Customer Reviews for

Shades of Mercy

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful story with a message for today... Shades of Mercy   

    A powerful story with a message for today...
    Shades of Mercy   
    By Anita Lustrea
       and Caryn Rivadeneira   

    Shades of Mercy is a story that looks at the fears and prejudices that have been (and still are) prevalent in our country.  Set in the Northwoods of Maine in 1954, the Maliseet people are the focus of this distrust.  

    It is this world that Mercy Millar is looking back on.  A world in which she loves a man whom she shouldn't. But Mercy plans to someday leave this world behind and to acknowledge the love she and Mick have for one another.

    But when racial tensions escalate and Mick is accused of a crime Mercy knows he is incapable of committing, prayer seems to be her only hope.  But when the area faces a natural disaster an act of mercy and compassion may bring about the changes Mercy has been hoping for.

    Shades of Mercy looks back on a period of unrest and change in our country and the power of love when it extends to all of our neighbors not just those who look like us.

    I was provided a copy of this book through BookFun/TBCN in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Maine Chronicle Mercy is blessed to live on a farm with her p

    A Maine Chronicle

    Mercy is blessed to live on a farm with her parents. The land is fertile for the many vegetables growing on this farm. Mercy's family welcome the Maliseets in fact Mercy has secretly loved a Maliseet boy since childhood. They hire the Maliseets of Maine's Northwoods. The Maliseets are living in shanties on a garbage dump and suffer from the racial tensions that are out of control among many of the locals. Things come to a head when a natural disaster occurs. God has a plan and it takes this disaster to get his plan into motion.

    This story brought out that there are many faces in racism and how past hurts and grievances can grow into evil actions and attitudes. The authors write about how God uses his children to defend his children of oppression. Will racism always be with us? If we have ignorant people I guess it will continue. The characters of Mercy and her parents were amazing in that they were vital instruments in God's plan to help the Maliseet. 

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Moody Publishers/River North for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    This book has been described as a sweet coming-of-age story and

    This book has been described as a sweet coming-of-age story and I would wholeheartedly agree with that. The two main characters, Mercy and Mick, are young teenagers and they are in love. The problem is that society frowns upon the relationship. 




    The timeframe is the mid 50s during the era of Brown vs The Board of Education. While things are changing in other parts of the country, the deep seeded prejudice that grips the small town of Watsonville, Maine is alive and well. Mercy is the daughter of a well respected area farmer but Mick is from the disparaged Maliseet tribe. In the eyes of most in the town the two classes do not mix.




    In a very gentle way the story of the area's history is revealed. We are allowed to see how a tiny seed of bitterness and resentment can blossom into a tree full of anger and revenge. Shades of Mercy shows the best and the worst of how we as humans treat each other. We get to cheer when a group of people begin to rally to change what is wrong even when it seems impossible.




    I was completely enraptured with the characters and the scenarios that were presented in the novel. Anita and Caryn really captured the dynamics of a small town. I don't know that there will be a sequel, but I sure hope so. The story does come to a conclusion, but there are still areas that I would love to see resolved. I want to know more about these fabulous characters that have taken up residence in my heart.




    I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    This is a tale of Mercy who lived during 1954 and who is in a se

    This is a tale of Mercy who lived during 1954 and who is in a secret relationship with her Maliseet beau Mick. She lives with her parents on a farm, and her father hires the Maliseet to help him work it. The Maliseet are living below poverty level as they make their homes at the local garbage dump. Mick tries to rise above all that and dreams of a life of college and a marriage with Mercy. All of this comes to a crashing halt as one Maliseet dares to run away with the love of his life, a prominent shop keeper's daughter. Now the whole town is on edge, past secrets come to the surface, and allegations are made which can destroy Mick and Mercy's future happiness. This story is told from Mercy's perspective and we follow along with her as she holds on to true love, learns some valuable lessons, and sees the strength of her father and mother's faith as well. I looked forward to reading more of Mick and Mercy's story in the next book. I received this book from The Book Club Network, Inc. for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Shades of Mercy is a great story. Although it¿s never easy to re

    Shades of Mercy is a great story. Although it’s never easy to read about prejudice, the story was done in such a way as to bring light to the subject and truth to the problem. I really enjoyed this book and found it to be a page turner. The characters are not only realistic, they demonstrate admirable Christian behavior throughout the book. The issues in the story revealed a part of history that I had not known about previously.
    It is easy to feel sorry for the “less than people” while sitting in a warm house with a full belly. The town of Watsonville has tucked away the Maliseet Indians in the town dump and called it normal. But when their love is forbidden, Marjorie, a white girl from Watsonville and Glenn, a Maliseet Indian, run away to New York to begin their new life together. This causes not only anger in their families, but dissension in the whole town. Divided about what relationships are appropriate, the racial tensions in the town that remained hidden for too long, begin to surface. The long standing friendship and budding relationship between Mercy and Mick is tested and tried. They are forced to reckon with whether their love is strong enough to cross and survive racial and socio economic barriers. Mercy is witness to her parent’s incredible faith and love walk as they support Mick when he’s accused of a crime he did not commit. God’s mercy is demonstrated both in tragedy and in truth.
    I received this book from the Book Club Network and River North publishers in exchange for my honest opinion. Shades of Mercy is an excellent read and I highly recommend it. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    This is an incredibly well written novel. I received a free cop

    This is an incredibly well written novel.

