Customer Reviews for

Shadow Sight

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun urban fantasy

Fun urban fantasy

posted by EJ_Stevens on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For a book that I thought would be right in my wheelhouse, this

For a book that I thought would be right in my wheelhouse, this was not what I expected. There is incredible potential in this book/series, because there are actually a number of interesting ideas and takes on familiar concepts that I appreciated.

To start, she has a w...
For a book that I thought would be right in my wheelhouse, this was not what I expected. There is incredible potential in this book/series, because there are actually a number of interesting ideas and takes on familiar concepts that I appreciated.

To start, she has a world that includes demons, witches, vampires and faeries, and I think she does a reasonably good job balancing all of those magical and supernatural mega-powers. Just the variety in the base gives the world a lot of places to go and a lot of angles to consider. Second, her main character, Ivy, is psychometric--she gets visions from touching emotionally charged objects/people. That is a tetchy ability to land your main character with because it could be so socially detrimental, and I think that the realities and practicalities of living with a powerful (and uncontrolled) ability like Ivy's are very well addressed and represented. The consequences and hazards of living with psychometry are treated realistically, and Ivy has issues because of it.

I have to say, for such a short book, I really struggled with this one. I liked her take on vampires, couldn't decide how I felt about the demon, and was touch-and-go on her treatment of the fae. I almost feel like the shortness of the novel does it a disservice, because there just isn't that much time allotted to really sink into the world before it's falling apart around the reader. Ivy was an interesting character, but no one really jumped to life for me.

For some reason, it just didn't hold my attention. I was never sucked in, never felt like I couldn't walk away from it, was never emotionally invested. I don't know why, but for me, there was no connect. My overall impression of the book is that it's strangely forgettable. I was left with no strong impression or feeling about it, vaguely annoyed at the love element thrown in at the very end. My suspension of disbelief was stretched to its very limits and I wasn't even annoyed by it. I just didn't get any emotional investment. It's as if the bubble that Ivy tries so hard to live in, to keep herself separate (with good reason, mind) has saturated the story, so that there's a layer of fuzz between the reader and the action. Something about it made me feel like I was reading a premise or an outline--all the big stuff is there, now fill it out and don't forget the emotion.

That being said, I am intrigued enough by the world and the concept that I would read the next one, just to see if it fills out better, if I can sink into her world more and connect. The base its solid. I just need to feel the story, not read the outline.

posted by Kelly_Coffee on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    For a book that I thought would be right in my wheelhouse, this

    For a book that I thought would be right in my wheelhouse, this was not what I expected. There is incredible potential in this book/series, because there are actually a number of interesting ideas and takes on familiar concepts that I appreciated.

    To start, she has a world that includes demons, witches, vampires and faeries, and I think she does a reasonably good job balancing all of those magical and supernatural mega-powers. Just the variety in the base gives the world a lot of places to go and a lot of angles to consider. Second, her main character, Ivy, is psychometric--she gets visions from touching emotionally charged objects/people. That is a tetchy ability to land your main character with because it could be so socially detrimental, and I think that the realities and practicalities of living with a powerful (and uncontrolled) ability like Ivy's are very well addressed and represented. The consequences and hazards of living with psychometry are treated realistically, and Ivy has issues because of it.

    I have to say, for such a short book, I really struggled with this one. I liked her take on vampires, couldn't decide how I felt about the demon, and was touch-and-go on her treatment of the fae. I almost feel like the shortness of the novel does it a disservice, because there just isn't that much time allotted to really sink into the world before it's falling apart around the reader. Ivy was an interesting character, but no one really jumped to life for me.

    For some reason, it just didn't hold my attention. I was never sucked in, never felt like I couldn't walk away from it, was never emotionally invested. I don't know why, but for me, there was no connect. My overall impression of the book is that it's strangely forgettable. I was left with no strong impression or feeling about it, vaguely annoyed at the love element thrown in at the very end. My suspension of disbelief was stretched to its very limits and I wasn't even annoyed by it. I just didn't get any emotional investment. It's as if the bubble that Ivy tries so hard to live in, to keep herself separate (with good reason, mind) has saturated the story, so that there's a layer of fuzz between the reader and the action. Something about it made me feel like I was reading a premise or an outline--all the big stuff is there, now fill it out and don't forget the emotion.

