BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shades of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(324)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    he seventh Midnight Breed tale is a compelling action-packed thriller

    In frozen Alaska, nineteen year old Teddy Toms returns to his family compound only to find everyone dead. A gigantic humanoid creature appears and kills him too.--------------

    Bush pilot Alexandra Maguire lands at the Toms compound to deliver supplies only to be greeted eerily by corpses with bite marks on them. She has seen these bite marks before when her mother and younger brother were murdered. Alex and her father tried to move on and get passes what the monsters did to her family by leaving Florida for Alaska. The pilot notices a gigantic footprint in the nearby snow, but says nothing to the authorities.-----------------

    After seeing a clip of the carnage, the Order sends warrior vampire Breed Kade to investigate what appears to be a rogue in bloodlust. He has lived his entire life on his family's Darkhaven estate to take care of his brother who has an uncontrolled violent streak. Kade thinks the predator is his brother Seth who has killed humans before, but he soon realizes that this massacre is the work of the Ancient other worlder who escaped captivity. Alex and Kade meet with each incredibly attracted to the other. She realizes as she falls in love there are good and evil Breed and her beloved must be the former as he risks his life for her. She leads him to a defunct mine where the evil Breed reside led by the malevolent grandson of the Ancient: Dragos.-----------

    The seventh Midnight Breed tale is a compelling action-packed thriller from the onset with the slaughter at the Toms compound. Both protagonists have demons to overcome as Kade fears he will turn out like Seth did and Alex fears loving a monster like the vampire in her nightmarish past. Lara Adrian provides her fans with a strong tundra romantic fantasy as the human and the vampire find love and death in the frozen wasteland.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    I have to say that I was a little aprehensive with her writing about Kade, I really wanted a story on Chase-the man needs to get some-but Kade's story is great and leaves me wanting her next book now-I can't wait to see what she does with Brock and then where she takes us after that. It is a wonderful story an easy read, and goes so well with the rest of the books! Can't wait until her next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner!

    Lara Adrian has become one of my favorite authurs and her writing is great!...and this book did not disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lara Adrian writes another winner!

    The latest Midnight Series book is a good read with suspense, amazing characters, strong plot with twists and passion. Her Breed hero in this book is Kade from the Alaskan wilderness and his heroine and lover is Alex, a bush pilot in the harsh Alaskan bush.

    The other characters return such as Tegan, Hunter, Brock and the Ancient creature which is loose and causing all sorts of havoc.
    Numerous plot twists and strong characters developed against the natural beauty of the Alaskan wilderness have made this latest installment my favorite.

    I waited many months for this latest book and hate thinking of another year's wait for book #8. I strongly recommend the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian to anyone that enjoys romance with suspense, paranormal or vampires, strong male leads, independent and smart heroines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shade of Midnight IS A MUST READ!

    Oh my goodness.....I love this series and this book just topped it all! Lara's writing just keeps getting better and better. I was a little concerned about Kade since we didn't know much about him in the other books, but was not disappointed at all!
    Kade goes to Alaska to find out if a series of killings is due to Rouges. He meets Alex and it is love at first site. Alex just so happens to have the birthmark of the Breedmate. Their love story is very touching, and the story continues with the Ancient and Dragos. We learn that Kade has a twin brother Seth, and their story is touching and tragic.
    Alex see's Kade through his darkest hours and the ending is amazing!
    I love that Lucan, Tegan, Chase & Brock are also in this book. I love how they are not forgotten in this series and we always get a glimpse of their lives and their mates! Now to me that is great writing!
    I can not wait for the next book! I hate to hear that it won't be till Fall 2010 that seems to far away!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Loving this series!!!

    I really enjoyed the 7th book in this series. It's getting better and better. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    Lara Adrian out did herself once again. The ending in this book totally takes you by surprise. What a twist. Can't wait to see what happens to Brock and Jenna.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HOT

    I have read the Breed series a few months back, loved the books although at times previous books lagged, BUT SHADES OF MIDNIGHT kept me on my toes from the first page and keeps me craving for more since the last page. Characters are well thought out and story keeps you on your toes. I cant wait till the next book comes out:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Love the Breed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shades of Midnight

    Midnight Breed book 7: Although the book did start out extremely slow, the farther and farther I got into it the more and more harder it got to put it down. It also reminded me a lot of my boyfriend and me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great story in the Midnight Breed Series. This is one of

    Another great story in the Midnight Breed Series. This is one of my favorite series. I personally like it better than JR Ward's BDB, although I can see the similarities. It's a very cool concept - alien vampires. The love story for Kade and Alex is as intense and hot as the previous romances, and the setting is beautifully described. I also liked the insights into the Ancient's mind. For the first time I felt sympathy for the Ancient and I can't wait to read more about him. I'm looking forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Love it

    I love everything she write :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    What a fun series!

    Love these books! Love the way each book continues from the previous one! Keeps things interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Loved!!!

    I love Kade :) Almost more than Tegan... ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Wonderful

    Finally, a warrior with a family storyline. It was great to have a family situation intertwined instead of the lonely warrior with his baggage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books in the series!

    All the emotions are felt in this book. And, a good romance story, such as this one, takes you on an exciting ride through them all. This book delivers a heart-felt story of two emotionally troubled people who have a difficult time leaving their troubled past behind. Kade is a Breed male, who we are not very familiar with until this story is told. And, WOW, he's found to be quite a guy! Then there's Alex, who's found to be a Breedmate with enough attitude in her to make her one of the best heroines then in any of the previously written books. The two find each other and the rest makes an awesome love story your sure to enjoy. And, lets just say the action keeps you turning the pages, too. You will not be disappointed with this story at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Another Hit!

    I've read all of her books and each one is awesome and they just keep getting better. This one was so good I was surprised and sorry when it ended as I was totally caught up in the story and wanted to keep reading and when I hit the final page I sighed and thought I'm going to die of frustration until the next book gets released. I'm eagerly awaiting the next book to see what the Breed Gen 1 has to say and what is in store for us. You can never go wrong with one of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Procrastinated to read.

    I will be honest.....
    After book 6 I was really kinda left not too excited for #7. However, I finally picked up a copy and read it. I cannot say enough good things to tell you what a wonderful shock I experienced when I began to read. Kade was intriguing. I could not get enough. The chemistry and just overall the story pulled me back into this series. I am now desperately awaiting Brock's book. I enjoyed how this book hooked you from the start and left you never wanting to unhook yourself. I was only upset that reality came to soon when I blazed through the pages and had no more to read. If you are wanting a fantastic escapism where the words ignite and scorch the pages this is a definite "pick me up" book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series!

    I am so in love with this series and am nearly finished with this book. I do miss the crew back in Boston but this is a great read none the less. The only problem is that I will have to wait until the next book is published! To fill my time, I'm going to start reading J.R. Ward's series as it seems to get similar review. Love Lara Adrian though! Please keep those books coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love this series!!!!!!

    who would have thought alien vamps would be so hot!! this series takes vampires to the next level. there is lots of action, drama, and sexy vampires. i love the chemistry thats in this series between the Breed and there women. LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!! CANT WAIT FOR MORE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17