, romance, good vs. evil, magic, vampires, witches, and there among it all - the desire for right to win.


    You won't want to set this one down once you start reading it! It's fast-paced and filled with all manner of action! The good guys are incredible, the bad guys are so well done that you love to hate them! An all around must read for the fantasy lover in us all! Can't wait for more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magical!

    Shades of Gray: A Jude Magdalyn Novel has a very short prequel Hole in the Wall free on Goodreads and also on Smashwords
    that introduces us to Jude before the events taking place in the full length book. It is not however necessary to read it but if you do some of what Jude faces will make more sense.

    Magic, mysteries, vampires, family dramas, sarcastic kick-ass leading female character and romance fill the pages of this scintillating tale of intrigue and action penned by L.M. Pruitt. A very riveting page turning tale of Jude Magdalyn, former street urchin/grifter/pickpocket who has turned into a fire-wielding all around force to be reckoned with! Jude has been on her own for most of her 20 odd years of life after the death of her parents. Imagine her surprise when it turns out that she is a magic user of immense power who also happens to be the head of a group called "The Covenant" and has not only one but two of the men who are part of this group vying for her attention.

    I found this to be a stimulating reading experience, immediately drawn into Jude's story from the first page and as each layer of Jude's past is stripped bare and she has her family secrets revealed one by one I was holding my breath or in shock right along with Jude! The crazy cast of very multi-dimensional characters that make up Jude's new friends, and foes as well, are all add to what turns out to be a pretty interesting as well as very fast paced story.

    Being that the book is set in my favorite location of New Orleans with all it's wonderful ambience and spicy places to have a good time did not hurt either.

    Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Suspense story fans will all get a thrill out of this reading experience. Author L.M. Pruitt penned a story that you can not put down until all the secrets are revealed and the villain is either destroyed or manages to destroy Jude. To find out more you really need to pick up a copy and read this one for yourself! Book 2 Shades of Desire: A Jude Magdalyn Novel is also available on Kindle and in Paperback as well.


    [I have to disclose that this book was an e-arc copy submitted to me by the author via The Bookish Snob Promotions for an honest review and that there is no other compensation from her, the tour host or the publisher except my reading pleasure and enjoyment of the characters depicted in the story.]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good book that is worth checking out.

    Shades of Gray by L.M. Pruitt was an entertaining read with an interesting plot. L.M. Pruitt did a good job of creating the characters but I found it slightly difficult to really identify with them.The author also has a knack for using words that paint a vivid picture of what is happening.I was definitely surprised that Shades of Gray was about vampires because that was the last thing I expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2