Customer Reviews for

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1766)

4 Star

(295)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ohmygoodnes!

    i just finished reading this book, and it was absolutely amazing. everyone says they hate the ending, and i'm not too thrilled about it either, but if that didn't happen, i don't think i would've thought it was so amazing. the romance was extreme, the action exciting, and the plot unforgettable. i cried alot at the end, and my whole mood has been shifted into a grieving-ish feeling. i only stopped reading because i was so tired i litterally started shaking, and i woke up and began reading immediently. i thought twilight was the best fantasy world ever imagined, but this definately surpasses all four books. i can't wait to see what happens in the next book. AHH, I LOVE YOU RICHELLE MEAD! =D

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the wait!

    I loved this book. One sitting and those pages didn't have a chance against me. Step aside Twilight, we've got a tougher, stronger, more ambitious heroine for the vampire fanbase. I can't wait until the fourth and fifth books! Keep writing Richelle, you're my hero!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Buy it!

    I had to buy this book even after I read the book I borrowed. Very good book that kept you on the edge of your chair. Not happy with the ending, but it made sense and it made me look forward to the next book.

    The love scene between Rose and Kimitri was disappointing and left me wanting more, but it made sense. I think if it would have gone the other way I would have lost respect for them both. They are both strong characters and that is what made me fall in love with this series. Now if they don't get togehter in the 5th book then I don't know if I will continue reading the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing! Hope this helps! Please vote this one as the most helpful! Because I think it is. :-) Thanks

    This book, is like no other! There somthing about the books that makes you feel love, affection, jealousy, and fear for the charictors. This book pulls you in, right from the first page! I finished this book within one setting. What can i say? I couldnt put it down. This book is a MUST READ for anyone who loves romance and heart-breaking twists, oh, dont forget: Vampires too!!
    look out Twilight, theres a new book in town, and its working its way up to the top!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this series

    Omigod, let me just say that I really loved this book. The chemistry between Rose and Dimitri is intense. I read this book in a couple days and I was glad that it was longer than the others. I have to say that I was very disappointed with the end though. I was completely in tears. I don't want to give away the end, but it was a shocker... I was very sad. It will be interesting to see where the author goes with the next book. Still a great read though.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Downright amazing.

    Amazing book. Reccomend it to everybody out here. If you are debating whether to read these books, don't debate. Just go for it. I promise you that you will not regret it whatsoever. I am dead serious. You need to read these. They are filled with passion and Mead is such an excellent author. She knows how to put detail and passion without making it seem too much. And yes. It is so much better than twilight. I laughed and I cried. Its hard not to when there are books out therein the world that are this excellent. Read these, you will not regret it at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Your Bestie

    Greatest book EVAR!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And I thought I'd had enough of vampires. After many beloved an


    And I thought I'd had enough of vampires. After many beloved and some stereotypical YA vampire books in the past years I felt fine with putting that category on the waiting list for a while. Until I decided to pick up the first book in this series and Richelle Mead's VAMPIRE ACADEMY restored my faith in good and imaginative vampire worlds.
    I'd had my eyes on the VAMPIRE ACADEMY books for quite a while, many people kept recommending them and I can remember the rave about the last book in the series. Now with the first movie coming out in 2014 I couldn't hold out on this series any longer.

    Richelle's series isn't your average -There's a vampire in this story and he's gonna bite you, so you become one, too- story. In the VAMPIRE ACADEMY series you don't encounter ordinary vampires. There are different types of blood-suckers, like different links to an evolutionary chain. Our two heroines Rose and Lissa cover the two categories of Moroi and Dhampirs. Moroi are vampires who have the power to wield magic. Dhampirs are a crossing between Moroi and humans and their task is to protect royal Moroi. At the St. Vladimir's Academy they are receiving a special training for the purpose of becoming body guards when they are finished. Those two kinds are co-existing and depending on the other, never purposefully harming humans.
    The Strigoi make up the third and an entirely different category. They are soulless creatures only existing to destory and hurt humans, Moroi and Dhampirs alike. Strigoi are effortless killers, but they can also be cruel enough to turn the other vampires into one of them and doom them to become evil and heartless, too. They make for evil and seemingly unstoppable enemies in all six books of this series.
    The fight between Moroi, Dhampirs and Strigoi is the main focus of the VAMPIRE ACADEMY series. Of course you can expect political, social and personal conflicts as well.

    Now the St. Vladimir's Academy is home to many Moroi and Dhampirs and is the central setting for the six books in this series. Housing, training and study rooms assembled like a small campus, the academic feel is definitely there. But with all the unexpected attacks and complications appearing on the scene it's no wonder Rose and her friends are forced to leave their textbooks behind and step into battle.
    The characters are travelling a lot, too. Really enjoyed seeing many new places together with Rose and her friends.

    All six books read on a book binge equal a huge vamptastic adventure beyond imagination. So much action and fights! However the series has its quiet moments, too. The greatest personal focus lies on the bond Rose and Lissa share as best friends and their spiritual bond that's pretty special for Moroi standards. Rose can feel what Lissa's feeling and in certain moments even see through Lissa's eyes. At first this was a very fun aspect about their friendship. The more often Rose visited Lissa's body though, story lows occurred. Sometimes I just felt like skipping these scenes altogether.