    I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Mercy Millar works hard to help her father on his potato farm in Watsonville, Maine. She also dreams of someday having him see her as the young woman she is, not as the son he never had. She also dreams of someday being able to move her relationship with her boyfriend Mick out from the shadows. The barrier to their being open about their attraction to each other is that Mick is a Maliseet Indian. There is a huge amount of racial tension between the white people of Watsonville and the Maliseet tribe of Maine’s Northwoods during the summer of 1954. Then suddenly disaster strikes, even though it looks surprisingly like the grace of God.

    I was caught up in this book from the very beginning. I wanted to see how Mercy and Mick would be able to navigate the rocky road of racial strife. I had heard much of the way African Americans had been treated. But I had never really heard about the harsh treatment of Native Americans other than through school history books. This book is an eye opening look at the living conditions that many of them were forced to live in, even as recently as the middle of the 20th century. My heart ached for them as I rooted for them to rise above the conditions and the way they were treated.

    This story is so well crafted and the descriptions are so clear that I can totally see the picture painted by the authors. I would love to see this made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Shades of Mercy is a great story of a fifteen year old white gir

    Shades of Mercy is a great story of a fifteen year old white girl growing up in the 1950's. This takes place in Maine where she grows up and falls in love with a Native American Indian. This meets with opposition due to the hatred and racism against the Indians. The book describes in detail the living conditions, and farming done at that time. The research done for the book was great. The book was flowing, and showed love and faith in self, family and God throughout. Forgiveness and mercy was shown as needed. Overall I enjoyed the book tremendously. I have added two more authors to my ever growing list of one's to follow.I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    Shades of Mercy By: Anita Lustrea and Caryn Dahlstrand This bo

    Shades of Mercy
    By: Anita Lustrea and Caryn Dahlstrand

    This book will pull you in from the beginning. The story takes place in Main around 1954. Mercy was bought up to be a hard worker by her father. Mercy was the son he never had. Mercy worked the potato fields right along with the Maliseet Indians that worked for her father. Mercy is a young girl coming of age and has fallen in love with Mick Maliseet Indian. Which in this day and time not really looked on very highly, People I believe were more prejudice back then. Where is God’s mercy. God is not of color. Through all the town prejudice’s can they be a couple? Will their love be able to come out and live as a happy couple? This is a wonderful book. Hope there will be another one right behind it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am so glad I read this book. Mercy is a naive fifteen year old

    I am so glad I read this book. Mercy is a naive fifteen year old girl who you can't help but love. She is smart, passionate, tough, and caring all rolled into one. Mick is tough, determined, and has been through more than any 15 year old boy should have to go through in his short life. It makes him seem kind of jaded, except when he's with Mercy. Their love has to remain hidden because Mercy is white and Mick is a Maliseet Indian. I loved all the characters in this book. Mercy, Mick, Mother, Mr. Pop (so cute!), and all of the workers and secondary characters. They were very well written and developed.
    The year is 1954. Race issues are just beginning to surface and fester with the passing of Brown vs. Board of Education. Mick and Mercy are just two teenagers, in love, trying to find their place in their dramatically changing world. This is a sweet story, with dark, hard issues. I love how this book was written! Most books focus on the negative of the circumstances surrounding racial relationships. This book, in my opinion, took a different approach. It gave me hope that one day, everything would work out for Mick and Mercy. When dealing with hate, disillusionment, and other deep seeded issues, books can tend to take on a very dark tone. These authors did a great job of finding the light in the dark.
    Overall, I thought this was a quick, easy read. I understood the title about halfway into the story. As the book states: "That's where the grace--where all those shades of mercy show up in life," when you realize your mistakes, ask for forgiveness and try to live like Jesus wants as much as possible. I would recommend this to everyone!

    **I received this complimentary copy of Shades of Mercy from River North Fiction from Moody Publishers. I was not required to provide a review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This was a wonderful and tender story. It ended the way it should . With hope and deep enduring love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    A Poignant Story It is 1954 in a rural farm community in Northe

    A Poignant Story

    It is 1954 in a rural farm community in Northern Maine. Mercy's family owns a large potato farm where Mercy does the work of a teenaged boy. Her father, "Mr. Pop" teases her that she is the son he never had. He hires local Maliseet Indians to help work the farm. Mick is a Maliseet who has been a friend to Mercy since they were toddlers playing in the fields and building forts. As teenagers their friendship grows into an attraction that is forbidden. Racial tensions were heating up in the southern states while discord between Indian tribes and those who had overtaken their land were troubling other areas of the country, Maine being no exception. The Maniseet had been forced out of their homes to live in shacks on top of the area dump, and the situation is becoming volatile in Mercy's community. 




    Shades of Mercy is a story of troubled times and strained relationships. The descrimination presented in this story is realistic and historically accurate. Hard and honest work ethics are reminiscent of farm families of that time frame. Characters presented are authentic, colorful and convincing, as are the issues detailed in this account. Mercy's father represents a pillar of strength and compassion to his family and community through difficult times and distressing events. His strength of character and unwavering faith in God are exemplary and strong currents that are woven throughout this story. The elements of hope, grace, mercy and compassion run strong throughout the events characterized in this book.




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1