    That being said, I am intrigued enough by the world and the concept that I would read the next one, just to see if it fills out better, if I can sink into her world more and connect. The base its solid. I just need to feel the story, not read the outline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Holy crap, I¿ve found a new series to obsess over!! It¿s got the

    Holy crap, I’ve found a new series to obsess over!! It’s got the same old paranormal characters but this is a wholly unique take. I LOVED that. It’s so much fun and it’s got such a real element feel to it. There’s so many things to make it part of so many genres as well. It’s got the mystery for sure, as you are trying to figure out who to rescues, and how to rescue them, and who to go to for help and who the real bad guy is. It’s also ubran fantasy as there’s definitely got some really cool supernatural characters. And I think the heroine is my favorite as she isn’t your usual heroine. She’s more of the damsel in distress who is willing to sacrifice herself to help everyone else.   
    So, Ivy is a normal girl… except she can touch an object and see it’s past, as well as feel it. So, when someone is being hurt and she touches them, she relives it. She always wears gloves, she has a serious aversion to touch, and she lives like she’s in a bubble. She’s a smart girl, but she also has second sight, so she can see through the glamours of all the supernaturals walking around. I love that she is always asking for help. She knows she’s got no chance to do something of this magnitude on her own. She is also very real. She is always tired, she still needs to eat and pee, she has to save money to make rent and food. She is scared to death of the demon who walks into her office. You like her yet, cuz I love her. She’s also fiercely loyal and she will stand up to the big bad crazies to protect her friends even when she knows she has no chance. 
    I think her roommate Jinks is ultimately hilarious. I love her role in this series. She is the perfect best friend and business partner. Madame Kaye is the seriously ancient, very powerful witch that Ivy considers a friend. She also plays a vital role. But her little friend Hobs-who lives is Md. Kaye’s kitchen, and her huge friend Marvin the Bridge Troll, are two of my favorite characters to add. They made the story so much fun! This is like a paranormal version of the breakfast club hahahaha!!! The demon is Forneus is quite the different demon. He’s definitely got the hot for Jinx, he’s kinda nice, if not a bit smelly, and he’s actually willing to do REAL deals with Ivy and Jinx. Heh, I look forward to all of these characters in the future… And wait till you meet Cffyl!!! Totally HAWT!   
    The writing is fantastic. It starts out with the prologue telling you a little about their hometown. Then you proceed to learn about Ivy’s first “vision”. Poor kid. Then it’s like, woah there’s a demon in the office. Giggle. It’s a pretty nonstop crazy ride from there. The plot is awesome. The crazy scary bad guys are like freakishly scary. The emotions that come to play in here make it so real. I am all in with this new series! YES! GIMME MORE!!! I hope to see some more shape shifters, maybe a werewolf  in the future! Though with all the scary characters in here already, I’m scared to ask what kind of werewolves they would be  5 COMBUSTIBLE MYSTERIOUS FAE PAWS!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    This was my first E.J. Stevens novel and... WOW. She is the perfect combination of Kim Harrison and Jim Butcher, which is huge considering they are two of my favorite authors. Harborsmouth is filled with a plethora of supernatural characters. There is a psychic, demon, witch, kelpies, pixies, merrow, ghouls, and mermaids to name a few. I was amazed how she managed to squeeze in a unicorn, not typically found in a city, simply brilliant! E.J. Stevens introduced each new supernatural species by giving a brief description about who/what they are. Stevens handled the descriptions beautifully, they very character involved, short and never felt like a lecture. I'm so happy Shadow Sight is part of a series. I am eagerly and somewhat impatiently waiting to read more of the Ivy Granger series.

