Customer Reviews for

Shadow Cay

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I am sure there is a lot that can be said of Shadow Cay by Leona

    I am sure there is a lot that can be said of Shadow Cay by Leona Bodie. If nothing else, this story will provoke strong emotions and at times leave you breathless. This book is not for the faint of heart. There is suspense and drama and often time intense violence.

    The vivid details bring all aspects of this story to life. From the beautiful Bahamas to bright and flashy Miami, Leona Bodie has a talent for describing scenes through her words. She also creates gripping suspense with those same skills, keeping the reader turning the pages to find out if Madeleine and Peter are successful in their efforts to stop Rico Salazar and the dangerous Colombian drug cartels.

    The character development in Shadow Cay was rich and engaging. I felt like I was able to know the characters intimately as the story progressed. With a novel of this length good character development is key to keep the reader involved.

    The author's use of dates to keep the storylines in focus was immensely helpful. The flashbacks and hopping between plots aid in the suspense but can get a bit confusing especially in the beginning while the author sets the stage for her thrilling climax.

    I don't tend to like violent novels. I often read before bed and don't like the imagery following me into sleep. The suspense and intrigue in this novel makes it worth getting through the violence to the thrilling conclusion. Great job, Leona!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Leona pens her characters in "Shadow Cay" believable a

    Leona pens her characters in "Shadow Cay" believable and strong, in a plot that is packed with crime, action, thrills, and suspense. I found the beginning to be a bit slow, but once you read past the first chapter, it will hook you right in. A total must read for all crime, suspense fans. *4 Stars*

    This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I read this book for Promotional Book Tours for a fair and hones

    I read this book for Promotional Book Tours for a fair and honest review. This is a rather large book. It's over 400 pages long. I can't remember the last time I read a book that long.

    There is 3 main characters in this book with their own stories; Madeline a teenage girl with psychic abilities, Claude Pelletier who is a middle aged man whose wife just left him and Rico who is a drug trafficker.

    This book is full of adventure and the high seas. It kind of reminds me of a pirate adventure. There is a lot going on in this book and sometimes it's hard to keep track of the story.

    The author has the ability to really paint a picture of the scene she is writing. This book is kind of like a one size fits all book. This one book has a few different genres in it. No matter what genre you enjoy reading, this book will interest you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Highly recommended

    "This suspenseful novel is a treat to read because of the way the author delineates her characters. LEONA BODIE IS A FRESH NEW TALENT in the much-plowed field of mystery books with something interesting and original to say. Shadow Cay is a 'can't put down' reading experience.

    Malcolm Mahr is the author of seven books, including THE RIYADH CONSPIRACY; THE SECRET DIARY OF MARCO POLO; THE MYSTERY OF DAVINCI'S MONNA VANNA; MURDER AT PARADISE SPA; YOU'RE RETIRED NOW. RELAX; WHAT MAKES A MARRIAGE WORK; MURDER AT PARADISE SPA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    AN ACTION PACKED THRILLER/SUSPENSE/ADVENTURE!

    SHADOW CAY by Leona Bodie is a suspense/adventure thriller set in 1991 Bahamas.It is well written with depth,details,action packed,fast paced,twists and turns.It has big dreams,big money, adventure,suspense deceit,deception,terrorists,vigilante,corruption, lies,maritime,disasters,amateur detective,love,murder,revenge,cartels,greed,and a psychopath.The characters are believable,some are larger than life,some are just plain evil.If you enjoy an action packed,thriller,roller coaster, with danger, disaster on very corner,full of adventure and suspense you will enjoy this one.This book was received for the purpose of review from Bostick Communications and the author and details can be found at WRB Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    I am a big proponent of the saying don't judge a book by its cover. Leona Bodie's novel Shadow Cay proves me right. In this day and age of flash and sparkle, the pleasant, simple cover to the novel does not do justice to the action and suspense contained in its pages. I live in Bucks County,Pa., but any time I am able to slip away to Florida I do love to do it. I know this is just in the literary sense with the novel, but Bodie does such a nice descriptive job I felt like I was there. Please pass the SPF50, thank you.
    The back cover of the novel gives us a glimpse of the story: " Already reeling from a rash of maritime disasters, a war and international terrorists, vigilante Madeline Nesbitt and amateur detective Peter Duncan are destined for even darker days when they investigate the man with no conscience behind the world's most profitable enterprise. They find themselves in a sea of corruption, deception and lies."
    Leona Bodie has already gotten several children's books under her belt and this debut effort into the suspense genre is worthy of the read. She is adept at her narratives and brings the reader into another place, making us feel comfortable with the surroundings. Her characters contain all the right elements to make them engendered to us, and I could really feel myself getting a good groove on the direction they were headed. The plotline is well executed and carried out and it left me wanting more at the end of the novel. I don't think one could ask for more in a work of fiction. Here is a news flash from Leona Bodie herself:
    "Although the winners in various fiction and nonfiction categories will be not be announced until this October in Orlando, SHADOW Cay has already been named a finalist for the 2010 Royal Palm Literary Awards, a competition sponsored by the Florida Writers Association, a nonprofit statewide professional organization."
    Shadow Cay is a good discovery, don't make a hasty judgment, give this a novel a try, put it in your Goodreads -to-read -list and enjoy it. What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook and Shelfari. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs , Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page, and also look for our posts on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscop.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow Cay

    This was a very fast paced (action) book. It was very believable, especially in this day and age. Rico Salazar is the head of a large drug operation. He finds the perfect spot to run things from and has patrol boats keep everyone away. Everyone knows the consequences of venturing into his area. madeleine Nesbitt has begged her parents not to fish in that area. They ignore her premonition and trouble strikes. Her parents put her over the side to save her. Unfortunately she is found in the water and taken to the island. For a sixteen year old she has a lot more smarts than most kids her age. She knows the only way to survive and possibly escape is to play along.
    Madeleine becomes so good at playing along that Rico begins to trust her. He gives her more and more jobs to do. She is creative enough in handling them that she occasionally causes him some setbacks. He doesn't suspect her. Finally she is given the opportunity to make a delivery to the US. Once there she slips away. This seems easy since she had never given him her real name. But how long can she remain hidden from him and his men?
    This was a page turner. The action was steady enough to keep me non-stop turning the pages until I had finished it. Can't wait to recommend this to friends at school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1