Customer Reviews for

Shadow Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE READ ALL YEAR. Our Review, by LITERA

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE READ ALL YEAR.

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

    I was lucky enough to get an ARC of Shadow Rising from NetGalley and settled in with my Cait Sith tanktop ready for Damien's book. I absolutely love Damien, and was a little worried that I had put too high of expectations on the release. I shouldn't have worried, because immediately upon finishing it, my exact words were: "Quite possibly the best book I've read all year & I've read some good ones! Simply amazing!!" :)

    Ariane is a Grigori. A headstrong female among a clan of male dominant, secretive vampires known for watching and not interfering. She's not your average Grigori though. She's something of an outcast among her clan due to the nature of her turning (which she can't even remember) and the level of humanity she retained after she became a vampire. When her best (and possibly only) friend disappears from their desert home, she goes against orders of her clan Ancients and sets out to find him on her own.

    Damien is a Cait Sith, one of the cat shifting clan of vampires, and also a Shadow - an assasin. He's hired by a Grigori to locate their missing Ancient and sets out as usual in his cool an detached way. When his search causes him to run into a woman with eyes like violets and hair like spun platinum, his world gets absolutely rocked. Where he had never let emotion interfere with a job in the many, MANY years he'd been around, all it takes is one glance from this Grigori to mess with his head.

    Finding that they simply can't avoid eachother, and that things might go smoother if they just pooled their resources and worked together, they embark on their journey to find the missing Sammael, along with the help of the heads of the other dynasties who realized that "the enemy of my enemy could possibly be my friend"...

    Side notes: Damien is the ULTIMATE alpha hero. He's snarky, sarcastic, stubborn, and sexy as sin - the quintessetial bad boy - and he sooo made me purr. LOL. I had been waiting for his book, but this exceeded even my expectations.

    We get some great appearances from some of our other favorite vamps as well in this installment, and Vlad in this book just made me want his book even more!!

    What more can I say... the book was an action-packed, thrilling, suspenseful, surprising journey in the beautifully complex world of the Dark Dynasties and I was completely enthralled. I cannot wait for the next book!

    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Shadow Rising an easily earned 5 Skulls and would recommend it to EVERYONE! While it's not necessary to read the preceding books to enjoy this installment, I will warn you that the minute you finish Shadow Rising you'll want to read the others, so you might as well start with book #1 and just enjoy the ride. :)




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    very good series love these men

    these men keep ya commin back for more and more. cant get enough of them andthe writer keeps you glued in your seat waiting to see what the next hot guy will do to keep his true love safe!!!! hot hot hot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    great reading

    Love all thee books hope for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Damien and Ariane are beautiful together

    I liked seeing the badass, don't need anyone assassin Damien found Ariane, someone who could love him flaws and all. The third book in the Dark Dynasties seris was cute and sweet. Damien is one of my favorite characters in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Love this series! All the different class systems within the Vamp/Werewolf/Witch and shape shifting is interesting. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Right amount or romance, hot scenes, action and elaborate plot..

    Right amount or romance, hot scenes, action and elaborate plot...
    I fell in love with Ms. Castle and her Dark Dynasties from the very beginning. I gave 5 Stars to Dark Awakening (book 1) and 5 Stars for Midnight Reckoning (book 2) and now another 5 Stars for Shadow Rising. Ms. Castle has been consistent with giving the right amount of romance, hot scenes, action and a very elaborate plot.

    Damien Tremaine also stayed true to his character from book one, two and up to his very own story. This cat-shifter remains one of the best Shade for the House of Shadows, still very dangerous, mysterious, and definitely sexy. I love a hero with a grief-stricken past that made him a cold-hearted man. And finally to see him up close and personal is just a treat.

    Her name is “Ariane not kitten” though being a Grigori Vampire, she IS as innocent as a kitten. But Ariane is a straight shooter, she does not mess around and she knows exactly what she wants. As innocent as she is, I love her, she stands up to what she believes in and can hold her own fairly well. She had her mind set on finding her mentor Sam and that is exactly what she is going to do. If it means to join forces with a shade so be it.