    Ivy Granger is a psychic detective gifted with Psychometry, the ability to receive visions of past events by touching an object or person. This nasty "gift" will leave Ivy screaming in a puddle of drool until her vision is over, which could take hours. With the help of Jinx, her best friend and business partner, Ivy has learned to live with her power.

    In Shadow Sight Ivy is forced into taking a meeting with a potential new client, a demon lawyer. The demon, whose name is Forneus, is representing kelpies who are in need of Ivy's special skills. The kelpies need Ivy to find their missing king's bridle and if possible the missing king, Ceffyl D¿r. Forneus warns Ivy that there will be dire consequences if she refuses to find Ceffyl D¿r's bridle. The reason that human livers are washing up on shore is because the each uisge, terrifying and bloodthirsty creatures who lives to devour humans, are now living in the bay.

    The local water fae usually keep the each uisge in check, stopping them from killing humans and drawing unwanted attention. However, Ceffyl D¿r is missing and the other kelpies and water fae are afraid to stand up against the each uisge. If the each uisge are responsible for Ceffyl D¿r's kidnapping and have control of Ceffyl's bridle, they can control the kelpie king as long as they have the bridle. If Ceffyl D¿r returns without his bridle he will not be leading his people against the each uisge, Ceffyl will be fighting for the enemy. Ivy realizes that time is of the essence, the each uisge are just testing the waters with the individual attacks. When they realize that no one is going to oppose them the each uisge will storm the city leaving devastation in their wake.

    I absolutely adore Ivy and her snarky personality. Ivy is more of an investigator than traditional ass kicker, I still would not get on her bad side. Ivy has this amazing inner strength that I absolutely love in a heroine. Life may have given her a crap deal, but Ivy has made the most of it. She deals with her "gift" the best that she can while dedicating her life to helping other people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I want more! - 4 stars from The Bawdy Book Blog

    Shadow Sight is a fun, quirky paranormal read that just leaves you wanting more (which is good, since there’s more coming!).

    Ivy Granger isn’t an ordinary human; she’s been gifted (cursed?) with a second sight. When she touches people and objects, she sees pieces of their past, although usually with grand mal seizure-like episodes. She thinks that part sucks. Why can’t she just be normal?

    But that doesn’t stop her from capitalizing on her gift/curse and opening a detective agency with her BFF Jinx, the world’s unluckiest chick. Enter the demon lawyer, Forneus. Forneus, in all his brimstone stench, has been hired by the Kelpies to find their King’s bridle, and subsequently, their King, who has been kidnapped. The fate of the town, and possibly mankind rests on this case and the only person who can really crack it – with some help from demons, fairies, and a juvenile troll – is Ivy. Just what she signed up for.

    Shadow Sight is just a delightful and fun read. It’s quick to the punch-line and still maintains a level of seriousness – I mean, they really will die if they don’t find the Kelpie King – that is needed in a novel that has the Fae. And oh the Fae! E.J. Stevens doesn’t shy away from incorporating all kinds of magic into Shadow Sight, so there is something new to find on every page. Her descriptions of the different Fae species – and sometimes what they do to humans – is vivid and captivating.

    And even though the general tone of the novel is somewhat somber – Ivy is on a life-saving mission, after all – Stevens still manages to inject a lot of lightheartedness and fun into the pages with her wit and humor. Ivy herself is fun to read, quick-witted and doesn’t take herself so seriously. She knows the situation she is in is so ridiculous, and she pokes fun at it – and herself – quite a bit. What else can you do, really? The rest of the cast is also an entertaining lot!

    I really only had one very minor issue with Shadow Sight and when I say minor, I do mean teeny-tiny: there is mention of a spell being cast early on in the story by her witch friend Kaye, that is akin to the Holy Fire of legend. I didn’t know what that was (and I actually never did look it up, I kept on plugging along), so the significance was lost on me.

