Customer Reviews for

Shadow Music

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

its a garwood. period.

if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up t...
if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up there :)

posted by alexis_kirsty on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles afte...
I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles after 20 years. I understand that authors and the publishing world change over time, but I still except quality work! This is NOT quality work. I teach middle school English, and Shadow Music has the most basic, simple sentence structure, narration, and dialogue that I have ever seen in a novel written for adults. Page after page of choppy sentences. It was downright painful. The dialogue made me cringe. The word choice was the same. Simple, basic. The whole time I was reading, I was thinking of the lessons I just taught my pull-out group of 6th graders. I was giving them sentences about as simple as the ones in this novel and having them revise the weak sentences into complex, compoud, varied sentences! I kept thinking as I was reading, my struggling 6th graders are writing better sentences than these, and my superior 6th graders are writing circles around Julie Garwood. You may think that I just don't 'get' romance novels and/or Julie Garwood, and that's why I'm so harsh. Not true at all. I've been reading romance novels since I was 14, and I've read a lot of bad ones in my time. I've also bought and read all of Julie Garwood's books, have re-read the historicals many times, and have considered her to be one of my favorite authors. I am extremely intrigued by many of the comments some reviewers made, speculating that Julie Garwood didn't even write this. I was thinking the exact same thing and even told my sister that. This is not her voice, her style, at all. At first, I was wondering if she was just really rushed and under a deadline, but it would still sound like her! Has she hired a ghost writer? The plot sounds like hers, so I can't help but wonder if she's passed her plots on to a ghost writer, which is what happened when V.C. Andrews died a number of years ago. I liked the modern romance/suspense novels, like Mercy and Heartbreaker, but after those, each book was a bit more boring, and the quality of each book diminished, until the last few were pretty weak, plot-wise and quality-of-writing-wise (Noah's story was good, but the one before it was almost as bad as this one). I don't know what has happened, but a great writer has fallen out of favor with this fan. I will still re-read her old novels, but I will not be buying the next. I'm sorry that this is so harsh. I respect writers. I could never write anything that would get published. I hope that my comments, and the comments of other enraged fans, will bring Julie Garwood back!

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Painful!

    I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles after 20 years. I understand that authors and the publishing world change over time, but I still except quality work! This is NOT quality work. I teach middle school English, and Shadow Music has the most basic, simple sentence structure, narration, and dialogue that I have ever seen in a novel written for adults. Page after page of choppy sentences. It was downright painful. The dialogue made me cringe. The word choice was the same. Simple, basic. The whole time I was reading, I was thinking of the lessons I just taught my pull-out group of 6th graders. I was giving them sentences about as simple as the ones in this novel and having them revise the weak sentences into complex, compoud, varied sentences! I kept thinking as I was reading, my struggling 6th graders are writing better sentences than these, and my superior 6th graders are writing circles around Julie Garwood. You may think that I just don't 'get' romance novels and/or Julie Garwood, and that's why I'm so harsh. Not true at all. I've been reading romance novels since I was 14, and I've read a lot of bad ones in my time. I've also bought and read all of Julie Garwood's books, have re-read the historicals many times, and have considered her to be one of my favorite authors. I am extremely intrigued by many of the comments some reviewers made, speculating that Julie Garwood didn't even write this. I was thinking the exact same thing and even told my sister that. This is not her voice, her style, at all. At first, I was wondering if she was just really rushed and under a deadline, but it would still sound like her! Has she hired a ghost writer? The plot sounds like hers, so I can't help but wonder if she's passed her plots on to a ghost writer, which is what happened when V.C. Andrews died a number of years ago. I liked the modern romance/suspense novels, like Mercy and Heartbreaker, but after those, each book was a bit more boring, and the quality of each book diminished, until the last few were pretty weak, plot-wise and quality-of-writing-wise (Noah's story was good, but the one before it was almost as bad as this one). I don't know what has happened, but a great writer has fallen out of favor with this fan. I will still re-read her old novels, but I will not be buying the next. I'm sorry that this is so harsh. I respect writers. I could never write anything that would get published. I hope that my comments, and the comments of other enraged fans, will bring Julie Garwood back!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Where did Julie Garwood's sense of fun go?

    This is the second disappointing Julie Garwood book I've read (the other was her release last year). I have always loved her work & in fact re-read The Secret & Ransom after this letdown so I could remember the enjoyment her writing brought. Her books used to make me laugh out loud & the dialogue between the characters was full of mishief, sparks & chemistry. In this book the two main characters are hardly ever in the same scene, much less do they have any meaningful conversation. This was the first time I had to force myself to finish one of her books and at the end I really didn't care about any of the characters, mainly because they were never fleshed out into real people.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    its a garwood. period.

    if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up there :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Sorry to say this

    I have been a longtime fan of Ms. Garwood's work, enjoying her romances and suspense. Some of her other recent books have been a bit disappointing but generally okay. This one was not ready to be printed. Where was the editor? The story rambled. Characters either changed names or there were too many to keep track of. Plot points started and stopped. It didn't have her trademark snap and humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    disappointed!!!