    Rose is the breakaway, tough and sexy warrior. Lissa her well-guarded, spiritual, emphatic protégé. They are body and mind, friends who rule the hearts of many readers. They are lucky to have been gifted with two equally appealling love stories, slightly erotic, romantic and steamy for sure.
    Lissa finds Christian, an outsider, who was not even looking for acceptance until he met Lissa. They are healing each other from the wounds of their pasts and click together like a puzzle meant to exist. And Rose gets her love story with Dimitri. Just like everyone told me, that guy is sexy! Their difference in age and experience puts a forbidden touch to their love story. He is her instructor and she is supposed to keep her hands off him. Is that a dare? Major turn-on!

    SHADOW KISS is the part of Rose's story that concentrates on the St. Vlad's students' training the most. The academy announces a big training and fight simulation for the entire school, which is supposed to prepare them for their lives as body guards.
    In the beginning of each book Rose is often telling you what's happened so far. What is a thoughtful help for people who had to wait such a long time between the novels, is kind of repetitive for binge readers like me. Tiring were recaps in the beginning, retellings of major events in past books and hints as explanations to relationships strewn into the ongoing story.

    The books keep getting longer and longer. Currently LAST SACRIFICE is the longest book I've read so far this year. Not just in page count – 2688 pages- is this series truly epic, but in its emotional variety, youthful voices, and imaginative, adventurous story line.


    5/5 ***** VAMPIRE ACADEMY Series- One of the most enthralling and memorable YA vampire worlds I've had the pleasure to live in.

    A series I wish I would have encountered much sooner. I'm so glad that all six books were released already and I could pick up the next book right after one was finished. I wouldn't have wanted to wait one year for each of them to come out. The first three BLOODLINES books are waiting on my Kindle to be read. The decision whether to start the series now or wait till all of them have been released has yet to be made.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    The color should be purpleishpurpleish. Just like thee original

    The color should be purpleishpurpleish. Just like thee original book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Omg, I didnt expect that to happened. I love Dimitri! This book

    Omg, I didnt expect that to happened. I love Dimitri! This book made me cry so much(at the end). If their was a way to bring him back... That would be so nice. Love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Awesome book. And I'm officially in love with Dimitri Bel

    Pretty Awesome book. And I'm officially in love with Dimitri Belikov. Anyone else agree? Gezz, but wait until you guys read the next three books...man Mead made me feel angry and amazed and just a whole roller coaster ride of emotions with Dimitri and Rose and Adrian. And and seriously, if you guys love this book check out the Spin Off Series starring Adrian and another interesting character.  It's name is Bloodlines again by Richelle Mead. Trust me the series doesn't disappoint.  Love someone who reads all day and night not even bothering to stop and eat. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    i really like

    i really like rose she is so tough and i like her and dimitri especially in the first book when they got together.:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great Series

    This is a great series. Unique approach to the vampire world.
    Not recommended for younger teens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Awesome

    I love stories about heroines especially bad*ss ones. I got the first book in this series when it was free and never bothered to read it... boy was that a mistake! Rose is such an amazing character with so many layers, she is like an onion... no a parfait. Nobody really likes onions. I cannot wait to read the other three books in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Omg. Awesome

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I love this boookkk!!!!

    TEAM DIMKA FOREVER!!! I LOVE DIMITRI!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Amazing..Must Read

    If you are a vampire freak then this series is for you. Read them all and then countinue to the second installment of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shadow Kiss

    This one was VERY emotional. I was very proud of its story line. Even though it was sad. I'm currently reading Blood Promise and I cant put that down either. I love the series and am sucked into Rose's life. Mead makes everything realistic. And exciting. This one is VERY action packed. I read this in less than a day. Some content is for mature audiences, but worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Best book in the series 'SO FAR'!

    This would definitely have to be the best book in the series out of the four books so far. It was the most emotional, the most fun, hilarious. I loved it!

    Rose's attitude and personality is fun and unique, but I think in this book specifically she's become more mature and emotional. I think Mason's death had to do with it and the revelation that Dimitri really only loves her and is always going to only love her. And even though they might not be like most couple's (Rose is seventeen, a student, she's aggressive, outspoken, outgoing, talks back to people. Dimitri is twenty-four, a teacher, very skilled and has a lot more experience than Rose). But their a rare couple and they're both very protective and passionate about one another and would do anything to protect each other.

    There's a lot more going on in this book than the others, I think. So much changes from the beginning to end that by the end of the book I burst into tears. Everything seems to go good until those last few pages. That's when everything changes in Rose's world. It's when she has to make a very adult decision about the two most important people in her life.

    Stay and Protect Lissa- her best friend?

    Or save Dimitri- the man she loves- from himself and others around him?

    Read and found out how it ends. . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    tied with frostbite

    this book was just as exciting as frostbite.......the characters really grow up more in this book... but there are some extremely boring parts in it.....overall great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110