    But overall, I really enjoyed Shadow Sight! Stevens is an incredible author with an arsenal of characters and great plot arcs, and she isn’t afraid to use them. I was incredibly and thoroughly entertained from beginning to end and I just can’t wait for the second one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    I really liked Shadow Sight. It is a very interesting novel, bec

    I really liked Shadow Sight. It is a very interesting novel, because you learn about so many different paranormal creatures that you may or may not have ever even heard of before. I loved Ivy's character and I wouldn't have changed a thing about her. Another character I really loved was a certain mythical horse, but that is all I will say about that. It only played a very small part in the novel, but I loved it! I recommend this novel for anyone interested in the paranormal or the fantasy realm. I will DEFINITELY be continuing on with this series =D.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Ivy Granger is far from average. At a young age, she learned tha

    Ivy Granger is far from average. At a young age, she learned that through her touch she could learn about the person, or people, who have been in contact with that item. These aren't idle visions - these are visceral, bone wrenching visions. To outsiders, it would seem that her ability would be a gift. To Ivy, a life with the 'gift' of psychometry has been torture. Being able to touch even the simplest item, like a pop-tart wrapper, has caused Ivy to isolate herself. She keeps few close to her, namely Jinx her best friend, and Kaye, a bad-ass warrior witch. In light of her 'gift,' Ivy and Jinx have gone into the Private Eye business.

    Approached by the Kelpies to find something very dear to them, Ivy and her marry band of 'others,' are sucked into a major threat against the town of Harborsmouth. It is up to Ivy to find what the Kelpies treasure in order to save her community.

    I loved reading this book. There was a lot of detail, but given that it is the first book in a series that can only be expected. With the amount of information that is provided, I can only assume that each book hereafter will be detailed and entertaining. It is difficult for me to go into any great detail about the plot itself without giving away key points. The foreshadowing throughout the book is wonderful. Too often I find myself wondering why I am reading a book at all, when I feel as if I am blind through the majority of the story. Not here. Ivy is a complex character who is still growing up. Because of her gift, she has sheltered herself - locked herself away from personal relationships and friendships. By the end of Shadow Sight, you get the feeling that the next book will be another point in Ivy's life where she will be pitted against her fears once again, and will be all the stronger for it.

    Between the 'creepies' and the dynamic between Ivy and Jinx, I couldn't have been more tickled, but then, at the end we are thrown for a loop - I can't wait to read the next book in the series and see what Ivy does with the strings that are daintily, and quite nicely left open.

    A giant THANK YOU to E.J. Stevens for giving me another book with lots of monsters (both scary and cute) to run around in my imagination!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun urban fantasy

    Fun urban fantasy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Handle With Care Shadow Sight is the first installment in the I

    Handle With Care

    Shadow Sight is the first installment in the Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective Series.  Ivy was born with a unique ability to see emotionally charged images by using her sense of touch.  She uses this “gift” to run her business in the fictional city of Harborsmouth.  With her best friend, Jinx as her business partner, and roomie they work with the city’s more unusual cliental.  (Namely the fae who inspired the original R rated versions of fairytales and the Bard.)
    Ivy is put to the test when a demonic attorney presents to her a case she cannot pass up.  
    Overall, I enjoyed this novel.  It brought forth a new world that I wasn’t entirely familiar with.  Sure everyone has heard of fairies and elves, but E.J. Stevens dives further down the rabbit hole exposing beings from the Seelie and Unseelie fae courts that could make any grown man weep in fear.  If you enjoy urban fantasy novels with a bit of horror interwoven into the details, then this series is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you are looking for a light fey read, pick it up.

    Ivy has a new client appointment. One her over competent assistant can't remember the name of. When he shows, Ivy learns he's a Demon. That's why Jinx couldn't remember his name. The case Ivy grudgingly, but willingly takes when she learns it will help save her town and the people in it, is to find the kidnapped Kelpie Kings Bridle and return it to the Kelpie. Then the Kelpie will stop the attacks of a dangerous and deadly sea fey that is behind all the bad happening in town. The case brings Ivy and many more to a battle between fey they never thought would come.

    We get an introduction that is done in a tour fashion. The voice is the tour guide and introduces us to the world, and Ivy who is a detective in Harborsmouth. Telling us there is many strange creatures here, but humans can't see them. The first chapter starts in as Ivy, which you don't realize it's her, at the age of six upset over her missing cat. Then how she gets a vision as to what happened to her beloved cat. This is the starts of how Ivy came to her powers and who she is. And how she met her best friend and business assistant, Jinx.