    I have been waiting so long for Ms. Garwood to write a historical romance. Finally, she did and wow, what a let down. I have read all of her books Shadow Music, must have been written by someone else. Where is the humor, the steamy love scenes, the suspense, everything her'Ms Garwood' books are known for. I hope Ms. Garwood continues to write historica romances, but nothing like this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Is Garwood's voice gone?

    As a fan of MS Garwood's work having read ALL of her offerings both historical and romantic suspense, she has lost her voice in this book. Gone is the quirky heroine and the stern hero leveled by the heroine's antics and love, these are Garwood's trademarks. Add to this, the lack of any viable chemistry between such a perfect heroine ' that she would know Scots Gaelic, is so off the mark as she doesn't give the reader a reason for her to have learned it' and the hero is one dimensional, that his brother actually is more likeable. She has done this so much better in other books, adding humor events that help the reader to know the character of her h/h. Unlike some of her more interesting books, she doesn't use her past characters in a manner that is satisfying. One of her most beloved heroes, Broderick Buchannan has such a small appearance and even he doesn't seem the same. There appears to be more telling than showing, we are told the heroine is this or that and the same with the hero, but there is no action/no event that helps one to see this as well. Also gone is the witty banter between the h/h, which little there is appears in the internal dialogue instead, which doesn't allow for the humorous scenes we have come to expect in a Garwood historical. Ms Garwood's histories have been 'history light' so the experienced reader doesn't expect detailed history but we expect the scenarios to be plausible, she missed the mark here. The 'English maid married off to the Highland laird' to quell the Anglo/Scottish disputes has been done to death but adding it here for this time period shows that MS Garwood didn't do her research for the period of King John and King Wm. It appears 'pg 10' to be there to get the heroine in the highlands and she could have done that by drawing in past characters/stories which she in the past is so good at. It makes me wonder if someone else wrote this book, imitating poorly, her style. Or maybe this is one of those books pulled from underneath the bed from her early days to be resurrected to meet the publisher's contract? MS Garwood is a great storyteller and has many fine historicals and RS to offer, readers who must read her should wait for the mass market edition, this one is not worth Hardcover $$. Thankfully she has many other historicals that can be read and enjoyed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Love it!!

    Love it!!!!! Im a big Julie Garwood fan and this book did not disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    good but not quite

    I always admire Ms. JG writting because at all times it has the drama, romance and the thrill that I wanted. But on this book, I feel that I wasn't totally convince on the passion and connection between Lady gabrielle and Colm . And I wished that Ms. JG have them met earlier on the story rather than in the middle of it so that their character had more to time to develope. But when all is said and done it is still a good book and don't miind reading it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escape

    Julie Garwood's Shadow Music was an excellent book. I thought the characters were great and there was a variety. I love how she made Lady/Princess Gabrielle a strong, independent woman. The love interest between her and Laird Machugh was exciting! Just when you think they'll finally be together, he turns and walks away. Scared to loose his composure, he always keeps his distance from Gabrielle, although you can tell he wants her desperately. I only would hope that they would have more interaction.

    Great book to read and definitely suggest it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I have been a fan of Julie Garwood for a long time. I love all her historical books. I collect them all. I am constantly rereading them. I really enjoyed this book and hope she writes more. I love reading about previous characters and hope she writes about new ones. Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Kind of disappointing

    I have enjoyed both her contemporary and historical books because she has such a sense of fun with her stories even with violent back drops. I love her characters. This book is just okay. She brings back an old character but he's hardly recognizable from his original story (read Ransom). The two lead characters are never fully developed and their interaction seemed to have no chemistry or connection. Just sort of blah. On the other hand I praise her for writing strong women. Even the mystery could have been developed vs. just told. And there was no built up, the foreshadowing was so strong that you could figure it out towards the middle of the book. Fans might want to wait for the paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Shadow Written

    I was so excited for this book ... then I read it. I'm wondering if it was ghost written. Ms. Garwood has such a strong writting style and this book did not reflect it. The phrases and language she usually uses, weren't. The characters did not really link up until the book was almost finished, the ending was abrupt and she didn't use any of the characters that she created in previous books. I thought this would be a triumph - it was a let-down. Ms Garwood's book usually are joyful, funny, passionate, and creative. The reader can be swept up in the story, envision the setting and hear the voices. This book was choppy, disjointed, and flat. Sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    What's Happening to Julie ?

    I have read everyone of Julie's books, 5 times over. I loved her historical romances the best. They had everything- sense of humor, great chemistry between characters, and great plots. This book was dull. The relationship beween Colm and Gabrielle occurred in the middle of the book and was flat. No excitement, dull plot line. I think Julie writes better historical than contemporary but this book was FLAT. Dull. Boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Where's the love?

