Customer Reviews for

Shadow Bound

Average Rating 3.5
( 1521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(421)

4 Star

(470)

3 Star

(352)

2 Star

(145)

1 Star

(133)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Great New Fantasy/Paranormal Romance Author

Looking for a great dark fantasy read this summer?

Ever heard of author Erin Kellison? Neither had I, until I clicked on a banner ad and ended up with a copy of her book Shadow Bound on my doorstep...

Shadow Bound is one of those unexpected great reads that you wo...
Looking for a great dark fantasy read this summer?

Ever heard of author Erin Kellison? Neither had I, until I clicked on a banner ad and ended up with a copy of her book Shadow Bound on my doorstep...

Shadow Bound is one of those unexpected great reads that you would never see coming. Look at the cover - does that look like the cover of a great book? Unfortunately not... it's a very nice image, but I don't think it accurately conveys the theme and intensity of the story. It looks more like... something for a YA Romance. Which this is definitely not.

Here's the Publisher's Weekly synopsis:

Kellison's debut, a blend of suspense and paranormal romance, follows Adam Thorne as he attempts to unravel the mystery of the wraiths, possessed humans who feed on human souls. Desperate to free his brother from possession, Adam follows a flimsy lead to half-Fae Talia O'Brien, a young woman with a newly minted doctorate, a mysterious past, and magical abilities that stop wraiths in their tracks.

As the wraiths pursue Talia, determined to destroy her in retribution for her father daring to love and impregnate a human woman, Adam tries to protect her and understand her powers, and finds himself falling in love. Fast-paced without being frenetic, interesting and entertaining if not particularly challenging, this tale deftly avoids romance cliches while delivering plenty of action.

Sounds pretty good, doesn't it?

And it is! It delivers on all counts. The characters are interesting and multi-dimensional (though it takes awhile to get much from Talia, but I think that's simply due to the personality of the character), and the plot is fast-paced and action-driven.

I also loved the concept of the wraiths, which seemed like a combination of Dementors from Harry Potter and the wraith from Stargate: Atlantis - very creepy, and truly evil. In a way, it's very refreshing to see truly evil villains, because as great as it is to have villains with pathos, I think recent paranormal/fantasy has got away from that Truly Bad Villain that readers simply want to see destroyed at all costs.

A word of warning to the sensitive, however - there are two sex scenes in this book, but if you're not comfortable reading these, it's very easy to flip the page and get on with the story. Just something I thought worth noting, as I don't want to scare anyone off the book for the sake of missing such a great story.

I should also mention that Kellison is on Twitter, and seems to love interacting with her readers! If you read the book and enjoy it, pop over there and send her a note.

And one final thing... when you get to the end and think "Oh noooes, a cliffhanger?!?", never fear! Book two, Shadow Fall, releases this month - some places are even putting it out early, so keep your eyes open.

posted by dk_phoenix on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Uninspired

From the beginning its obvious the author is too eager to impress her worth as a new author, this proves to be a weakness that takes poorly crafted characters to an even lower point by the middle of the book.
The cover is poor to say the least leaving it lost among...
From the beginning its obvious the author is too eager to impress her worth as a new author, this proves to be a weakness that takes poorly crafted characters to an even lower point by the middle of the book.
The cover is poor to say the least leaving it lost among the more skilled publishers who know what romance fans gravitate toward. I cant give it more than one star and will not recommend it to my reading group.

posted by aussieruby on July 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 77
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great New Fantasy/Paranormal Romance Author

    Looking for a great dark fantasy read this summer?

    Ever heard of author Erin Kellison? Neither had I, until I clicked on a banner ad and ended up with a copy of her book Shadow Bound on my doorstep...

    Shadow Bound is one of those unexpected great reads that you would never see coming. Look at the cover - does that look like the cover of a great book? Unfortunately not... it's a very nice image, but I don't think it accurately conveys the theme and intensity of the story. It looks more like... something for a YA Romance. Which this is definitely not.

    Here's the Publisher's Weekly synopsis:

    Kellison's debut, a blend of suspense and paranormal romance, follows Adam Thorne as he attempts to unravel the mystery of the wraiths, possessed humans who feed on human souls. Desperate to free his brother from possession, Adam follows a flimsy lead to half-Fae Talia O'Brien, a young woman with a newly minted doctorate, a mysterious past, and magical abilities that stop wraiths in their tracks.

