Customer Reviews for

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Quite a journey.

    I don't care for non-fiction. I get bored easily with an oversupply of facts. I don't care for technical dissertations. Minutae puts me to sleep. This book has tons of facts, lots of technical tidbits, and was one of the most compelling books I have read in years. The facts and details that I normally deplore gave this work depth, substance, and meaning. And the end, touched with elements of humanity, was a perfect conclusion. What a heroic quest the protagonists pursued. What a fantastic job of recording it. A great read all around.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Excellent Book for WWII history buffs and Diving fans

    This book is outstanding for the WWII history of U-Boats and for the history and intracies of diving. As one who does not dive, but would love to, this book brings the reader into the "hunt" for the truth and "hunt" for the artifacts to prove it.
    Read it and go to the bottom of the Sea.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    Excellent, gripping book

    This book was excellent - I couldn't put it down. It was for my book club, and certainly given the subject matter and the cover, something I wouldn't have picked up on my own. I'm so glad I did because I would recommend it to anyone (already have in a couple cases, actually)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    An amazing read!

    I picked this book up on a whim while working as a grip on a film set, that required little movement of gear... There was a book store that we were shooting in and S.D. happened to catch my eye. I read it from cover to cover in about 2 maybe 3 days and was completely immersed in the world that Kurson provides. His intellect and childlike (as in, a son looking up to his father) admiration of the men that completed this adventure make it a truly fabulous story. I couldn't possibly say enough good things about this book. If you want to loss yourself in a literary playground for a few hours a day this is a good choice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Good

    This was very good book so i rate 4 and a half stars just for the cussing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dive Into Another World

    I’m thirty-two years old, and I love history. Old history, that is. More-recent history, such as WWII, WWI, Vietnam and so on, doesn’t have the same allure for me as the Civil War, Roman history, British history, Egyptian history, etc. do.

    Well, heck. That has changed because of one book, “Shadow Divers” by Robert Kurson. Did you know that during WWII, German U-boats snuck up in American waters and some got so close to the shore that the crew could smell U.S. trees, listen to U.S. radio? Many of these U-boats were sunk in waters around the United States coast and are still there. I’d had no idea. Ignorant me had this misconception of WWII being fought way over there, there being Germany, Japan, England, wherever. Hawaii was attacked, yeah, but Hawaii isn’t mainland U.S.

    When I saw the U-boats fact mentioned in the book’s blurb, I knew I HAD to get this book. And it’s a treat. It’s a must-read for anyone. It has mystery, suspense, intrigue, honorable men, rapscallion men, the bad boys with hearts of gold and the women who love them, and death. Lots of death but an uplifting ending. It’s nonfiction but is better-paced and more suspenseful than most fiction I have read.

    Kurson basically follows a group of divers as they discover a sunken U-boat and the group’s struggle over several years to identify which boat it is. The divers end up changing recorded history. Kurson provides a fascinating and sometimes heartbreaking look into diving culture.

    I have no quibbles with this book, but I did wonder about some of the divers. They did what is an honorable thing, at least on first glance. They found bodies in the wreckage, lots of bodies. Well, not bodies. Skeletons and bones are more accurate. The divers refused to ransack the bones in order to identify the U-boat. Respect for the dead, respect for their families. The divers didn’t want to have to tell the families that they had to paw through their loved ones’ pockets to find a tag to identify the U-boat.

    That’s great. All well and good.

    Except what happens? The divers can’t find ID elsewhere. Several years go on. Still they refuse to riffle through the bodies/clothes on the bodies. I dunno. It seems presumptuous of them to assume what the families would have wanted. If I had lost a loved one at sea, I’d like to know where he was, even if that meant someone had to go through his pockets for a tag. The divers had a pretty good idea which U-boat this was, so why didn’t they just ask the families what they preferred instead of assuming for them?

    Anyway, that was a bit maddening but is no reflection on the author. This book gets five stars out of five. Once you start reading, be prepared to be immersed in claustrophobic and thrilling situations for hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book !

    Combines history and the struggle of underwater expeditions. Well worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Kurson pulled me in

    Kurson's writing invaded my dreams. I sometimes woke up feeling like I'd needed to decompress before opening my eyes. I'm not a diver, but I believe this book took me as close as I'll ever get to a deep sea submarine. While reading this in public, I had to check to make sure that my mouth hadn't dropped open (often my chin was dangling) or pull the book up higher so strangers in the coffee shop couldn't see my tears. Deep sea divers truly are the 'astronauts of the deep sea'. They can be lured into the murky depths of the unknown while most of us hold our breath and await the outcome. I'm grateful to them for sharing the adventure. This isn't a treasure hunt-it's a tale of trust, bravery, and faith in the human spirit. Chrissy K. McVay author of 'Souls of the North Wind'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Absolutely riveting and astoundingly good book. It reads like t

    Absolutely riveting and astoundingly good book. It reads like the best novel, but the research and understanding that went into it shine clearly through. The story is one I didn't know, and am very glad I have learned. I am a diver myself - never a wreck diver; I'm one of those "tourists" that Bill Nagle so decried. But what diving I have done gives me even more of an understanding and heartfelt appreciation for the work, research and dedication that John Chatterton and Richie Kohler did, and Robert Kurson so eloquently brought to light. This book meets the standards of real history that David McCullough has set. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    shadow divers

    if you are interested in diving, this IS the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Blazefur

    "Ok." He said purring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    To to grey

    None of your concern

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Dawnfut to patchfur

    "I need to talk to you."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Grasseyes

    "Every time I fall it reminds me, a dumb elder, what I can't do now."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Chippeh to iceh

    Whos deputy? Me or darkpelt? Im confuzzled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Swatstar

    Eddie is locked out and is at next result. Ur welcome Edie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Everdawn

    She woke up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Thornheart

    Gtg by licks sanpool love you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Twisted and valley

    Srry bout inactivness

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Mistyfeather

    Pads in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9