    It was okay. Definitely not as good as Ransom or The Secret. The book was slow to get started. I know Garwood likes to introduce us to all the characters before they interact, but it was getting ridiculous. Although I liked Colm because he was so much like Brodick, I thought his character was underdeveloped. Garwood didn¿t explain anything about his background or family or much about his thinking. What did he find attractive about Gabrielle? How did he get past his hatred of the English to fall for her? I didn¿t feel any electricity between them. I understood more about Coswold and Percy¿s personalities and motivations than I did about Colm¿s! I thought there should be less talk about King John and the bad guys and more about what Colm felt. Gabrielle was a nice heroine. She didn¿t sicken me. She had a good head on her shoulders. She was pretty accepting of others making life decisions for her though, but that was the way it was for women back then. They didn¿t have any control over their own lives. And it was never really explained why Gabrielle was attracted to Colm over Liam when Liam was so much more personable. Was it because Colm was like her father? Because she thought he was sexier than Liam? Was she drawn to the leadership and protective qualities in him? What made her fall in love with Colm? The sex part was practically nonexistent. It was not very hot or sexy. And for being a virgin she sure was being seductive! She didn't act very scared or unsure of herself. And of course since we don¿t know anything about Colm, we don¿t know how experienced, or not, that he was. Garwood did put in some of the funny scenarios between the meek priests and the overbearing lairds that are funny -especially if you're Catholic! Garwood always has to have a kid in the story. I guess to show that the hero has a tender heart towards kids? In this case it was two twin boys, but it was really unnecessary, I thought. They didn¿t do anything to advance the plot or help us understand the characters better. As Garwood readers know, she likes a particular ending. In this book that part seemed like she just added it for some excitement. Finally, are we to expect a book about Colm¿s daughter growing up to marry Brodick¿s son?! I¿d love it! Lastly finally, why does the book cover have a man with slacks on? Everyone knows Colm wears a plaid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    OUTSTANDING BOOK!

    SHADOW MUSIC is an outstanding book that I highly urge you to read! The characters are well-created and the plot is remarkable and well-written. I enjoyed every page of this writer's MUST READ story! I know you will enjoy this book as much as I did that is why I am writting this review. You will be HIGHLY ENTERTAINED!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Awesome story

    ..but, it needed a wee bit more work. I read through it really fast, and I LOVED how it incorporated Brodrick from her book, Ransom. However.. it was almost too smooth. I didn't really feel the passion between the heroine and Colm, her 'savior'. He seemed a bit underdeveloped, in my humble opinion. He could have been so much more, but he was essentially Brodrick in a less described way. The book could have stood to be longer, and more detailed. The author is good enough that the longer reads truly are enjoyable, and she'd have been able to truly flesh out the characters to a less anorexic state with at least another 100 pages. I read more character depth into the villians than I almost did into the two main characters. The plot was decent, but it too could have stood to be developed a bit more.. maybe something a little less like the plotline from Julie Garwood's Ransom: Barons after a treasure, girl's got the possible knowledge to get the treasure, girl falls in love with Highland warrior, girl at end of novel ends up back in the hands of the evil baron, Highland warrior saves girl, and Highland warrior declares his love of girl. Sounds a bit familiar. So, while I was thankful to get another historical novel from Julie Garwood 'and I look forward to more around this plotline, especially based off of a conversation between Colm and Brodrick in the last portion of the book', and it was a really good book-- it didn't get 5 stars because of my high expectations of the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    one of the best historical romances of the year

    In England she is the Lady Gabriella, daughter of a powerful baron but in Scotland the beautiful and innocent is known as the Princess Gabrielle of St. Biel like her mother before her. Many men want her including King John¿s favorites Baron Percy and Baron Coswold. Although King John gets pleasure in pitting the two men against each other he decides that Gabrielle goes to Laird Alan Monroe in an attempt to appease his countrymen.------------- Gabrielle and her guards are on their way to the Abbey in Scotland to meet her betrothed when she sees a group of men dressed up as monks ready to kill a man who they are using as bait to capture his brother Laird Colm MacHugh. She shoots an arrow in the man who is getting ready to kill the prisoner. She saves his life and brings him to the Abbey to heal. She visits him during the night to make sure he is okay but a woman¿s lies destroy her reputation and causes her to be banished. Lord Colm MacHugh is persuaded by Gabrielle¿s kinsman to marry her in order for Colm to pay off his debt to him. Once she is in his home, she turns his life upside down but enemies from England and Scotland have differing plans to destroy the relationship that is beginning to blossom between the laird and the princess.------------- Julie Garwood goes back to her historical roots and writes a romance that is filled with pageantry, blood feuds, duplicitous lords and eventually a war between two powerful clans. The growing love between the hero and the heroine is beautiful to behold and is very believable. Ms. Garwood¿s trademark underlying humor is present throughout the storyline and readers will chuckle at the way Gabrielle winds Colm around her little finger. This is one of the best historical romances of the year.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Serenity

    Oh..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Mordecai

    Yes. Thats kinda why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    A usual Julie Garwood novel

    I like her writing and found this one as part of her normal novels. Interesting, but predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12