Customer Reviews for

The Shadow Rising (Wheel of Time Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 677 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a good, if dense, read. Loved it.

I LOVE this series. The characters are alive and interesting, the action is intense, and it just never ends. Definitely worth reading.

That said, I really can't understand why the ebook costs as much as a paperback. There's no ink or paper, no shipping, nothing th...
I LOVE this series. The characters are alive and interesting, the action is intense, and it just never ends. Definitely worth reading.

That said, I really can't understand why the ebook costs as much as a paperback. There's no ink or paper, no shipping, nothing that would hike the price. Sure, someone has to type it out, but it shouldn't be just as expensive.

posted by VenusSmurf on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so ma

Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so many grammar errors?

posted by ReadonPurpose on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 688 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Definitely a good, if dense, read. Loved it.

    I LOVE this series. The characters are alive and interesting, the action is intense, and it just never ends. Definitely worth reading.

    That said, I really can't understand why the ebook costs as much as a paperback. There's no ink or paper, no shipping, nothing that would hike the price. Sure, someone has to type it out, but it shouldn't be just as expensive.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Sooo....

    I truly did love this book, but there were some parts that got a little long and boring and i seriously think that Robert Jordan has some bad experiences with women. Overall, though, the plot was great and i look forward to reading the next book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Best book in the WOT!

    I have read every book in this series at least twice, some more than 4 times. I love this series despite how obnoxious many of the female lead characters get. This book was my favorite by far, mainly due to Perrins side of the story and his return to the two rivers to defend it. I dont think I have ever been more emotionally involved during a battle seen then the final attack on emonds field. It is one of the greatest moments in the whole series. Brandon Sanderson will be completing the final book, GOOD LUCK.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Best Book In Series So Far

    I've read books 1 - 6, and I think this is the best one. Book 5 was a bit slower than the first four, and 6 was even more so. I'm taking a break from the series for a while, but I plan on finishing it eventually.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so ma

    Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so many grammar errors?

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Amazingly well written, the novel is excellent in a way as it w


    Amazingly well written, the novel is excellent in a way as it weaves the picture of two times, present and past. I am a lover of history novel and this was right up my way. With the twists and turns and anxiety about whats going to happen next, this book had me hooked. I just could not put it down. The book handles a delicate subject matter with great ease.

    I strongly recommend every mystery lover to get this book. It will keep you up whole night reading it but you will never regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good series. If you like Lord of the Rings type story lines, this is a good series for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Epic story well told

    If you read three books before this one you are alredy hooked! The books only get more epic in scope from this point on. So go on and buy this you know you want it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended, you should read the whole series...

    The Robert Jordon series of Wheel of Time is a great read, I highly recommend it to all who love storys of the same realm of Lord of the rings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Good book

    I would tend to agree with other reviewers that this is one of the better books. Each characters story was interesting and well written. At 940 pages it was worth the money. On to the the next book The Fires of Heaven. (only 868 pages)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is truly amazing.

    This is the fourth book in the best series that I have ever read. I'd recommend reading the series in order to fully understand everything that is going on because there is a lot of plot and it all seams to tie in together. The first book is called The Eye of the World, in case you are wondering. The series is great for many reasons. At this time I have read all of the books in the series except the final book, which hasn't come out yet. All of them flow wonderfully and while at some points things may happen in a way that disappoints you, it always turns around to be better than you could have imagined.

    He writes from each of the many characters with great detail that makes you connect with that character and makes you understand why they are doing what they are doing. One of the best qualities about this series is it's scope. He is telling a story that takes place all across this unique world, and to new worlds, dimensions and realities. Not only that but this is the story of the last battle between good and evil that has taken place since the beginning of time. And while describing this conflict he gives us glimpses into several of the key events that have happened, and needed to happen in order for this stage to be set.

    In conclusion, this is one of the best books that I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Wish I had found r Th I wish I found this series sooner!

    At least I wont have to wait on the edge of my seat for the next book!!! (Unlike another series I've give up on. 15 years between books is just wayyy too long Jean Auel.) I Love the complexity of the characters and the storyline and how they keep growing in each book. I also love that I dont have to reread 20 chapters of the same stuff Ive already read in all the previous books in the series!! Cant tell you how annoying that is, usually turns me of a series when they do that. The Shadow Rising was the best and most complex, so far! Hopefully it just keeps getting better and better, like a good series should!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Nynaeve

    When is nynaeve just going to take a chill pill. Loving this series but nynaeve has to go soon. Right people???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!

    BEST BOOKS EVER! GO RAND A' THOR! THE DRAGON REBORN!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The shadow rising

    Very good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Excellent Book

    The storyline keeps developing which is great. Jordan has started answering some questions that I've since book 1, even though he introduces more questions. I find this ok, as long as he's answering other questions as we go along.

    The storyline is straight forward instead of having plot twists in the middle of the book, which is helpful as I've become tired with the last three books due to "mental whiplash".

    Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    You gotta Love this Series!

    I first read the Wheel of Time series in hard copy, after the second to the last book which I read on my Nook i decided to re-read the series on my Nook. 2/3 done reading at the time of posting"Not the beginning or the end but it is a beginning..."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Shadow Rising - Great 4th to the series

    I cannot put this series down. For every Zig there is a zag. Full rich Characters. Great escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    One of the Last Tiny-Print Wheel of Time Novels

    Remember the days when the Wheel of Time was printed in small type with small margins and little line spacing? When the timeline was moving at a pace that could be measured in weeks or months instead of hours? Well, if you have a hard time remembering any of those things, pick up The Shadow Rising, one of the last truly great Wheel of Time books. Now, as much fun as I'm having at the series's expense, I did enjoy the rest of the series and think that the most recent book, Knife of Dreams, was the best book in the series for a long time. However, The Shadow Rising is one of the last that really cooks. From the story of Emond's Field and Perrin to Rand and company's journey through the Aiel Waste there is tons of adventure, tons of answers, and tons of new questions. We see the Aelfinn and the Eelfinn for the first time, we see some of the Forsaken in greater detail, we learn the history of the Aiel (a fantastic sequence, perhaps the best moment of the series so far), we meet a whole host of new characters that are interesting, and by the end of the book we've finally taken care of a nagging problem: How is Rand going to get better at yielding saidin? Plot aside, Jordan is really at the top of his form in this novel, weaving enticing story lines without getting too lost in the details. As I said at the beginning, I'm still a fan of the series as a whole and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction, but be warned, the next book is the end of the fast pace and from there they just continue to slow down until Knife of Dreams.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 688 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35