Customer Reviews for

Shadow Heir

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Spectacular

I've been a fan of the Dark Swan series since it came out, and I could not wait to read this last installment. I do not think Eugenie's decisions were unfounded, nor do I think the ending was poor. In fact, I think this book was the exciting and spectacular ending that ...
I've been a fan of the Dark Swan series since it came out, and I could not wait to read this last installment. I do not think Eugenie's decisions were unfounded, nor do I think the ending was poor. In fact, I think this book was the exciting and spectacular ending that the Dark Swan series deserved. The book is emotional, continuing the theme of Eugenie's constant struggles with her dual life. Her relationships with Dorian and Kiyo play out against the greater plot of motherhood and regency in a struggling kingdom. There is also a well-thought out and cleverly hinted at plot twist that will blow readers away. Do NOT miss this book. It is 100% worth reading.

posted by RavynKatt on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Like others, it was the ending that really ruined this book

I've liked the series up until the last book. I honestly can't believe that Mead is leaving us with that as the "end"...What end??? Way too many questions at the end for my liking. I mean I don't know about other readers, but when I think of the last book in a series ...
I've liked the series up until the last book. I honestly can't believe that Mead is leaving us with that as the "end"...What end??? Way too many questions at the end for my liking. I mean I don't know about other readers, but when I think of the last book in a series I think of closure. This book provided anything but.
I seriously could've given this book a better rating like 4 or 5, ignoring some of the annoying character traits that wound up getting portrayed by the character in this book. I just kept reading hoping that things would be resolved or at least more solid in certain aspects, only to realize that I was at the last page and left hanging. This big disappointment is reflected in my rating.

posted by KrisES on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Spectacular

    I've been a fan of the Dark Swan series since it came out, and I could not wait to read this last installment. I do not think Eugenie's decisions were unfounded, nor do I think the ending was poor. In fact, I think this book was the exciting and spectacular ending that the Dark Swan series deserved. The book is emotional, continuing the theme of Eugenie's constant struggles with her dual life. Her relationships with Dorian and Kiyo play out against the greater plot of motherhood and regency in a struggling kingdom. There is also a well-thought out and cleverly hinted at plot twist that will blow readers away. Do NOT miss this book. It is 100% worth reading.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A Must Read!

    I was hesitant of this final book based on the reviews, but I am now so glad I read it. Having been team Dorian from the beginning I could not fathom Eugenie ending up with Kiyo, but the love triangle and the heartache and angst created were unshakable. I was with her the entire way on the edge of my seat, rooting for Dorian and wishing Kiyo to the Underworld! It was so worth it and I can't say I wouldn’t have done the same as Eugenie. There are so many twists in this plot that you honestly don’t know who it’s going to be and what’s going to happen until the very end.

    Now with that said...there are plenty of opening for another book...come on Richelle...don't leave us hanging. Jasmine needs a man :) and it wouldn't hurt to update us on Eugenie and the twins either!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Cant wait!

    Ive already read the other 3 books and im courious to see how this one turns out. Like i said, cant wait!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    The book was great but the ending did not do justice to the series.

    I have been in love with this series since the beginning and was incredibly sad to see it end. This book was great up until the end. I kept looking at the page numbers wondering how she was going to close an amazing series in the last few pages. The ending left too many questions and if i hadnt read otherwise would swear it was priming us for the next Eugenie adventure. Once again the book was amazing but the ending left a lot to be desired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    1

    1

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Love this Series

    The story line is so unique and I love the many twists and surprises. Richelle Mead has definitely been added to my list of enthralling authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Ugh. Read 2x

    Love Dorian and Mead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Deathflame

    Ill be outside, just make sure you dont relax too much and fall asleep, then where would i be? *licks her nose and goes to res 1*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Flameburst

    Lets just talk in first res. I am tired of going back and forth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this Series, hated to see it finished

    I adored this series. I couldn't put it down. So far I like all of this authors books. Amazing job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Ending

    I HATE THE WAY SHE ENDED IT!!!! She owes another book for the way she ended it or at least an epalaloge (however you spell it) or something! The rest of the book was VERY good though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    LOVED THE SERIES!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow Heir by: Richelle Mead

    This was an incredible book. It was so hard for me to put down every time I needed to. It had so many unexpected turns that it kept me so inthralled the whole time. I am so sad the series is over though. If you want to see my youtube review my book review channel is booknerd1993. Also a in more detailed written review will be on my tumblr titled gypsywriter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Sad but perfect ending...

    E winds up with D because they are both flawed people. They actually suit one another... both having issues with fidelity, morality, power etc. The kids have a better shot with Kiyo in growing up to be the kind of people you hope for... people always willing to make the right choice even if it's the hard choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Farewell Eugenie...

    Enjoyed the book though many reviews made me hesitate to read it. Eugenie had some very difficult decisions to make and those choices would make many upset so I can see why people didn't favour some aspects of the book. The book held some surprises for me and I just wish Eugenie, one of my favorie fairy queens, a happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Hea kinda

    Love this series and so sad its over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great series

    I love all of Richelle Mead's books. She needs to write faster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Sad to see it end

    At first i had a hard time getting into this series, but now i grew to love it and hated to see it end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Love reading these books!

    Cant put down her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6