Customer Reviews for

The Shadow Rising (Wheel of Time Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 678 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a good, if dense, read. Loved it.

I LOVE this series. The characters are alive and interesting, the action is intense, and it just never ends. Definitely worth reading.

That said, I really can't understand why the ebook costs as much as a paperback. There's no ink or paper, no shipping, nothing th...
I LOVE this series. The characters are alive and interesting, the action is intense, and it just never ends. Definitely worth reading.

That said, I really can't understand why the ebook costs as much as a paperback. There's no ink or paper, no shipping, nothing that would hike the price. Sure, someone has to type it out, but it shouldn't be just as expensive.

posted by VenusSmurf on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so ma

Like the book BUT the ebook is expensive and why are there so many grammar errors?

posted by ReadonPurpose on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Sooo....

    I truly did love this book, but there were some parts that got a little long and boring and i seriously think that Robert Jordan has some bad experiences with women. Overall, though, the plot was great and i look forward to reading the next book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good series. If you like Lord of the Rings type story lines, this is a good series for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended, you should read the whole series...

    The Robert Jordon series of Wheel of Time is a great read, I highly recommend it to all who love storys of the same realm of Lord of the rings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Good book

    I would tend to agree with other reviewers that this is one of the better books. Each characters story was interesting and well written. At 940 pages it was worth the money. On to the the next book The Fires of Heaven. (only 868 pages)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Nynaeve

    When is nynaeve just going to take a chill pill. Loving this series but nynaeve has to go soon. Right people???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The shadow rising

    Very good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    worth reading

    It is a complex book (like all in the series) but it is good. There are many things you must look up to understand, and many parts that are dull. But right after the dull parts are really good ones, so you must choose, will you put the book down just becouse of one or two dull parts?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Make my next one an Aiel lite

    The book overall was great, but I didn't like the start. For 3 books now Rand & Egwene like each other, now they don't have feelings anymore. It was good to see Perin get an adventure and see the two rivers againg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    Definitely worth it, just like the other ones

    'The Shadow Rising' takes up from where the third one let off. Like the previous three, it is OUTSTANDING, despite the size. Don't let the size of this book throw you off, because something significant happens in every chapter and you don't even notice the pages fly by. Some things I especially liked about this one were that Rand, our main character from Eye of the World and The Great Hunt, made a much larger appearance than in Dragon Reborn. Perrin was in quite a bit too, and of course the exasperating Mat Cauthon, who is my favorite character. The author went into a lot more detail than he has in his other three, which was both good and bad because it gave you a better glimpse but was slightly slower moving. The story left quite a bit of room for people like Nynaeve, Elayne, and Thom Merrilin, but I really wish it would have talked more about people like Min and what was going on at Tar Valon. Overall, it was definitely a satisfactory addition to Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, a series which I have not put down since I started. Definitely worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    a Texas Tolkien fanatic

    Robert Jordan is not quite J.R.R. Tolkien...but he comes breathtakingly close. The world he weaves (as the Wheel wills) is remarkably detailed. I enjoyed The Shadow Rising, particularly Perrin's defenses in the Two Rivers and Elayne and Nynaeve's exploits in Tanchico, but have to admit that I got a little lost in the Aiel waste. Doesn't Jordan overdo it a little on Aiel clan and sept tradition?? Already started on Fires of Heaven. I hope Elaida gets hers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    The worst in the Series, But thats still saying alot

    This book took me about 500 pgs. to get really involved but it still is great, I LOVE THIS SERIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7