Customer Reviews for

Shades of Gray (KGI Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow

What. A. Ride. I laughed, I cried, I was scared, anxious, repulsed (quite literally sick to my stomache). I cheered and I cursed. This story was intense from beginning to end. If you have not read any other KGI novel, i dont recommend you star with this one. Its a ...
What. A. Ride. I laughed, I cried, I was scared, anxious, repulsed (quite literally sick to my stomache). I cheered and I cursed. This story was intense from beginning to end. If you have not read any other KGI novel, i dont recommend you star with this one. Its a great book, though it has very strong subjects that not everyone will be able to sit thru. If you are not a kgi rookie, you are sure to love this one. PJ & Cole are well matched. Shes tough as nails, and he is man enough to deal with it. Gotta love a man who so secure enough to love a strong woman, and still let her be who she is!

posted by 2890508 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better

I was kind of disappointed with this book. Loved all the KGI books and could not wait to see PJ and Cole together. Preordered this books SIX monts ago! It started great, really intense, but then deflated for pages and pages. One of the reviewers criticized that the book...
I was kind of disappointed with this book. Loved all the KGI books and could not wait to see PJ and Cole together. Preordered this books SIX monts ago! It started great, really intense, but then deflated for pages and pages. One of the reviewers criticized that the book only had sex scenes in the first pages. It is true but that was not the problem. Besides, you understand that PJ needs time to heal. The problem was that there was no storyline or substance to keep the reader's interest and it became boring. It improved a little bit in the end, but it was not enough.

posted by EmmaGR on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book. One of her best. I want to be PJ when I grow up.

    Great book. One of her best. I want to be PJ when I grow up. I also agree that this is one not to start the series reading, you should read the series in order to get the jist of the family dynamics.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Wow

    What. A. Ride. I laughed, I cried, I was scared, anxious, repulsed (quite literally sick to my stomache). I cheered and I cursed. This story was intense from beginning to end. If you have not read any other KGI novel, i dont recommend you star with this one. Its a great book, though it has very strong subjects that not everyone will be able to sit thru. If you are not a kgi rookie, you are sure to love this one. PJ & Cole are well matched. Shes tough as nails, and he is man enough to deal with it. Gotta love a man who so secure enough to love a strong woman, and still let her be who she is!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This book is really good. I would suggest that you start with th

    This book is really good. I would suggest that you start with the first book so that you can get a better understanding of all the characters. Anyways I love Maya Banks books I have never read a book by her that I have hated I can't wait to see who she writes about next!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Could have been better

    I was kind of disappointed with this book. Loved all the KGI books and could not wait to see PJ and Cole together. Preordered this books SIX monts ago! It started great, really intense, but then deflated for pages and pages. One of the reviewers criticized that the book only had sex scenes in the first pages. It is true but that was not the problem. Besides, you understand that PJ needs time to heal. The problem was that there was no storyline or substance to keep the reader's interest and it became boring. It improved a little bit in the end, but it was not enough.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Absolutely awesome. Intense and enthralling but yes at times ki

    Absolutely awesome. Intense and enthralling but yes at times kinda sickening to the stomach. Not as light as a lot of Maya's books but the KGI series is a more hardcore one. As suggested by another review, not a good starter book if you haven't read the series. Great story and I loved the latest KGI installment, just a little more graphic than anticipated. Regardless, Maya did herself proud per normal. Can't wait for the next one. Thanks Maya! (Just a heads up .... there are some strong non-erotic components that are very graphic that may not sit well with some people)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Love it!

    The Kelly's and KGI never fail to make me smile :) These men and women are so strong and passionate about their families, what they do and who they love... I've loved each book and P.J. and Cole's was no exception! They were perfect for each other from the first time they exchanged verbal jabs in the beginning of the series and this was the right time for them to get together. P.J. was so incredibly resilient and my heart ached for her throughout the book while I cheered on her determination to just be herself not the heroine she really is, and Cole's devotion, friendship and love made my heart skip a beat and gave me another hero to love in this series... Can't wait for the next novel to come out so I can keep up with charactets that have become part of my literary family :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I've read all of the kgi books, this one was horrible and heart

    I've read all of the kgi books, this one was horrible and heart breaking. I couldn't keep reading it, i was literally sick to my stomach.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    A must read book and series!

    Shades of Gray is different in that there really isn't a damsel to rescue. P J is warrior who fights for what she believes in and takes care of herself. There is a strong, senitive alpha male at her side.

    If P J has a weakness it's that she feels she has to do things alone. She is proven wrong, and finds love and realizes she has a family she can depend on along the way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Fine line between justice and vigilanty

    This book gets back to the roots of what KGI is about: being the good guys. After a vicious attack PJ decides to go vigilanty, and exact juctice on her tormentors. Cole agrees with her methods, even though she dropped off the grid, due to what those people were doing to others, and he felt guilty because he couldn't stop what happened to PJ.

    The book is an emotional roller coaster between the two characters you rooted for the most to get together from the beginning. The story was engaging and I read it non-stop. You also don't have to read it as part of the series, but it is a good series. It ties the first book as best of them all, in my opinion. While it has more violence than romance, don't think this isn't a great romance. It's the perfect love story about a boy who wants a girl more than anything else. And a girl too stubborn to see how loved she really is. Love, like justice, is never black and white--it is always shaded.

    - Alicia Devereaux Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I love KGI

    Fantastic story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Wonderful

    I loved PJ and Cole's story. Another great book in this series. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    KGI SERIES: SHADES OF GRAY

    260 Nook pages of awesome reading! Highly Recommended! I love the entire KGI series! Thank you Maya! Happy New Year and Happy Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Love this series - it keeps getting better and better!

    Love this series - it keeps getting better and better!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Love KGI and the people in it!

    I truly hope Maya Banks gives of the story on the mama's boys of the Kelly clan Dov, and Joe...because they were such mama's boys i want to see how they do...i also have to tell you readings Steele's story is coming in June 2013 i preordered it today i cant wait....keep on reading love is in the air...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    read the series in order

    This was suspenseful, interesting and full of action. But you need to read some of the series to have a frame of reference. Worth the time an dmoney

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Disapointment is what this book was for me. I read all books in

    Disapointment is what this book was for me. I read all books in the series and liked all except this one. Cole and P.J., just got together once, in the beginning of the book, then just one or other kisses during the development of the storie (wasn't even good kisses) nothing more. I dind't undertand the reviewer who thougt this book graphic, the others were a lot more graphic.This book hadn't romance enough and not even adventure with suspense like the others in the serie. There are just drama and revenge in this book, nothing more. There is not even how to compare this book with the others in the serie. Because the others books in the serie are way superior than this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    I have been waiting for PJ's and Cole's story since I started re

    I have been waiting for PJ's and Cole's story since I started reading the KGI series all backwards.  And I can honestly say it was worth the
    wait. Maya Banks continues to amaze me with all of her different writing styles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    My favorite part about this was the opening scene, which grabs y

    My favorite part about this was the opening scene, which grabs you and sits you right down at that bar table with a kick-ass heroine and her beer. The story got a little testosterone-heavy with all the brothers and their weapons, and one scene was flat-out ridiculous, but for the most part it was an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    I recommend you read all of them.

    I started with book #8, then discovered there were prior books. I went and ordered all of them, and started reading. Waiting for #9 that will be coming out the end of this month (June 2014) I won't spoil it for you....start with book #1... Each book is different but all of these guys do their thing and protect the women they love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Daren

    U f.u.c.k.i.n.g. a.s.s.h.o.l.e

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11