    As the wraiths pursue Talia, determined to destroy her in retribution for her father daring to love and impregnate a human woman, Adam tries to protect her and understand her powers, and finds himself falling in love. Fast-paced without being frenetic, interesting and entertaining if not particularly challenging, this tale deftly avoids romance cliches while delivering plenty of action.

    Sounds pretty good, doesn't it?

    And it is! It delivers on all counts. The characters are interesting and multi-dimensional (though it takes awhile to get much from Talia, but I think that's simply due to the personality of the character), and the plot is fast-paced and action-driven.

    I also loved the concept of the wraiths, which seemed like a combination of Dementors from Harry Potter and the wraith from Stargate: Atlantis - very creepy, and truly evil. In a way, it's very refreshing to see truly evil villains, because as great as it is to have villains with pathos, I think recent paranormal/fantasy has got away from that Truly Bad Villain that readers simply want to see destroyed at all costs.

    A word of warning to the sensitive, however - there are two sex scenes in this book, but if you're not comfortable reading these, it's very easy to flip the page and get on with the story. Just something I thought worth noting, as I don't want to scare anyone off the book for the sake of missing such a great story.

    I should also mention that Kellison is on Twitter, and seems to love interacting with her readers! If you read the book and enjoy it, pop over there and send her a note.

    And one final thing... when you get to the end and think "Oh noooes, a cliffhanger?!?", never fear! Book two, Shadow Fall, releases this month - some places are even putting it out early, so keep your eyes open.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Such a great book. Loved it. Awesome read

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense and dark romance

    Shadow Bound is based on a very different point of view towards the world of the Fae and their existence. This story starts out strong and dark with a primary character known as Shadowman. Shadowman is also known to some as Death or the Grim Reaper. He lives in the Shadows, the world between ours and heaven. The atmosphere is immediately seductive and darkly intense, thus setting the pace for Shadow Bound.

    The romance between Talia and Adam was palpable to me, with each having their own personal demons to deal with before they can decide on each other. Talia is the type of heroine you can grow with through the story and Adam was such a strong and stead-fast hero that you can't help but fall for him.

    If your looking for something different in the world of Fae with a healthy dose of suspense peppered with villains that are truly treacherous and deadly and a romance that will fill you with hope, I highly recommend Shadow Bound. I can't wait to dive into Shadow Fall this coming weekend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpectedly good read

    I was intrigued by this book in stores, and almost bought it there, but felt a bit turned off by the cover: the romance font and blank stare of a ditzy teen had me concerned. Grabbed it when it went to free ebook, though, and I'm VERY glad I did: although there are some elements of paranormal romance, this is really more of a modern fantasy horror.

    The writing style is excellent (particularly the prologue, which was more like poetry than prose) and the plot was well constructed, fairly logical, and usually pretty well paced: it didn't rush through action nor feel a constant desperation to get back to it. Kellison also resisted the genre's pervasive need to implant every type of fantasy creature in a mishmash of overkill. Not everyone is delighted with unnaturalness, and some of the heroes die.

    Only complaints: although the adventure is very good, the plot twists were few and generally predictable; and the second quarter of the book, which exists solely to develop the main relationship for the later novel, needs some paring. These are just marks of a rookie author, though, and I really look forward to the rest of the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Uninspired

    From the beginning its obvious the author is too eager to impress her worth as a new author, this proves to be a weakness that takes poorly crafted characters to an even lower point by the middle of the book.
    The cover is poor to say the least leaving it lost among the more skilled publishers who know what romance fans gravitate toward. I cant give it more than one star and will not recommend it to my reading group.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    heeellllo shadow man!

    the first 2 pages had me hooked, never have i read this twist they put on death himself. This book starts off from the beginning and just keep going, if you like high pace and exciting plots then this is for you. Its definitely a page turner, although I feel the ending was a bit rushed, but it left you wanting more. I hope there is another book that takes off where this one ends. Its definitely worth the free download to your nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Not So Impressed

    The plot and originality easily earn 5 stars. Everything else gets 2. Other readers seem to be gushing about the writing style, characters and world-building but I can't because none of those were more than mediocre. Situations and dialogue were barely plausible, even for fiction. I lost count of my own eye rolls. Secondary and peripheral characters were more interesting than the leads. Conflicts and problems were solved too quickly, easily, magically and conveniently. Also, the person responsible for that cover should be fired. It was too easy for me to put the book down to do other things. I didn't hate the book; it just didn't meet my expectations.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating urban romantic fantasy

    In Appalachia, West Virginia, Adam Thorne is an obsessive dreamer wanting his Segue Institute to succeed. He has put up his vast inheritance to fund the foundation and backed that with time. His personal goal is to kill his brother Jacob a former CEO turned wraith; who he has incarcerated for six years with little success; while the institutes' mission is to study vampiric wraiths.

