Customer Reviews for

Shadow Children (Boxed Set): Among the Hidden; Among the Impostors; Among the Betrayed; Among the Barons

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An intriguing tale of a future totalitarian world.

I was recommended 'Among the Hidden' by my wonderful 8th grade English teacher. I took it out of spite and as soon as I began to read it I couldn't put it down. It's a fast-paced novel that keeps you reading till the very end. It's well-written, intense, disturbing, ...
I was recommended 'Among the Hidden' by my wonderful 8th grade English teacher. I took it out of spite and as soon as I began to read it I couldn't put it down. It's a fast-paced novel that keeps you reading till the very end. It's well-written, intense, disturbing, and uplifting. As soon as I finished reading I had to find the others. I wanted to know the rest of the story. Which are all very well-written novels for any age. I would recommend the series to anyone, and always do.

Now the box set only comes with the first four books of the series. You will also need to buy Among the Brave, Among the Enemy, and Among the Free.

Though I'm giving the box set five stars I do want to mention that the series is intense and disturbing. It might scare younger children. It brought a huge amount of fear to me-- even scarier since I am a third child myself.

posted by Jersey_Mike on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Among the hidden Great Book

I have just finished reading the first book in the shadow children series it was called Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It was about a young boy Luke who was a shadow child. He is a 3rd child who has never been to school or meet anyone but his brothers and...
I have just finished reading the first book in the shadow children series it was called Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It was about a young boy Luke who was a shadow child. He is a 3rd child who has never been to school or meet anyone but his brothers and parents because of the population police. But, he always goes outside and plays in the woods until one day they cut them down to built, a huge neighborhood. So, now he live in an attic and one day he looked out a window and a light went on (when everyone was at school and work) so he looked every day and the light went on. So, one day Luke went over there and there was a 3rd child named Jen and the became best friends, and one day Jen decided to do rally to make 3rd children legal with other third children but Luke didn't go. For days Luke waited for her so he went over there and none was there. What happened? The positives of this book were that there was a really good ending and it made you want to read the next book in the series. Also, I like this book because it kinda shows you what being an only child home alone feels like because Luke was always by himself because either his parents were working, or his brothers were at school. The negatives of this book are that it started out really slow for the first 1-55 pages. Also, what was very weird wads the relationship with him and his family. It was very weird and usually. I also didn't like that because Jen was rich see got foods that other people weren't allowed to have even if they could afford it. The writing style of Margareta was very weird because she varied her chapter lengths a lot. The author changed the length of her sentences a lot to make the book more complex. She also used similes and metaphors to keep the picture in your mind. She also didn't really use big words she used mostly simple words. I would really recommend this book to anyone that doesn't know what being an only child is like. Its also very exciting and keeps you wanting more. I would also recommend this book to anyone who has to do a science fiction book report because it's a great read and you can actually have fun with a book report. GREAT BOOK!!! There is a series of these book like: Among The Imposters, Among the Enemy, and Among The Betrayed. That is one of the best books I ever read and you should read it too.

posted by gibby15 on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An intriguing tale of a future totalitarian world.

    I was recommended 'Among the Hidden' by my wonderful 8th grade English teacher. I took it out of spite and as soon as I began to read it I couldn't put it down. It's a fast-paced novel that keeps you reading till the very end. It's well-written, intense, disturbing, and uplifting. As soon as I finished reading I had to find the others. I wanted to know the rest of the story. Which are all very well-written novels for any age. I would recommend the series to anyone, and always do. <BR/><BR/>Now the box set only comes with the first four books of the series. You will also need to buy Among the Brave, Among the Enemy, and Among the Free.<BR/><BR/>Though I'm giving the box set five stars I do want to mention that the series is intense and disturbing. It might scare younger children. It brought a huge amount of fear to me-- even scarier since I am a third child myself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Great Series

    This series keeps you on your toes!! I read this entire series in 2 weeks i just kept going to the public library and i'm pretty sure everyone there knew me. This series just gets better with each book. Luke is a very shy boy who turns out to be a hero. With many obsticales to face and friends to meet Luke becomes the perfect character that anyone will like I'm a girl and i loved this book i recommended it to all of my friends and we started a book club with this series it got us all readig a new book every day or every week. It makes shy people feel powerful and gives not shy people a look from a shy persons point of view I recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to just read a book!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    heart breaking

    It is heart breaking to think that places like this could really still excist. You get very attached to all of the children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    AMAZING!!