    Opposites attract is the cliché but damn, isn’t that just the truth? The balance between Damien and Ariane was amazing; the cold hearted shade and the innocent vamp. It was fun to see them banter and Damien said the funniest things to annoy Ariane. And her rebuttal was just as hilarious. They complimented each other and it was amazing to see them finally find someone after all the years of solitude. Their relationship is a perfect match.

    To those who already follow the series, a few things to keep in mind; the battle between the Dynasties continues but at a quiet state. Don’t be fooled as plans are brewing right under our noses. The seat for the Empusae is threatened and a few of the dynasties are still on building and rebuilding. The Shadow has Risen and is here to stay. Several things were unfolded in this book and I’m curious to see what Ms. Castle has in store for us as far as where the dynasties stand.

    Also, I am most curious about Vlad dracul of the Dracul Dynasty, he has totally captured my heart. I would love to know more of him. From what I see he is a good ally to most of the dynasties but I’m sure you don’t want to be on his bad side. And I bet he would me a great hero to swoon over.

    ***Mark my words, if and when Ms. Castle decides to write about him, IT WILL BE EPIC***

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Shadow Rising is the third book in Kendra Leigh Castle’s,

    Shadow Rising is the third book in Kendra Leigh Castle’s, Dark Dynasties series. I have been waiting on this book since I first meet Damien Tremaine, the mysterious and dangerous Shade in Dark Awakening. Damien is a definite bad boy who only seems to care about himself and his missions for the notorious House of Shadows. He has shown in pervious books, even if doing so was not intentional, that there is more to him than even he knows.

    Ariane is a member of the elusive Grigori Dynasty. She has been locked away in the Grigori compound deep in the desert and made to believe that she is flawed somehow. When he only friend turns up missing she begs to be allowed to be part of the search. She flees when she is denied and begins a journey to find him and winds finding much more than her lost friend along the way.

    Castle has done it again with Shadow Rising. I was drawn in from the first page and continued reading deep into the night. Ariane, the naive and trusting Grigori and Damien, the arrogant, Cait Sith decide to team up to find Sammael and the sparks fly when they both give in to their desire. There is so much intensity and passion between the two and their story is one that keeps you on edge until the end. There are a lot of twists and turns and some serious reveling about the Grigori that affects the entire fate of the vampire dynasties. Castle has once again delivered a wonderful tale of unexpected love packed with action, dangerous secrets, and the political upheaval that I have come to love in her books.

    I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Immortal Craving, especially after the preview provided at the end of Shadow Rising.

    ARC Provided by Net Galley in exchange for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Recommend to fans of paranormal romance

    Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews

    Okay, so I wasn't super stoked when I found out that Damien was a main character in this book (he was mentioned a bit in the first two books of this series). I didn't really like his character in the other books. He was a 'bad boy' and didn't come across as a very likeable character, due to his careless, selfish ways. Even at the beginning of this novel, he was not likeable. But, to my surprise, I didn't mind him being one of the two focuses of the story. His character developed nicely throughout the story and I even found myself caring about this previously a** of a character. Who doesn't enjoy reading about a bad-boy-turned-good when that right girl came around to change him? Ariane, on the other hand was a very likeable character. She comes across, at first, as very innocent, due to the fact that she had basically been imprisoned - never seeing the outside world - for over 800 years. But she has lethal surprises underneath her innocent-seeming exterior. I fully enjoyed being taken on her journey through the entirety of the novel.

    The story was good. I've come around to like that each book focuses on two characters (one couple), assuming that the last book in the series ends how I hope it will. Each book deals with different characters, who are all connected to each other in some way and they are all connected to the bigger picture of the whole story. So, what I'm hoping from the last book is that it will deal with all of the characters in order to wrap up the whole storyline.

    Again, the writing was very well done. I was especially impressed due to the fact that this is an ARC that I received and ARCs are usually a bit raw because they are not completely ready for publication yet. Suffice it to say I was very pleased with the quality of writing.

    Overall, just like the other books in this series, I would recommend this book to fans of paranormal and romance. There was a good mix of romance and action in this novel, which was good. One thing I haven't commented on about these books yet is the covers...well, we'll just say I think all the covers are attractive ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1