    The story is in first person POV from Ivy. There is a lot of set up with Ivy's history and ability then meeting Jinx and setting up the company. We didn't get to the case until the sixth chapter.

    As Ivy combs the town and those that could help her save the city from emanate death, we come across many different fey here. With each character we meet, we get a story about them and their kind. Feels like it slows the actual story for me. There is lots of information drops throughout the book. Lots of details and world setting in chapter one. It's a neat world but slow for me getting to the case. I know we need to meet everyone but...I was ready to move on. It feels like a tour though the city, Maybe I'm an assistant tagging along for her first day, with Ivy as she tells me about different places and fey and their story as we go.

    The voice (reader) has done different tones and voices for Ivy, Jinx, and other characters through out the story. It makes it easy to differentiate them all while reading. The reader, or maybe word choices of the author, makes me feel like the story is a bit for older young adults. The story was a relaxed story and Ivy sounds young. I think it was the voice talent with this story, but I didn't feel my normal kick butt feel for Ivy. I felt like the voice was trying to make to much fun into the story. There were little jokes, but trying to make the story too lighthearted. The story came across as a mid-line feel.

    This is a vast world created. There are creatures from Brownies, Demons, Trolls, and Witches (or hunters) to much more. Vampires, Kelpie, Selkie, and rare fey of the ocean and land.

    When we get into action and doing things with Ivy, I'm right there with her. I'm looking and wondering what will happen.

    I think I'll read the next book, not listen to it. I like that there are many magical beings here in the world. It opens this detective series up to many things. By the end I think Ivy has grown. I'd be curious to see more of where she goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    My rating: 3.5 out of 5 I received an e-copy of this book from t

    My rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I received an e-copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Ivy Granger's ability of second sight manifested when she was a young girl causing her to experience horrible visions of events past, debilitating nightmares, and an aversion to touch. But with the help of her best friend Jinx, they have opened a psychic detective agency utilizing Ivy's vision and Jinx's kick-butt clerical skills.

    The city of Harborsmouth is predominantly human with a secret paranormal community of various fae, witches, vampires, and even a demon attorney. This makes for a wide cast of characters, all of which I enjoyed spending some time with (although I wouldn't want to spend very much time with the villains...not alone anyway and not without good backup). There were a couple of instances where Ivy met a few fae (specifically a unicorn and a Red Cap) that made me wish we could spend more time with them and have a few more questions answered. We only saw them briefly and then never heard from them again, but they offered a few hints that there might be more to Ivy's heritage than we initially know.

    There's quite a bit of action in Shadow Sight. Ivy is running around for most of the book doing recon work (she is a psychic detective), as well as, contacting various supernatural factions to gain assistance in the battle with the Each Uisge (a type of water horse with very nasty intentions towards humans). But I was a little disappointed during the final battle because she wasn't an active fighter and usually my UF heroines jump right into the fray. Granted she doesn't have the strength or powers to actively fight the Each Uisge and if she touches an emotionally charged object she’s incapacitated by visions, but I would have liked to see some type of fighting or long-range weapons skill. Ivy does have the snark quotient that I look for in my heroines though, so that's a plus!

    The ending after the battle felt a bit rushed for me. Stevens packs a short follow-up with the demon attorney (Forneus), a blossoming romance with the Kelpie King (Ceffyr), revelations about Ivy's heritage, and the fallout of the battle to Harborsmouth into a couple of short chapters. I would have rather seen more focus put on the meeting with Forneus and how the inhabitants of Harborsmouth are doing and moved the romance and Ivy's heritage into book 2. But that's just me...maybe I'm getting used to cliff-hanger endings where not everything is tied up neatly.

    I'm looking forward to seeing where the series goes from here. There is a follow-up novella, Blood and Mistletoe already out and book 2, Ghost Light comes out July 9, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1