Customer Reviews for

Shadow Prowler (Chronicles of Siala Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Epic Adventure

    This book is a compulsively readable epic adventure fantasy filled with action, risky exploits, droll humor, entertaining primary characters, inventive creatures and excellently described magic. The narrative is told from the first person perspective of the roguish protagonist, master thief Shadow Harold. He's sly, resourceful, likable and amusing, and his narrative lends wit, humanity and immediacy to the story.

    The kingdom faces imminent invasion by armies of orcs, ogres, giants and others who march under the banner of the "Nameless One", an evil archmagican who survived death by utilizing the forbidden shamanic battle magic of "Kronc-A-Mor'. Only an ancient magical artifact, the 'Rainbow Horn', is capable of neutralizing the power of the Nameless One. But, the shamanic power within the Horn ebbs and must be recharged. Furthermore, the Horn has been placed in a vast underground catacomb called Hrad Spein (a/k/a Palaces of Bone), a gigantic underground layer cake filled with malevolent traps and malicious shamanic magic.

    After being taken into custody, Harold is tricked into accepting the virtually impossible task of retrieving the Rainbow Horn from Hrad Spein. To reach the entrance to Hrad Spein, he must first transverse the kingdom, travel through the orc infester Border Territory and survive the deadly Forests of Zagraba.

    The bulk of the book follows Harold's adventures within the city of Avendoom as he goes about gathering the materials and information he needs to retrieve the Horn and survive the quest. He is beset by several obstacles including a pesky and recurring demon, assassins controlled by a mysterious 'Master' (apparently a separate entity independent of the Nameless One), thick-headed goat-men who are misled into hunting him by the agents of this mysterious Master, horrors within the walled section of the city known as the 'Stain" (aka the 'Forbidden Territory') and a mélange of thugs hired by the Guild of Thieves which is ultimately controlled by said Master.

    During the last quarter of the book, Harold returns to the castle complex only to face a night attack by traitors bearing the token of the Nameless One. Near the end of the book, Harold leaves on the quest. He's accompanied by a dark and exotic elfin princess named Miralissa, a diminutive azure-eyed green-skinned goblin prankster/jester named Kli-Kli, the stiff captain of king's personal guard named Alistan (whose gray rat crest leads to the secret appellation, "Milord Rat"), and a troop of battle hardened soldiers known as the 'Wild-Hearts', (which include among their number a constantly bickering dwarf and gnome). They initially travel the main road connecting Avendoom to the realm's second largest city Ranneng. Along the way they are delayed, sidetracked and ultimately attacked by winged magical beasts emerging from a black cloud of shamanic magic.

    This story is fast-paced, action-packed and imminently entertaining. Judging by this first installment, this trilogy will be inventive, humorous and wildly adventurous.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tremendous Debut

    This was a tremendous debut of the Russian author. The characters are intriguing and engaging. The plot is first rate from start to finish. The story moved seamlessly and will hold your attention. The action, drama, and character interaction is superb. A must read for anyone who enjoys this genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FANTASY AT IT'S VERY BEST //

    I was lucky enough to read an arc of Alexey Pehov's novel (I plan to buy a copy of the book for my library), SHADOW PROWLER, and have to say it is simply the best novel of it's genre in a decade by a new author. The author's writing is superb. His story telling doesn't let up and drives a fantastic plot to it's conclusion.

    This author, Alexey Pehov, is Russia's leading fantasy author with many awards under his belt. (I did some research after reading the SHADOW PROWLER.) I also visited his website at alexeypehov.com and leaned even more about the author.

    The translator of SHADOW PROWLER was Andrew Bromfield who also translated the highly acclaimed and successful, NIGHT WATCH (also by a Russian author).

    SHADOW PROWLER is the first in a trilogy I have learned and I am eagerly awaiting future novels.

    By the way I really liked the art work on the author's website.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Awesome

    I throughly enjoyed this read!!!!! Highly recommend it. Original, and satisfies the hunger pain for adventure......... Easy to lose all track of time with this book.. Page turner and with awesome detail with one adventure after another. Characters are great, with just the right amount of comic relief in between... Can't wait for the Book II...... Buy this one and add it to your collection, you will be pleased...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lord of the Rings meets War and Peace

    Alexey Pehov has managed to stake another claim for fantasy as a legitimate genre of fiction by drawing on a bastion of Russian literary culture. Not since the likes of Tolken has there been so much ambition to approach the parables of friendship, the battle of good versus evil, cunning, deciet, and the impact of war on humanity.

    Through his use of complex and dynamic characters, set in a world of wonderment and imagination, we are enraptured in a thick and interesting plot to save the world from a great and powerful evil known only as The Nameless One. As an unlikely hero, Shadow Harold the thief must rise to the occasion of protecting the powers of the magic horn from this great evil that is once more on the rise. Teamed with the most powerful knights, wizards and elf, Harold sets out to defeat The Nameless One.

