Customer Reviews for

Shadow Games

Average Rating 4
( 500 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

From the author

I would like to thank AmberKillian for the excellent review of my work. Painful as it is, it is a review like this that helps me become a better author. All I can say is that in a large novel such as this, the text is like a many tentacled monster, waiting in the wings ...
I would like to thank AmberKillian for the excellent review of my work. Painful as it is, it is a review like this that helps me become a better author. All I can say is that in a large novel such as this, the text is like a many tentacled monster, waiting in the wings to scream 'gotcha' at the most embarrassing moments. They were not only embarrassing, but dumb and unforgivable. Dumb because I knew better, and unforgivable because I made the same mistake over and over again. I apologize to any reader whose enjoyment of the novel was spoiled by my poor grammar editing. Rest assured, the revision is on its way.
However, I take issue with some of the comments. I hardly think a self-confessed 'grammar Nazi' is a poster child for the twenty something generation. In a country in which a clear majority of the twenty plus population can't supply correct answers to simple questions about geography, government, and science, it would not be unusual for someone to have a momentary lapse in memory as to not be able to correctly identify Marilyn Monroe. After all, she died more that fifty years ago. The reference to "soul mates' was simply to provide the definition of the term for those readers who might not have encounter it. As to 'facts', I searched the whole novel for the word, and I could not identify the 'facts' the reviewer was referring to. If she refers to the scene with the physics professor, do a search on Wikipedia for 'quantum computing' and you can satisfy your curiosity. Remember, this is a science fiction novel. Science fiction deals with the "what if". What if Einstein was correct in his published paper in which he coined the phrase 'spooky action at a distance'. Could it explain the totally impossible concept of mental telepathy? In the world of science fiction, space ships regularly violate the laws of physics by traveling faster that the speed of light. Am I not allowed to do the same with the mind? By the way, the picture depicted in the novel is real. It was published in Wired Magazine. (I don't remember the issue.)
As for pacing, I am an amateur author. I'm learning. The characters dragged me, kicking and screaming, to where they wanted to go.
Doug Welch, author of Shadow Games

posted by DougWelch on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

ugh

Well, If you like guys who act like guys, then you wont like the main character in this book. In the very beginning I almost thought there would be some kind of gross incest scene because he kept mentioning how pretty his twin sister was. The story line would be better ...
Well, If you like guys who act like guys, then you wont like the main character in this book. In the very beginning I almost thought there would be some kind of gross incest scene because he kept mentioning how pretty his twin sister was. The story line would be better if the ridiculous romance he ends up having with a very one dimensional character never happened. PLUS, if you like crying, well then this is the book for you since the sister cries at least every ten pages whether she needs to or not. I actually found myself skipping pages of repetitive crap (how many times was he going to indicate he was in the Army Rangers?). The dialogue between the brother and sister was also highly unbelievable. They conversed with the same amount of familiarity one would expect when you talk to your neighbor. If my brother spoke to me like that, I would literally punch him in the neck. Thankfully this book was free. I had hoped for so much more!

posted by 8925869 on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    From the author

    I would like to thank AmberKillian for the excellent review of my work. Painful as it is, it is a review like this that helps me become a better author. All I can say is that in a large novel such as this, the text is like a many tentacled monster, waiting in the wings to scream 'gotcha' at the most embarrassing moments. They were not only embarrassing, but dumb and unforgivable. Dumb because I knew better, and unforgivable because I made the same mistake over and over again. I apologize to any reader whose enjoyment of the novel was spoiled by my poor grammar editing. Rest assured, the revision is on its way.
    However, I take issue with some of the comments. I hardly think a self-confessed 'grammar Nazi' is a poster child for the twenty something generation. In a country in which a clear majority of the twenty plus population can't supply correct answers to simple questions about geography, government, and science, it would not be unusual for someone to have a momentary lapse in memory as to not be able to correctly identify Marilyn Monroe. After all, she died more that fifty years ago. The reference to "soul mates' was simply to provide the definition of the term for those readers who might not have encounter it. As to 'facts', I searched the whole novel for the word, and I could not identify the 'facts' the reviewer was referring to. If she refers to the scene with the physics professor, do a search on Wikipedia for 'quantum computing' and you can satisfy your curiosity. Remember, this is a science fiction novel. Science fiction deals with the "what if". What if Einstein was correct in his published paper in which he coined the phrase 'spooky action at a distance'. Could it explain the totally impossible concept of mental telepathy? In the world of science fiction, space ships regularly violate the laws of physics by traveling faster that the speed of light. Am I not allowed to do the same with the mind? By the way, the picture depicted in the novel is real. It was published in Wired Magazine. (I don't remember the issue.)
    As for pacing, I am an amateur author. I'm learning. The characters dragged me, kicking and screaming, to where they wanted to go.
    Doug Welch, author of Shadow Games

    48 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Very good read.

