Customer Reviews for

Shadow

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A touching book based on a true story

    Shadow is a touching book based on a true story. I think all ages from 7 and up will like it! There is a boy called Aman who lives in a cave in Afghanistan with his mum and something horrible happens to his grandma! One day a springer spaniel comes to his cave and Aman relizes that he is more than just a dog, like a friendly shadow.My favorite part of the book was when Aman was telling his story to Matt's grandpa Mir. It was so sad and touching.I recommend this book to anyone who is fond of animals and this book is suitable for girls and boys.
    I loved this book and I'm sure you will as well!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow Book Review

    This book is all about a boy named Aman and the story of his life. He was living in a cave in Afghanistan until something really bad happened to his grandma. Then a dog that they later will call Shadow came and led him and his mother to a very nice a man called Sergeant Brodie. He takes Aman to the English army base to take care of his heel blister. Aman and his mother keep on traveling to England and uncle Mir. He is waiting for Aman and his mother. The story is also about Mat and his grandpa and how they are helping Aman.
    I really enjoyed this book because it was based on a true story. In bits I didn't want to carry on reading because what was happening made me feel so sad and angry. I recommend this book to all the people that like books by Michel Morpugo. Now Shadow is one of the best books i have read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow

    This book is about a boy called Matt who has a best friend called Aman who lived in Afghanistan with his mum, grandma and dad. Many sad accidents happened to him and his family. Then Aman went to England to see his uncle and live with him. That is when he meets Matt and he goes to school with him.Then he has to stay in a jail type of place before he goes back to Afghanistan and the adventure begins.

    My favourite character in this book was the dog (Pollie) because she is very clever and she can sniff out bombs and always knows where to go. Shadow is a good dog because whenever people chase her off she always comes back.


    I enjoyed this book because there were lots of adventures. Also I like stories about dogs. I also enjoyed reading about what happens in Afghanistan and the army finding all the bombs and defusing them.

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventures, army and dogs because there are many army men and camps and also a few dogs and adventures all around Afghanistan.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very touching story

    Shadow is a touching and exciting story. Its about a boy called Aman who lives in Afghanistan, when lots of Taliban come they take his father and kill him. So Aman with his Grandma and his mum barely have any food and everyday, Aman has to walk down the mountain and goes to the well to get water for them for the day. One day when Aman's grandma and mum are asleep a little wounded Cocker Spaniel comes in the cave and sits next to Aman. So he healed her wounds and washed them. So for a long time day after day the dog comes when the rest are asleep and sits on Aman's lap so he decides to call her Shadow like a shadow that follows you.

    If you want to find out more you should go and read this spectacular book which will make you want to read more books by this author. My favourite character in this book was Aman because he went through so much like how he went in the lorry and playing with Ahmed and all these other things. I really like this book because it was really interesting to read and a bit happy and sad so it is a big change of events in few of the parts.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes dogs and a very exciting story that is fun for all the ages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow is a surprising, exciting and sad book and when you read it you will definitely enjoy it thoroughly.

    In this interesting story, a young boy named Aman, who is struggling to stay in England, will do anything it takes to help not get deported back to Afghanistan. So his best friend Matt and his grandfather have their reputation put at stake.
    The most exciting and best part of this book is the mass protest to help Aman and his mother stay and live their lives like any other human being.
    If you've ever read a Michael Morpurgo book you are sure to love this thrilling and emotional story.
    Shadow is guaranteed to entertain.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very sad and touching story...

    The book Shadow is a very sad and touching story. It is about a boy named Aman from Afghanistan. But there are many bad people that want to hurt him. So he and his mother decide to move to England to live with his uncle Mir, where it is safe. Unfortunately there are still some bad people in England that want to send him back.
    My favorite part is the ending. I don't want to to spoil it, but I can say when I read it I was so sad in a happy way. I felt like crying because it was so sweet what his friend Matt did for him.

    I recommend this book to older kids (8-up) boy or girl. I think even adults would enjoy reading it. I think if you are a nice, caring person that wants to learn more about poor people in other countries, Shadow is the perfect book for you. Even if you just want to read a nice book about poor kids or just a book that will make you smile. Read Shadow.

    By Madison, CISGrade5

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    "Shadow" is one of my favorite reads of the entire yea

    "Shadow" is one of my favorite reads of the entire year!

