Customer Reviews for

Shadow Music

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

its a garwood. period.

if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up t...
if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up there :)

posted by alexis_kirsty on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles afte...
I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles after 20 years. I understand that authors and the publishing world change over time, but I still except quality work! This is NOT quality work. I teach middle school English, and Shadow Music has the most basic, simple sentence structure, narration, and dialogue that I have ever seen in a novel written for adults. Page after page of choppy sentences. It was downright painful. The dialogue made me cringe. The word choice was the same. Simple, basic. The whole time I was reading, I was thinking of the lessons I just taught my pull-out group of 6th graders. I was giving them sentences about as simple as the ones in this novel and having them revise the weak sentences into complex, compoud, varied sentences! I kept thinking as I was reading, my struggling 6th graders are writing better sentences than these, and my superior 6th graders are writing circles around Julie Garwood. You may think that I just don't 'get' romance novels and/or Julie Garwood, and that's why I'm so harsh. Not true at all. I've been reading romance novels since I was 14, and I've read a lot of bad ones in my time. I've also bought and read all of Julie Garwood's books, have re-read the historicals many times, and have considered her to be one of my favorite authors. I am extremely intrigued by many of the comments some reviewers made, speculating that Julie Garwood didn't even write this. I was thinking the exact same thing and even told my sister that. This is not her voice, her style, at all. At first, I was wondering if she was just really rushed and under a deadline, but it would still sound like her! Has she hired a ghost writer? The plot sounds like hers, so I can't help but wonder if she's passed her plots on to a ghost writer, which is what happened when V.C. Andrews died a number of years ago. I liked the modern romance/suspense novels, like Mercy and Heartbreaker, but after those, each book was a bit more boring, and the quality of each book diminished, until the last few were pretty weak, plot-wise and quality-of-writing-wise (Noah's story was good, but the one before it was almost as bad as this one). I don't know what has happened, but a great writer has fallen out of favor with this fan. I will still re-read her old novels, but I will not be buying the next. I'm sorry that this is so harsh. I respect writers. I could never write anything that would get published. I hope that my comments, and the comments of other enraged fans, will bring Julie Garwood back!

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escape

    Julie Garwood's Shadow Music was an excellent book. I thought the characters were great and there was a variety. I love how she made Lady/Princess Gabrielle a strong, independent woman. The love interest between her and Laird Machugh was exciting! Just when you think they'll finally be together, he turns and walks away. Scared to loose his composure, he always keeps his distance from Gabrielle, although you can tell he wants her desperately. I only would hope that they would have more interaction.

    Great book to read and definitely suggest it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Awesome story

    ..but, it needed a wee bit more work. I read through it really fast, and I LOVED how it incorporated Brodrick from her book, Ransom. However.. it was almost too smooth. I didn't really feel the passion between the heroine and Colm, her 'savior'. He seemed a bit underdeveloped, in my humble opinion. He could have been so much more, but he was essentially Brodrick in a less described way. The book could have stood to be longer, and more detailed. The author is good enough that the longer reads truly are enjoyable, and she'd have been able to truly flesh out the characters to a less anorexic state with at least another 100 pages. I read more character depth into the villians than I almost did into the two main characters. The plot was decent, but it too could have stood to be developed a bit more.. maybe something a little less like the plotline from Julie Garwood's Ransom: Barons after a treasure, girl's got the possible knowledge to get the treasure, girl falls in love with Highland warrior, girl at end of novel ends up back in the hands of the evil baron, Highland warrior saves girl, and Highland warrior declares his love of girl. Sounds a bit familiar. So, while I was thankful to get another historical novel from Julie Garwood 'and I look forward to more around this plotline, especially based off of a conversation between Colm and Brodrick in the last portion of the book', and it was a really good book-- it didn't get 5 stars because of my high expectations of the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    A usual Julie Garwood novel

    I like her writing and found this one as part of her normal novels. Interesting, but predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Shadow Damce

    Outstanding read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Wonderful

    Good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    OMG! I highly recommend this Highland romance!

    OMG! This is another Highland romance by Julie Garwood that absolutely should not be missed! This is the story of Princess of Gabrielle and Laird Colm MacHugh. Garwood includes a few brief updates on characters from her previous Highland romances which I really enjoyed. I loved all the characters and the story. I highly recommend this adventure! I cannot understand the low ratings... this was her best yet in my opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Nice

    sweet novel

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    A great indulgent read.

    For all those fans of JG out there "Shadow Music" is a nice return to her historical romances. I enjoyed the lead characters Gabrielle and Colm. JG does a great job of mixing history, romance and humor. A good read indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Follows Garwood's regular pattern.

    I love Julie Garwood, and I have read everything that she has ever written. I like historical romances better than contemporary romances, and Garwood does a very good job of taking the reader back in time to when women were strong and virtuous and there was such a thing as the one true love. Garwood has a basic outline that all of her books follow, and this one is no different. I wish the hero and heroine could figure out that they love each other and then they would live happily ever after together, but one must be stubborn about the discovery of their love and then the heroine must get kidnapped or have some other near death experience. I'm not complaining, I always pick up her latest book and love every second of the story. If you're a fan of Garwood's writing, then you'll enjoy this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Quick read, interesting setting.

    I liked the historical setting and the descriptions of the lifestyle of the time. Of course, you knew how it would end, but I still enjoyed the adventure to the conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Romantic read for a rainy day!

    The Shadow Music was a good read about a beautiful princess who is forced to marry a man she doesn't know and ends up with another Highlander after her betrothed is killed. This all occurs while two English Barrons are fighting for her affection while looking for the lost treasure rumored to be attached to her title. Although the charaters are somewhat predictable (except for her knowledge of the bow and arrow), the mystery/romance is well told and I found it hard to put down.
    I love Julie Garwoods writing style and she always has humor, romance, mystery, and great dialog between her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story

    I liked this story, I like most books by Julie Garwood. It did not captivate me as much as Shadow Dance did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining story from a good writer

    I've always enjoyed Julie Garwood's books because of her balance of drama and humor. Even when her characters are facing tough situations, the author finds a why to highlight the humor in the moment. Sure, it's not realistic, but then, these books are meant to be a way to escape from the duller realities of life, and they serve their purpose. Ms. Garwood's heroines are usually similar in regard to their outlook on life (if you've met one of them, you pretty much know them all) but she adds a few tweaks now and then, to give them some depth. For example, the princess in this book is not above killing a bad guy when she has to without resorting to swooning or being sick afterward.

    The story of a mythical land is also enchanting. The writer gives enough historical information to make it believable, though I found myself wanting to know a bit more about St. Biel's history. Other than that, the plot was entertaining, the characters were amusing and interesting and I laughed out loud during certain points in the story. It fulfilled it's purpose of taking the reader away for a bit of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I too have read all of Julie Garwood's books and have thoroughly enjoyed them especially the historial books-when I found out that her new book was historical I could not wait to buy it. It was not her best but it was good enough she is probably more into the modern works now, but I really think she is best when she writes historicals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    An easy and addictive read

    This is the first Garwood novel I have ever read, and I completely adored it. I am not big on romance novels, but this book was more in the realm of historical fiction rather than historical romance. I rather enjoyed the plot and the character build up. I related to our heroine's strong willed personality and I fell in love with our hero's gruff exterior. I wanted to find a highlander just like him and keep him. It's a great read! You shouldn't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Better than Shadow Dance

    I thought this was a good read. The story was not rushed. The characters were well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3