Customer Reviews for

Shades of Grey

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's different...from his NORMAL different

    Jasper Fforde knows how to entertain. Normally he does this with absurdist humor, which has just enough collegiate literary banter to keep intelectuals, bibliophiles, and those looking for nothing more than a fun story and a smile, Happy. He took on more here.
    The first several chapters were turning me off. I didn't laugh; I wasn't lost in imagination; I was trying to understand. There was a complex society and a complex relationship between father and son, that I knew would be pivotal to the story... but in my current mood I didnt care for that. I wanted the Ffun-Fforde part! So I skimmed, and I eventually found myself enamored with the main character and flipping backwards to see what I'd missed!
    Don't skip any of this book. It's different for Jasper, but it will not dissapoint. The more you read the better it gets. This is a mystery, but not one that sets itself up in the first chapter; you get tiny hints and integral pieces well into the book. By the end, I promise you won't be dissapointed. Hopefully you'll be like me and petition our Mr Fforde to put out the sequel before all else!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Amazing

    Most sarcastic deadpan humor i have ever read in a book. Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Slow Plot, But I Didn't Mind

    The book as a whole is very slow; this is due to all the color society related ceremonies and quirks that need to be explained. The plot as a whole isn't ground breaking in any sense, but the setting and the whole idea of only being able to see certain colors in a post disaster world are the main draw.

    Fforde need a novel to establish a firm setting. The world in the novel is complex and some of the work done by Fforde might not be appriciated without some outside reading (I suggest being ready to google some names and ideas to get a sense of how intresting the world is.) In the next two novels I would expect a much faster plot and more action. The stage has been set and I'm waiting egerly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shades of Grey continues Fforde's streak

    Everything by Jasper Fforde is always a delight to read. This is his first novel outside of the Book World universe he created and it is just as intriguing, gripping and intellectually stimulating as the other. There is so much information in every single sentence in Fforde's writing - whether it's plot development, humor or allusions - that you can truly immerse yourself in his writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Breath of Fresh Air

    This was one of the first books I chose to purchase for my nook. I had never heard of either the author nor the book itself, but I have to say that it was a pleasant surprise in a sea of books that mostly share far too much in common.

    Taking the dystopian future that George Orwell and Aldous Huxley focused on in their well-known works, Fforde has written a novel that is intriguing and compelling.

    If I had to explain it to someone in the simplest way possible I would probably say "It's like 1984, but with color." The role that color plays in the story is huge, as it dominates every aspect of the society that the characters live in.

    Our world is the past, theirs is the present. In this future, the vast amount of colors that we take for granted in seeing are obscured. People are segregated and assigned roles in society's castes by their ability to perceive varying colors; some are Greens, some are Reds, etc. Not only that, but within those color designations they are organized by how strongly they can see that color.

    In this setting, the protagonists make their way to a town on the edge of society, both literally and figuratively. Here, they stumble upon a mystery that the townspeople are eager to gloss over, but there is more than what appears on the surface.

    This book is not perfect (I really cringed at some of the romantic sentences), but it is very funny, and has left me in the unfortunate position of having to wait about 4 years for the sequel to come out. The wordplay is clever, including many subtle, and many not-so-subtle puns on color-themed words. I will definitely be checking out other works by Fforde.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Typical Jasper Fforde - wonderful to read, impossible to describe. I always enjoy seeing how he creates his alternate universes in such a believable way. If you are looking for a fun and funny book, this is a great choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!!!

    I really really enjoyed this book. I love anything by Jasper Fforde. He quickly became one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Shades of Grey

    Slow at times, but very entertaining. Highly recommend! Interesting concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    8/8/12

    8/8/12 Definitely NOT a "Tuesday Next" book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Exceptionally delightful

    I read this before I read the Thursday Next series, which I would recommend reading first. Regardless, this is my favorite fun and wittty "new" novel. It made me a fan of speculative fiction and I look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Good Read

    You will not waste your time reading this book. Very funny, silly, and profound all in one read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I love love love this book

    I had to read it through a couple of times to really get the intricacies of the Colortocracy, but I really can't wait until the next one comes out. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    Fforde has created a highly original world inhabited by intriguing characters. Many dystopian novels are sober and solemn, and while that is definitely not a bad thing, this novel addresses the same issues, but in a darkly-comic way. I have never read anything quite like it and I loved every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    horrible ending

    i praise fforde for the creativity on the book, great read but the end was so dissappointing i wouldnt recommend friends to read

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    This book is so full of meaning, while being enjoyable! He does a reader proud and takes a dark, while enjoyable stab at society. Loved it. I found myself reading the first bit very slowly as you have to get your berrings in his fictional world, I am already ready to re-read so that I can catch every little detail. It is one I will keep forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great read!

    I think you should buy the book and read it. I can't wait for part two to come out. It is set up nicely to go in a few different directions, and I'm completely hooked into the ride. The characters are well done and I like how he sucks me up into the colorful world of Chromatacia with laughs and nice parallel and perpendicular ideas to entertain the mind. Write, type or dictate our second edition Mr Fforde and don't be late as you must do your part to better the Collective!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Original and Stimulating for a Satisfying Read

    I just finished reading this book yesterday and I can't wait for the next book in the series to be published.

    The characters are very interesting and represent the many sides of man. The plot is a cross between science fiction, fantasy and allegory. I can't wait to find out what the Emerald City represents in this new series.

    The story discusses a past before the current color caste sytem was established. A past which includes books and persons that we are very familiar with but the characters can only guess at.

    In this world a person's place and job in society is determined by the colors they are able to see. Color rules the world and determines who can marry whom, if you've been a good and compliant member of the collective. Original thinking is to be avoided while compliance and doing good for the community are rewarded. Those that cannot comform or ask too many questions lose merits. If they lose too many merits they are sent to be Rebooted.

    I found this book very enjoyable and couldn't put it down! I found it refreshing that I couldn't predict the many plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    Great book with innovative plot

    I particularly recommend this book to those who enjoy quirky characters and find humor in life's details. On the surface more of a "quick read" than an "intellectual read", the twists of this dystopian society nevertheless left me contemplating the book for days afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Another Great Jasper Fforde Book

    If you are already a fan of Mr Fforde, you will enjoy this book. While it is a departure from his other work, he maintains his writing style as he brings us into a new world of his creation.

    It is hard to describe what type of book this is. There is a mystery that has to be solved, but there are times you forget about that and just enjoy learning about the characters, their lives and how this world works.

    I can imagine that Mr Fforde has an encyclopedia that references how this world works. I would like to see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    So glad I've found Jasper Fforde!

    I loved this book! It was funny, intriguing, and it puts you into a new world. Perfect reading when you want to get away or just whenever. This was the first book I've read of Jasper Fforde and I plan to read the Thursday Next series and the Nursery Crimes. I'm so excited there will be two more in the Shadows of Grey series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8