Customer Reviews for

Shadow Spinner

Average Rating 5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Amazing book!

    Marjan, a maimed servant and storyteller, never thought that she would be any use to anyone, but even so, someone was in desperate need of a storyteller¿s help in order to stay alive. Much to Marjan¿s surprise, she is summoned to Shahrazad, the queen of Persia, who was in need of her storytelling. For over two years, the brave queen had told a story to the Sultan each night, and, if it was amusing enough, she was allowed to live the next day. Now, after almost 1,000 nights of storytelling had passed, Shahrazad was running out of tales to tell. She set Marjan the task of finding new tales never heard by the Sultan, and bringing them back to her. Marjan, who thought that she would be of no importance to anyone, unexpectedly finds herself in an adventurous, frightening, and amazing tale of her own. The Shadow Spinner is wonderfully written and is captivating in the eyes of those who love stories of risk and adventure. Susan Fletcher¿s carefully chosen words have a life of their own as they weave pictures into the minds of her many readers. It is also a great book to read together as a family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book for tweens and young teens.

    Out of curiousity I picked up this book wanting to read something different. This was a good choice. The plot is engaging and interesting. The characters lively and fun to root for. While a harem is the setting of the story there is no materials a parent would find objectionable. This book was a fun if short read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great fictional story

    I am reading it right now and it is great. Its a little scary but great if you love spooky stories. Even though its mithical its still great entertainment. I recommend it a lot to tweens and it will keep you wondering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Best dook ever!

    I really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    Rememberable

    I must say, I have read literally thousands of stories. And I have read this one around the time it was first published I am coming to find out. And Let me tell you I still remember the story in detail. It is really a well told story. The imagery is breath-taking and the heroine will have you on the edge of your seat. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Breath Taking

    I loved every page of this book. I would mainly recommend Shadow Spinner for more sophisticatrd people who would actually enjoy an average book that's NOT the rich-girl, cookie cutter crap. Now to tell about the book. It's about a girl named Marjan who loves to tell stories and admires Shahrazad, her hero. She wishes for something that gets her caught up in betrayal,scandals, and a bunch of other stuff. And she realizes that luxury isn't always the best way to live

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    incredible

    shadow spinner is the most interesting book EVER! it just makes you want to read it more and more .You dont even need a quit place to read cause its so good. All you need is a copfertable place and a pillow at night to enjoy the most exstravegant book EEEEEEEEVVVRR !(loud)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Bianca a book lover

    The book Shadow Spinner was so intresting. I love to read so much. Especially if its from another culture. Its about how Marjan neeeds to find more stories for Shahrazad before time runs out. She even sneaks out of the harem. Thats dangerous, but when she did that it showed true friendship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    I am the genie from the lamp

    This book is a little bit off track in the type of books that I usually read, but I had to make an exception with this one. This books is a parallel book to 'Arabian Nights' which has to do with the real person that helped the queen get her stories to tell the murderess sultan that kept the kingdom and her self safe, one night at a time..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Awesome Book

    This book is a very good book, I like how in each chapter it has a lesson. Read this book, you won't regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE BOOK

    This is my favorite book in the world. i think i've read it over 30 times, seriously. It's great if you are into the middle eastern or indian culture. beautifully written and a great story. i never got bored with this book. i guarantee it will be one of your favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Wonderous

    This book describes the grandier and magesty of a lost world. A magnificent retelling of the romantic and intriging legand. An amazing book for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    LOVED IT

    this was such a good book! my teacher read us one chapter everyday, and i couldn't wait for the next day so that i could hear more of the story. it is full of action and suspense. it is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Join the Adventure!

    Every night Queen Shaharazad begins a new story. Every morning the king lets her live another day so that he can hear the end of the story. This has been going on for a long time. So long, in fact, that Shaharazad is beginning to run out of stories. Then she meets Marjan, a simple country girl who tells stories for pleasure. Shaharazad bids Marjan come and live with her and tell her stories. But it is not as simple as it sounds. For one night Shaharazad begins to tell a story for which she does not know the end. She assumes that Marjan knows the ending, but she does not. Now it is up to Marjan to set things right again. She must find the end of the story, or Shaharazad will die. Can she find it before it is too late? I really enjoyed this realistic fiction book. It was so suspensful that I could not put it down. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The characters were believable and easy to connect to. If you are looking for a unique, suspense-filled book, 'Shadow Spinner' is the one for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    a great book for all ages!

    after reading this book you see the world through different eyes and open the pages to a world of fascinating books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Spinning for a book to read....

    Lot's of adventure, and fun. When I read this book it seemed too take me into the story itself. The author is very descriptive, and knows how to keep a reader on their toes. If you've read the Arabian nights and you liked it than book is for you. I can't really tell alot about the book because than I'd have to explain everything and then you wouldn't have to read it. All I can say is that it is about a girl with a broken leg that tells half of a story to the Sultan's wife. But when she needs the rest of the story to tell, she needs to get out of he Palace and find the storyteller that told her that story. If you started reading the book you ought to finish it, because the best part of the book is there, in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    good book

    i loved this book it was very good. i've heard about 5 versions of the story about Shahrazad and this was one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Review (what else?)

    This was a really good book. Intrigueing(sp?) and suspensdful. a wonderful story of how Marjan go the story for Shaharazad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    great historical book

    This book was so intriguing!!! I love historical fiction and the story of shahrazad. the music by Rimsky-Korsakov is great too. If anyone loves historical fiction like me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    story time

    I like this book because I like lisoning to stories and telling them and in this book its about a little girl who role model is a story teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3