    A young Afghan boy tells the harrowing tale of his and his mother's escape from their war-torn home country. The Taliban are relentless in their attacks across Afghanistan, leaving many citizens fleeing to live in caves for shelter. Even there, they are not safe. The one and only bright light in Aman's life is a foreign dog that becomes attached to the boy, and he to it.

    However, the entire book is not Aman's alone. The author deftly weaves 3 different characters' points-of-view together, so that the reader can take in the bigger picture. Matt, a British boy tells his own part of the story too, of his friendship with Aman in the schoolyard. Also, Matt's grandfather reveals his portion to the reader, giving you the full overview.

    Aman, imprisoned in a detention center, along with his mother, desires to become free in England. But no one will listen to his story. Except for one person.

    The reactions and emotions are what create this book. The poignancy and feeling the tale is suffused with will not soon be forgotten.

    I don't think there is enough of this type of literature available for young readers. (Even though the book is written at a middle-grade reading level, adults will easily be drawn into the unique story).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Broken

    Alright. Brotle it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Thistle

    Um.....brotle?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Shadow is a suspenseful, adventure filled book. I would recommen

    Shadow is a suspenseful, adventure filled book. I would recommend it to people who like action and suspense, and also love and caring. I liked this book because it takes you on an adventure and shows you how the people in Afghanistan were being treated during war. I also liked it because it shows a connection and bond that cannot be broken, nor forgotten, even over a 7 year span.
    Shadow is a book about a Bamiyan boy who just wants to live in England with is mother and Uncle Mir. Aman, the little boy, and his mother escape Bamiya in hopes of being free, but one they actually do make it to England and live there for 6 years, they have to leave for an unknown reason. Now Aman and his mother are relying on a classmate, Matt and his grandfather to free them from the detention center. They are also relying on them to keep them from going back to Afghanistan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    This is one of my favorite books. It is a very depressing sad bo

    This is one of my favorite books. It is a very depressing sad book. Author of War Horse, and bestselling storyteller Michael Morpurgo touched our hearts with this beautiful story of a boy, his lost dog, and the lengths he would go to be reunited. This timely story of battle-scarred Afghanistan delivers a masterful portrait of war, love, and friendship. With the horrors of war bearing down on them, Aman and his mother are barely surviving in an Afghan cave, and staying there any longer will end horribly. The only comfort Aman has is Shadow, the loyal spaniel that shows up from places unknown, it seems, just when Aman needs him most. Aman, his mother, and Shadow finally leave the destroyed cave in hopes of escaping to England, but are held at a checkpoint, and Shadow runs away after being shot at by the police. Aman and his mother escape—without Shadow. Aman is heart-broken. Just as they are getting settled as free citizens in England, they are imprisoned in a camp with locked doors and a barbed wire fence. Their only hope is Aman's classmate Matt, his grandpa, and the dream of finding his lost dog. After all, you never lose your shadow. This was a really good book, because it is like a roller coaster of tears, this is a very emotional book and with them in hiding makes things worse. Aman can’t even mingle with his friends because of the war. In conclusion, this was a tremendous book to me because all the dramatic events that happens in this story. This is one of my favorite books. It is a very depressing sad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Shadow

    I think Shadow is an inspiring story about how people can turn things around. I really enjoyed this book because It showed me that things is that situation could happen. I will buy more books by Michael Morpurgo, now that I have read this book.
    I happily give this book a 5-star rating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Flamepelt to leader URGENT

    A muscular firet orange tom with purple eyes pads in. I will mae a deal with ur clan we have two warriors with powers including me and many other warriors we r sunclan our leader sunstar we will aid your clan in anything but u must also help us i few things. Pls come to ipod touch result one and say u need to maake a pact come and ill explain to them we shall hopefull meet.

    - Flampelt lead warrior of sunclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Nova

    Rong clan very sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Headlessrider to appleleaf

    "Ah dear child it is not wise to make enemies so quickly" i spat, and then padded away stopping at the tree line "maybe you should think about your loved ones safety first" and then completely dissapeared into the trees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Cat

    The cat jumped down from a tree. "No..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Omnifoot

    I just died in dark meadows (game) the witch killed me. But its a good thing i never really die. They kill me rip me apart but then i just end right back in bed. I think the witch is just trying to protect me by keeping me from the boss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    All people from shadow clan read this

    You guys hav convos on its not a phone but you guys do watever i read the whole thing and yea but its awkward

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Freckletail

    Ocean blaze, i guess we have something in common.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Kit

    The kit stumbles in amd collapses
    Kit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3