    Im 13 years old and i love this book. its a mysteries book. While i was reading among the hidden i did not want to stop reading even when i wanted to. In this book the parents can only have 2 children but this parents had 3. If the population police finds out they will take him away. one day he saw his new neighbors' 2 sons and there daughter in the window. IF you want to know what happens just read the book and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    a reviewer

    I read the first book and I didn't like it much in the begining so, I stopped reading it. Some time later, my friends kept urging me to try it again and I did. After I read the first book I couldn't put any of the other ones down but yet, I didn't want the stories to end! Margaret Peterson Haddix is one of my all-time FAVORITE authors!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    I enjoyed this book very much. You never know what¿s going to ha

    I enjoyed this book very much. You never know what’s going to happen next and this book always has you at the edge of your seat. For example, When Luke was home alone one day, he was looking out of his bedroom window and witnessed another girls face in the sports families (the neighbors) house; even though everyone was supposedly gone. After he became very close with Jen , she decided to make a plan to go to the rally. Luke knew it was a very bad idea so he told her he would not be able to go. Later that night, Jen snuck over to Luke's to apologize for her behavior earlier. The next morning , he comes to find out something very tragic. At the end of this story, Luke gets a fake I.D to cover up who he really is and moves away from his family. I found this very shocking and wanted to know right away what happened to him. I recommend this book for any ages. It will keep you interested and you will not want to put it down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2014

    amazing book. you'll never want to put it down you're always int

    amazing book. you'll never want to put it down you're always interested and things are always happening. Its never boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    This book really made me think about government and the decision

    This book really made me think about government and the decisions they make for us. This book was really an example of extreme control, but it makes you wonder what could happen if we as citizens were not more aware of policy. There are a few twists in this book that keep you reading, just when you think you have it figured out something always changes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    goooooooooooooooood

    i love this book it is about a boy who is a thrird clild and his town has these cops they are population cops and if they find them he dies but over all i LOVE this book one of my FAVS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I really LOVED this book because, it has perfect deatel ! i could not put this book down !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    For all ages - Really great story line.

    I am 58 years old and I read all of these. Absolutely loved them. Wish this series had gone on a lot longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Shadow Children - Boxed Set

    Bought this set for my 12 year old neice. She was thrilled!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shadow Child(ooooo Spooky)

    Among the Hidden is an amazing book. It has a great plot and an awesome theme. If you read this book definitely read the series! It has a very suspenseful thriller. When Luke finds Jen, his life and view from the world changes. It's my favorite book/series of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Books Ever

    The shadow children sequence are the best bone chilling books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    excellent

    excellent books- recommends to anyone! alittle frustrated I bought the box set thinking i had all the books... wrong.. its a little irritating when you think you have all the books but turns out nope.. ugh. at least a excuse to go back to the store.. but still its annoying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    The shadow children

    I love this book because it is very cliff hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    This book is OUTSTANDING !

    It is a must-read series with interesting twists and exciting events . I would recommend it for people who LOVE action , suspense , danger , betrayal , and unexpected allies . I got so hooked , that I almost forgot that I was only reading , not REALLY there .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    The Best Book Ever

    The shadow children series is the best series ever.If you like books with suspense, you should definitely read this serie. I read all the books in the series more than 10 times because it was very interesting. This book not only is about an interesting topic, it is also very well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    These books are great

    These books are outstanding there is nothig bad them they all are easy to understand but keep you with your nose in the book and almost never have a boring part these books are great and evey one will like them i know i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    You will NOT be able to put this book down before finishing

    This book deserves 10 stars period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3