Customer Reviews for

The Shadow Effect: Illuminating the Hidden Power of Your True Self

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

...a depth of experience and wisdom on this most vital of topics.

This book featuring Debbie Ford, Deepak Chopra and Marianne Williamson evolved out of the movie "The Shadow Effect: Illuminating the Hidden Power of Your True Self" that recently brought the three of them together. While the movie serves as an introduction to the concep...
This book featuring Debbie Ford, Deepak Chopra and Marianne Williamson evolved out of the movie "The Shadow Effect: Illuminating the Hidden Power of Your True Self" that recently brought the three of them together. While the movie serves as an introduction to the concepts of the shadow and how it limits us as human beings, The Shadow Effect book is a deep exploration of that which most of us have hidden and tried to contain within ourselves. Of the three authors, Ford contributes the most clarity and definition to what the shadow is and how it shows up in our lives. But all share equally valuable information and insightes from their unique perspectives, offering a depth of experience and wisdom on this most vital of topics. Reading this book is both challenging and enlightening. It can be depressing as we learn the truth of who we are, yet hopeful as we discover the power that the comes from healing and integrating the Shadow. This is a must read for anyone committed to supporting a shift in consciousness on the planet.

posted by SubtleOne on May 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Annoyingly Repetitive

The premise for this book is so short and simple the author's found they needed to expound on every tiny concept ad nauseum to justify the $12.99 price tag. I tried to read it from the beginning but could not get through the Deepak Chopra part due to its lack of substa...
The premise for this book is so short and simple the author's found they needed to expound on every tiny concept ad nauseum to justify the $12.99 price tag. I tried to read it from the beginning but could not get through the Deepak Chopra part due to its lack of substance so I skipped to the Debbie Ford chapter thinking that I might actually get to some "meat",if you will, since she is the one who "officially" developed and lectures on the Shadow Effect. Unfortunately every time she came up with some "new" premise about the Shadow she was so repetitive it was hard not to feel bored.

There may in fact be some good ideas here, I, unfortunatley could not find any reason to scour through every repetitive concept to get to it. Also, the use of The Shadow over and over and over also felt very schticky, like there was some monster lurking ready devour our spirit any second.

posted by 4106006 on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ...a depth of experience and wisdom on this most vital of topics.

    This book featuring Debbie Ford, Deepak Chopra and Marianne Williamson evolved out of the movie "The Shadow Effect: Illuminating the Hidden Power of Your True Self" that recently brought the three of them together. While the movie serves as an introduction to the concepts of the shadow and how it limits us as human beings, The Shadow Effect book is a deep exploration of that which most of us have hidden and tried to contain within ourselves. Of the three authors, Ford contributes the most clarity and definition to what the shadow is and how it shows up in our lives. But all share equally valuable information and insightes from their unique perspectives, offering a depth of experience and wisdom on this most vital of topics. Reading this book is both challenging and enlightening. It can be depressing as we learn the truth of who we are, yet hopeful as we discover the power that the comes from healing and integrating the Shadow. This is a must read for anyone committed to supporting a shift in consciousness on the planet.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Clarity in an Unclear World

    This book touched my heart and gave me so many new things to look at in myself and the world. All three authors take the Shadow in today's world to new heights in importance and significance. This is a must read for anyone wanted to know how to navigate the waters of spirit and emotion in a world full of chaos and confusion. Finally, the Shadow can be seen as the powerful issue it is in our lives individually and as a collective. Reading this book is a sure fire way to shift your perspective on life forever.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Is This The Moment When God Stopped Keeping Score?

    I have heard a lot about this book and I am eager to read the rest of it, because it discusses the need to deal with the shadow in our lives. There is a conflict between who we are and who we want to be. Yet, I think that is because we are often stuck in the past, because we are bound by our past failures and mistakes. I am learning to deal with those mistakes now. I had just read "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which tackled forgiveness on a much more intimate level than I have ever experienced. I can only pray the Shadow Effect can build on the momentum that Keeping Score has already started.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Great book

    This book transform the way I see an interpret the dark side of my life. It help me understand many areas of my life that I have not come to accept.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Excellent book!

    I had never heard of Debbie Ford or Marianne Williamson, but i am now a fan of both. The concepts discussed in this book are very interesting. Its always amazing when a book leaves you feeling both exposed and empowered.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Annoyingly Repetitive

    The premise for this book is so short and simple the author's found they needed to expound on every tiny concept ad nauseum to justify the $12.99 price tag. I tried to read it from the beginning but could not get through the Deepak Chopra part due to its lack of substance so I skipped to the Debbie Ford chapter thinking that I might actually get to some "meat",if you will, since she is the one who "officially" developed and lectures on the Shadow Effect. Unfortunately every time she came up with some "new" premise about the Shadow she was so repetitive it was hard not to feel bored.

    There may in fact be some good ideas here, I, unfortunatley could not find any reason to scour through every repetitive concept to get to it. Also, the use of The Shadow over and over and over also felt very schticky, like there was some monster lurking ready devour our spirit any second.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Strange book

    This book is really for people who do bad things like all self help books are. If you are an honest person who obeys rules and laws, where do you fit into these books that talk about urges and indescretions?

    For once i wish someone would write a guide to dealing with difficult selfish people. This book assumes all it's readers are addicted pedophiles and does not consider a normal persons need to understand how to simply live with others who do not or will not take the time to read how to live and respect others.

    Other words, the wrong people are reading this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    The Shadow Effect: Absolutely illuminating

    Reading this the first time through, I found it intriguing in the extreme. I immediately read it a second time to glean the process of finding your shadow and how to engage it. My life has changed. I now know why I am ultra responsible as regards work and school, and lax when it comes to "my stuff" such as exercise, binging on the wrong things and most important, not achieving my personal goals. I also learned experiencially if you want to change your life, read this book and learn to make friends with your shadow. I am much more balanced, productive in my personal life and happy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Just read it! Nuf said

    Recently have been devouring Debbie Ford books. Have listened to audio book from library.. Love this book. A definate worth while read a really good look into why we think the way we do and how we can claim the shadow side of our selves and use it to our advantage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Aspenfire

    Thats her problem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Bloodhawk

    Yes. I know. H eowee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book has changed my life so much, that I decided do buy the version in English for my husband.
    It is amazing! Life and relationships are much easier now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Pure bunk

    Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4