BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadow Music

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

its a garwood. period.

if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up t...
if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up there :)

posted by alexis_kirsty on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles afte...
I hate to say it, but this was absolutely terrible. First, I need to address some of the reviewers who have given this 5 or 4 stars and are angry at the critics, saying that the unhappy fans can't deal with change, can't deal with an author needing to change styles after 20 years. I understand that authors and the publishing world change over time, but I still except quality work! This is NOT quality work. I teach middle school English, and Shadow Music has the most basic, simple sentence structure, narration, and dialogue that I have ever seen in a novel written for adults. Page after page of choppy sentences. It was downright painful. The dialogue made me cringe. The word choice was the same. Simple, basic. The whole time I was reading, I was thinking of the lessons I just taught my pull-out group of 6th graders. I was giving them sentences about as simple as the ones in this novel and having them revise the weak sentences into complex, compoud, varied sentences! I kept thinking as I was reading, my struggling 6th graders are writing better sentences than these, and my superior 6th graders are writing circles around Julie Garwood. You may think that I just don't 'get' romance novels and/or Julie Garwood, and that's why I'm so harsh. Not true at all. I've been reading romance novels since I was 14, and I've read a lot of bad ones in my time. I've also bought and read all of Julie Garwood's books, have re-read the historicals many times, and have considered her to be one of my favorite authors. I am extremely intrigued by many of the comments some reviewers made, speculating that Julie Garwood didn't even write this. I was thinking the exact same thing and even told my sister that. This is not her voice, her style, at all. At first, I was wondering if she was just really rushed and under a deadline, but it would still sound like her! Has she hired a ghost writer? The plot sounds like hers, so I can't help but wonder if she's passed her plots on to a ghost writer, which is what happened when V.C. Andrews died a number of years ago. I liked the modern romance/suspense novels, like Mercy and Heartbreaker, but after those, each book was a bit more boring, and the quality of each book diminished, until the last few were pretty weak, plot-wise and quality-of-writing-wise (Noah's story was good, but the one before it was almost as bad as this one). I don't know what has happened, but a great writer has fallen out of favor with this fan. I will still re-read her old novels, but I will not be buying the next. I'm sorry that this is so harsh. I respect writers. I could never write anything that would get published. I hope that my comments, and the comments of other enraged fans, will bring Julie Garwood back!

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    its a garwood. period.

    if you have ever read a garwood you know exactly what im talking about. well written (beautiful transitions, im jealous :)) and its a wonderful romance with an overlying plot to keep it running a very, very good book although not my very favorite of hers, but right up there :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Love it!!

    Love it!!!!! Im a big Julie Garwood fan and this book did not disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I have been a fan of Julie Garwood for a long time. I love all her historical books. I collect them all. I am constantly rereading them. I really enjoyed this book and hope she writes more. I love reading about previous characters and hope she writes about new ones. Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    OUTSTANDING BOOK!

    SHADOW MUSIC is an outstanding book that I highly urge you to read! The characters are well-created and the plot is remarkable and well-written. I enjoyed every page of this writer's MUST READ story! I know you will enjoy this book as much as I did that is why I am writting this review. You will be HIGHLY ENTERTAINED!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    one of the best historical romances of the year

    In England she is the Lady Gabriella, daughter of a powerful baron but in Scotland the beautiful and innocent is known as the Princess Gabrielle of St. Biel like her mother before her. Many men want her including King John¿s favorites Baron Percy and Baron Coswold. Although King John gets pleasure in pitting the two men against each other he decides that Gabrielle goes to Laird Alan Monroe in an attempt to appease his countrymen.------------- Gabrielle and her guards are on their way to the Abbey in Scotland to meet her betrothed when she sees a group of men dressed up as monks ready to kill a man who they are using as bait to capture his brother Laird Colm MacHugh. She shoots an arrow in the man who is getting ready to kill the prisoner. She saves his life and brings him to the Abbey to heal. She visits him during the night to make sure he is okay but a woman¿s lies destroy her reputation and causes her to be banished. Lord Colm MacHugh is persuaded by Gabrielle¿s kinsman to marry her in order for Colm to pay off his debt to him. Once she is in his home, she turns his life upside down but enemies from England and Scotland have differing plans to destroy the relationship that is beginning to blossom between the laird and the princess.------------- Julie Garwood goes back to her historical roots and writes a romance that is filled with pageantry, blood feuds, duplicitous lords and eventually a war between two powerful clans. The growing love between the hero and the heroine is beautiful to behold and is very believable. Ms. Garwood¿s trademark underlying humor is present throughout the storyline and readers will chuckle at the way Gabrielle winds Colm around her little finger. This is one of the best historical romances of the year.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Serenity