    Apart from his numerous international awards and recogniton, Pehov's website is also great resource to learn more about this exciting new writer since there is a lot of original artwork that was not included with the American edition. I also hear that there is a sequel on the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a super quest fantasy

    After centuries of relatively peace, the Nameless One is reawakening as the artifact that contains the evil treacherous magician is weakening. Natural enemies like demons, giants, ogres, and even deadlier species have forged under the Nameless One's leadership as the Desolate Lands unite as never before. The Nameless One's horde is coming towards Avendoom and beyond the great walled city to the rest of the Kingdom of Siala.

    King Stalkon the Ninth gathers the best counterinsurgents he knows starting with master thief Shadow Harold; who is given the choice of torturous incarceration until the enemy comes to kill him or find the lost Magic Horn that will restore the Order. He chooses the quest as Harold knows he lives due to the Nameless One. Joining Harold is Alistan of the King's Guard, Elfin Lady Miralissa Princess of the House of the Dark Moon, her retinue, and the best fighters Wild Hearts. Finally the monarch stuns Shadow Harold by directing his court jester Kli-Kli the goblin to join the pilgrimage. Outlaw gangs prowl without regard and the advanced parties of the Nameless One seek those who might pose a threat to the resurrection. Each assault on the master thief and his band proves deadlier than the previous one as the enemy or the lawless seem everywhere; but quitting is not option as the darkness expands.

    Although the use of a thief as a hero has been done (see Chima's The Demon King and Fortress Draconis by Stackpole), the first tale of The Chronicles of Siala is a super quest fantasy. The travelers make the story line fun to follow starting with Harold finding a dead duke. Fans will enjoy the opening act as the irony is that it takes a thief who never loses his calm to prevent the return of the Nameless One in spite of all the law following choices. This is a winning opening act.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Great series

    Read all three back to back...can't wait for the next one?!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Find!

    This one got me hooked, then I read the series. If you enjoy a fast paced fantasy quest with non stop action and a rogue as the central character you will love this book and series. Set aside some time when you begin to read these book, you won't want to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended it's great

    This book is an great beginning to an amazing series, it helps develop the backbone of the story with high action, witty comedy, and unbelievable adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Definitely the best fantasy series i've read in recent years, t

    Definitely the best fantasy series i've read in recent years, thoroughly enjoyable, a memorable cast of character that I actually remember the names of and care about.

    If your tired of reading Fantasy books you need to read this one; this book is not a dime a dozen fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book didnt put it down very well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    A Must Read !!!

    I very much enjoyed reading Shadow Prowler ! It was not what i was expecting , it was much better . The first person view really worked in this book . Getting to know Shadow Harold then working your way into the adventure with the Wild Hearts was great . I also liked how storys of the past was brought up in detail and how they tied into the present story .Gave a good understand of what was going on in the story .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A TRULY FANTASTIC WORLD

    Characterization is outstanding. The vastly different and unusual characters are appealing although not the stuff of fairy tales. The plot at its core is a familiar one. An unlikely hero, the master thief Shadow Harold, a swashbuckling cadre of special forces, the Wild Hearts, plus a couple of elves and a goblin are on an epic journey necessary to thwart the advance of dark forces. The familiar ends here. We feel somewhat comfortable in the worlds created by George R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie because the feudal societal framework and warfare is like that of our Middle Ages. Not so in Pehov's world made up of kingdoms of humans, elves, dwarves, gnomes, orcs and goblins. Warfare involves the weapons of the Middle Ages in concert with the dark Kronk-a-Mor magic of the orcs, the shamanism of the elves, and the wizardry of the humans. The geography is likewise unfamiliar and fantastic. The capital city includes several abandoned square blocks of "Forbidden Territory" inhabited by demons and loathsome creatures held in check by magic. The destination of this epic journey, Hrad Spein, is an ancient underground labyrinth descending down scores of levels. Its original purpose is lost to memory, but for countless generations it has been the burial place of orcs, elves, and humans. Now vile creatures roam its corridors which are also magically booby trapped. The end of the book finds this courageous band of misfits well on their way to Hrad Spein.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally A Fast Paced Fantasy Adventure!

    All Action All The Time! I listened to this on Book on CD in my car, and ended up being late everywhere I went because I didn't want to get out of my car! From start to finish I was hooked on every word. No over indulgence from this author. He gets to the point and stays with it. He does a great job of bringing in some of the standard fantasy characters, but changing them in a way that makes them new and fresh.
    An exciting adventure awaits those who read, or listen to this story. I am certain that you will also be eagerly awaiting the next installment as I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Original fantasy.

    The book is really awesome!
    Very attractive and inriguing character, interesting world described so perfectly that you can see it as if you were there and exciting adventures - just what I like.
    P.S.:Goblin Kli-kli cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2