    This book was a very good read. The only thing I would have changed would be the explicit sex scene. It was just as good without it. Leave some room for the imagination.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Has a promising story line

    But between the author not being able to correctly use plural possessive (it's parents' death when both die, not parent's death), the fact that apparently the USA has 52 states (there is a line where he talks about the 'other 51 states'), a 20 something year old never having heard of soul mates, and the same 20 something year old not being able to identify a pic of Marilyn Monroe, it's a little hard to digest. I gave up after almost 700 pages. I cannot overlook consistently bad grammar, 'facts' that are simply wrong, and unbelievable ignorances on the part of the main characters. The story line is promising, but I kept waiting for it to get started. I am a self-professed grammar nazi, so I tend to cut authors some slack, because I know my standards are very high. However, there were just too many things that made me want to pull my hair out to continue reading it. Sorry. For the record, I am in my 20s, and have heard of soul mates and can identify Marilyn Monroe on sight. I think the majority of my peers would be able to say the same thing.


    ETA: Mr.Welch, Thank you for replying! If it helps lessen the sting of my review any, I had to pick up the book again, because I wanted to find out what the characters were doing. I truly have become attached to Alex. The 'fact' I was referring to was the line where Paris (I believe) mentions the other 51 states, implying we have 52. :)

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read; great story line.

    I really enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It is quite a long book though, and there were a few times that the story dragged just a bit. All in all, my feeling is that Shadow Games is well worth the read if you enjoy the genre.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Great premise! Looking for the sequels

    I truly loved the premise of this book, but couldn't help noticing that the writing left something to be desired. It lacked a certain maturity and depth. I truly hope the sequels will bring depths to Mr. Welch's writing that are not seen here. I am looking forward to learning more about the People and how they interact with Normals. Mr. Welch, please keep writing... just leave off some of the "dears" and "darlings".

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The author did a good job developing his story, keeping the reader engaged and had a good ending. Kudos on your original idea and to developing it! Other than a few slow spots and some grammatical errors, this book is well written. Mr. Welch, I'll be waiting to see what you come up with next and looking forward to it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Ray

    I enjoyed the book, immensely! My only complaint is that the author made Paris and Ceasar, a little too sensitive and unreal, as well as too well spoken. Alex was much more down to earth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    good

    Good storyline, novel concept. This book takes you on an extraordinary journey that bewitches your imagination. It's an unpredictable page turner. Once i started reading it was nearly impossible for me to put down. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Great Plot, Intriguing Storyline...

    This book could have definitely used more editing and polish, but that aside, I have to give the author credit for how well these characters pulled you into the story. It was a great read and I honestly hated to put it down. It was a very well developed story and each of the characters really came alive throughout the pages. The sex scenes were a little too graphic in description for the novel, but I guess it was from the guy's point of view; it's not how a lot of us girls (who are probably most of the readers for this genre) would describe or like to read about a love scene. Sometimes less is more. That aside, I will watch this author and keep reading to see how he develops. Thanks for the free book! So far so good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    So far, so good!

    I didnt read all of it, but it is really nice. Thanks, Breanna, for lending me this book. However, I need more than14 days to read this!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    totally recommended

    This book had plenty of action for action lovers. speaking of lovers it has romance and just a pinch of sexy. this book is all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Good read

    Good story line, well thought out, creative...different. Highly recommended! Well done, except a few grammar errors. An editor would do wonders!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    great book read all three one better then the other. wish there was more.

    read all three,one better than the other ,never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    i like

    It was better than expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    pretty good read.

    It read at a quick pace. I look forrward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Good read.

    This is the first book I have read by this author and I was pleasantly surprised. I would read the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Very interesting

    Well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Loved The Book

    Definetely a must read... different take on a paranormal idea. Will never purchase from B&N again due to their rude customer service... and their "charges" that they dont want to explain to you ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I liked this book

    True, there were some problems with the editing, but over all it was a very good read. I am fifty seven years old and probably better educated then the twenty something that went off on a vindictive tirade against the author, I would like to tell the twenty year old, to grow up, look up what you do not know, then write your own book, in a manner all ages will enjoy and understand before you cut another author's work apart. It is not as easy as you think it is. I know, as I am trying to write a book and can only hope mine, if I ever finish it, is half as good. In all things in life, be kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed the story line. At times it got a little wordy and complexed - quantum physics- theories and such - but it was an interesting read. I thought the romance and love scenes were done tastefully - just enough to let your imagination take over and enjoy without being vulgar. I could have done without the f--- words. Not necessary. Still it was a good read. Thank you Mr. Welch for an interesting and entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7