    Oh..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Add me: Teen_1@LisleLibDistrict.com

    Add me
    Capitalization counts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    My Alcoholic Wedding (for Sarah)

    Niall seemed very hyper, on the brink of tipsy on the night of your wedding. You might even call him flat-out drunk, but it was your wedding today (!) so you decide to let it slide. After the slightly-silly ceremony (Niall was positively giddy and he seemed like he was on crack or something), you spend some time chatting with your guests. When shaking hands with Niall's father, the obviously-drunken man let it slip: he gave Niall a bottle of alcohol just before the ceremony. Devastated, you rush to the bathroom, voice incredibly unsteady and hout bouts of tears streaming from your eyes. Niall had been drunk, for God's sakes. He had been drunk while you exchanged vows with him. A door opens and you hear some pacing that is distinctly male. Niall appears next to the stall you are currently locked in. "Princess?" he asks, his voice quivering. "What's wrong?" "Bobby told me he gave you vodka before the wedding. Is is that bad to get married to me?" you sniff, another wave of devastation wracking through your system. You hear Niall chuckle and you immediately feel angry; this is not a laughing matter. "Look at the bottle," he whispers, sliding the heavy glass container toward you. You sniffle and pick it up, a smile cracking wide across your face when you see that the seal to the bottle of Vodka had not been broken. Niall was drunk, allright, on the night of your wedding; drunk on the fact that he was finally marrying you. ********THE END! Hope you enjoyed, Sarah; sory it was kind-of bad, that was my first official Imagine. If you want to contact me or leave feedback, visit the next result ("music", result six). That is also where I will post your next Imagine. Thanks for reading! ~OopsHi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Whaj

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Great story

    I love this series sad this is the last one. Great romance suspense and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Jose

    Is back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Adara

    Your mad at me huh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Pitchpaw

    Name: Pitchpaw <br>
    Gender: She <br>
    Age: 6 1/2 moons <br>
    Appearance: Pitch black shecat with a bright red tint and dark magenta eyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Musicstar's bio

    Name: Musicstar Age: 13 moons Gender: she cat Looks: Pitch black with a purple hue and violet eyes. Mate/Crush/Kits: none but looking (i will adopt songkit if she wants) likes: everything good Dis-likes: everything evil and cheaters/trators

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    LIPSTICK

    Driving a forklift. DUI. I got something to say and it aint about pie. I gotta say your lazy, your stupid, your crazy, deluded. And for the sake of our lives. Stay away so we dont die. Keep your fu<_>cking lipstick off my face. Your lazy, stupid, crazy, deluded. Another broken wallet. Got some software install it. Just keep your fu<_>cking lipstick off my face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I would like to read more about the buchanas child that havenot

    I would like to read more about the buchanas child that havenot been written about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    ANDY

    Go to res eight instead

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Barkclouds story part 14 part 2

    Dawnstripe leaped. " It's perfect!" She cried. " Who's in?" Muffled murmures of agreement came from the crowd. " At moonhigh, i will ask four cats to advertise". Seafur tilted his head. The next morning, a few cats came. Raindapple,the bravest warrior of all Leafclan, took Barkjaw with him. " I'll miss you all" she whispered. " I love you" she added to Treefur. Raindapple glared at Treefur,then Barkjaw had had enough. " Call me Barkcloud" she called. Her eyes shone as she ran away,Raindapple running alongside her. Mistykit and Treefur slipped away with them. Soon Raindapple and Treefur faced Barkcloud. " Barkcloud." Treefur announced. " I love you" " You too" Raindapple flinched. " Mistykit will stay with you". The cats touched noses,then Treefur fled. " Are these cats it?" " Yes,Shrubpelt. Where's Foxjaw? I see Vixenstorm running like crazy." After Vixenstorm,Foxjaw,and Raindapple were together, Shrubpelt turned to Barkcloud. " Welcome to Thrushclan. First let's meet Foxjaw,the med cat." Shrubpelt led Barkcloud to Foxjaw. " Hi. Are you a warrior of littleclan?" Barkcloud nodded. " Barkcloud's the name." " Foxjaw" " This is Vixenstorm." " Hi." " Hi. Barkcloud's the name." Soon the leader,Grazestar, had mad mistykit a apprentice, Quicklight's apprentice. Raindapple and Barkcloud had started to mate,but this love was not as strong as Treefur. Barkcloud was starting to missunderstood Raindapple. He was not her love! But the powerful force in Starclan turned Mistypaw to Mistyflower,Redwoodkit,Raindapple and Barkcloud's kit,to Redwoodpaw,and then Barkcloud ran away. She's wandering to this day. *maybe! She has a new friend,Sunshine!*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    ???

    Wth is goin on here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Slinthia

    No i went to take a shower

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5