    Adam believes he has found the solution in Talia O'Brien who suffered a near death experience. She has the uncanny paranormal ability to cloak herself in the darkness so that neither humans nor wraiths can detect her. However, she must learn to use her ability, but loathes applying it as she detests being different. Adam mentors Talia but conceals from her is motive with a caring nurturing veneer.

    This is a fascinating urban romantic fantasy starring an obsessed lead male and the woman he plans to use as a tool to achieve his immediate objective of fratricide though he knows his sibling is no longer human. The story line is fast-paced, but the criticality that makes it fun to read is that wraiths and an enigmatic Shadowman seen genuine. Fans will relish this entertaining tale as Adam begins to fall in love with his latest weapon to kill his wraith sibling.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bound to read the rest

    I have to admit, I wasn't quite sure whether I liked Kellison's main characters. It took most of the book before I could decide I did. At times it felt like the book couldn't decide which it wanted to be--romance or fantasy. However, Kellison does manage to blend the two together nicely toward the end and her follow up, Shadow Fall, reads much smoother.

    With a cast of characters struggling for survival--let alone love--I can't wait to see who meets their match next or what happens to the mysterious "Shadowman" who set all these terrible events in motion unwittingly just for love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Good story

    I thought that being a free book it was great.lots of action and some romance.Well worth the read, very interesting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    Shadow Bound

    I had a little trouble getting into this book but a few chapters in and I was totally hooked and couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    Interesting concept. Slow start. Romance fizzles out.

    I would say overall, this book was okay. It took me a while to get interested into and I felt like I really had to push myself through the first three chapters. I liked the concept the author was exploring but I spent most of the time wondering "What is going on?" It feels like it took forever for my questions be answered. The author is technically a much better writer than Charlaine Harris or Stephanie Meyer, hands down, but unfortunately, she isn't as great at communicating her story. I hope that makes sense. I thought to myself several times "Wow, I really like that analogy" or "Good use of words here" but at the same time "What is in the world is going" or "What is she talking about?" She tends to be very vague. As for the romance, I could feel the passion at first but it sort of fizzled out unfortunately. I also felt like the main character's personality kept changing and the author couldn't decide what kind of attitude she was going to have.

    Overall, it was just "eh." Not bad but not great either. I don't think I'll pick up the sequel unfortunately, as much as I really wanted to like this. It was good for a free book though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Love this story!

    Free book and new author - what to expect? I loved this book from the start. As a reader of sf/fantasy and paranormal romance, I am pleased to find a new author with fresh ideas and a compelling voice. I was engaged from the start and loath for the book to end. I eagerly await more from these characters and from Erin Kellison.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Interesting Read

    A very interesting and original concept with fun characters--worth the free read. I likely would have given it four stars if not for the rather liberal use of the "F" word and the three explicit sex scenes I had to skip over (just not my thing). If that kind of stuff doesn't bother you, check this one out for sure; if it does, be forewarned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have read! Finished in 1 day!

    One of the best books I have read! Finished in 1 day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Thirsty for more

    I never wrote a review before, but felt compeled to on this one. The story felt fresh. Probably the most original story line I have seen in a little while. I totally fell for shadowman. So glad he got his own book. Can't wait to read it.

    The cover does suck. It implies its a cheap romance novel (wich is why I bought it), but it was so much than that.
    I want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome!

    I know, the cover is deceptive, depicting more of a teen story. Not!!!! I loved this story, full of action, mystery, and romance. Of course, I'm an Anita Blake, Black Dagger Brotherhood fan as well as Historical romance fan. This story had it all, I totally recommend and look forward to more from this arthur!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Gripping story

    This one is a great read for fantasy lovers! Don't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Just me

    Really enjoyed this read, i guess in the end it,s what one believes. I am a great fan of vampire and other world read and this one was different. Enjoyed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 77