Customer Reviews for

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Summary: For someone who doesn¿t read that often, I found this nonfiction book quite interesting. It had a plot line that I would never have typically been interested in, especially because I¿m more of a fiction reader. The story is based on two men, John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, who thought of diving as more than just a sport. However, in the fall of 1991, not even these two courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface of the water. In the depths of the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of New Jersey, the two men found what they identified as a World War II German U-boat. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them sadly, would not live to see its end. Likes/Dislikes: The overall story line was amazing! It kept you interested and kept you reading. However, it did have a tendency of repeating a lot of the information already stated, but in a different form, therefore the chapter seemed to drag longer than necessary. Themes/Messages: This book was all about travel and adventure. Both men risked everything they had, just for a shot at making a new discovery. They also found a discovery of friendship. When the novel started, both men couldn¿t stand one another. So a test of friendship came along with an amazing adventure that they shared.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Exceptional

    I am a scuba diver myself and would never try the things these guys did to solve this mystery. I've met the author and both divers and must say they are three of the funniest, and most endearing gentlemen you would ever want to meet. This is an excellent book and I recommend it to divers and non-divers alike. It is sad, exciting and dramatic, and even funny. A very good book that was well-written and researched. I read and even re-read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Recommended by a friend for non-fiction story

    I have not finished the book yet. Am enjoying it so far and expect to finish shortly.
    First time with a electronic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Karma

    Coughed loudlt." Soooo..... bored....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Patchfur

    Yawns d pads to the med den sleepily

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    If you are a diver, this is a must read!

    Very well written combining history with drama. If you are. Diver or lover of the sea, this is a must read book. If you are a WW2 history buff you will not be able to put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Very interesting

    I will guess that my husband enjoyed the book since he already finished it!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Two excellent books in one

    For the adrenaline junkie Shadow Divers provides insight into the minds and experiences of deep water divers. For the history buff it provides a detailed account of how one particular wreck was researched and eventually identified. Robert Kurson does an outstanding job of cutting back to the action just at the point that the history starts to dim the lights. He keeps the reader engaged with anecdotes and adventures while he plays out an inner battle of conscience, desire and greed in the minds of the divers. Kurson's writing style is approachable but not pedantic, though at times a bit repetative. The reader holds their breath with the divers during the action in one moment, but is allowed to relax and explore the realm of WWII Germany in another. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in WWII lore, U-boat history or open water diving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Outstanding

    Great read, once I started reading it was hard to put down. I was amazed how much research the diving team did for clues to solving the mystery. It goes to show how facts are not always what they seem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Underwater Mystery

    I plunged into the deep depths of this novel as I tagged along under hundreds of feet of pressure crushing ocean water to follow the lives of several deep sea divers and their miraculous discovery. This is a true story of unearthing U-869, the World War Two German U-Boat. I followed several featured divers as they sacrificed their lives, money, and their marriages to find the identity of a mysterious underwater wreck. The best part about the discovery, not even the government knew that this old warship lay beneath the tide turning ocean surface just a few miles from New Jersey. The theme of discovery was present throughout the entire book as it captivated me with gripping details and twists and turns. Just when I thought that a deep sea diver's job was a piece of cake, the divers were bringing up diver corpses along with their goody bags of U-869's possessions. This submarine was a piece of history and it focused more on the discovery and less on the technical terms of the wreck. While history is not my strong suit, I enjoy the ocean so I gave it a shot. I found that I didn't get caught up on what a piece of equipment did and that allowed me to soak in the other features of the book. The only thing that I disliked about Shadow Divers was that the beginning introduced you to the divers one by one, dedicating an entire chapter to them and their life stories; I was more intrigued to read about the actual discovery. Once you have imagined yourself alongside John Chatterton, entering the gaping battle wound of U-869, you will be hooked. U-869, or the U-Who, will make you feel as if you discovered it too and it is your job to finish the book and determine the cause of this baffling tragedy. If you read Shadow Divers and enjoy it, I strongly recommend trying Twisted by Jonathan Kellerman or The Pirate Hunter by Richard Zacks. Overall Shadow Divers was such an enjoyable read that I found myself gravitating to the book at times when I would normally be watching TV or doing work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    this is a very good book

    I have been enjoying this book very much. i absolutely love reading things about world war two and this book you cant put down. i can relate to the thinking of some in this book when it goes back to their childhood. it is a very good book. i probably never would have found out about it if it wasn't for my school reading list. the only thing that i dont like is how much vulgar language there is in it if it wasn't for that then i would rate it as a 10 but for now it's an 8.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Diving adventure with a passion!

    As a dive center owner on the N. Coast of Egypt I am in the pursuit of undocumented or unknown wrecks from the Napoleanic era to present, although not at the depths that these guys go too, I enjoyed the book immensely! Although trained as a tech diver, but with limited experience at these depths, after reading this book I was reminded yet again of what every diver faces when they enter an unfamiliar wreck and the consequences when things don't go as planned. Well written, easy for the non-diver to understand, and has good flow throughout. Also a good reminder to young neophyte recreational tech-divers. However, I would recommend reading 'Last Dive: A Father and son's fatal descent into the ocean's depths' before you read this one, as their true stories are intertwined. One will have a greater appreciation for both books and why men like Nagle,Chatterton, Kohler, Yurga, the Rouses, and the rest chose to live 'and risk' their lives doing what they love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    what an amazing book

    Shadow divers is one of the most suspenseful books I have ever read. It interested me at the beginning and compelled me to continue. I lost a lot of sleep reading this book. I needed to see how it would end and delving in the lives of the german mariners was such a bonus. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Great!

    I still can't believe Uncle Sam did not take an interest in this boat years ago. 50 miles off the coast of New Jersey? I read this book in 2 sittings. I put it down to sleep, then woke up to finish it. I could not put it down. Yesterday I was planning a summer boat trip for the area where this boat was found. A must read for the wanna be detective or the freelance adventurer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2