Customer Reviews for

The Shadow Thieves (Cronus Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not based off Percy Jackson

This book came out in 2006. Ikd about your town but the PJ craze didn't start in my state until 2009, when the Last Olympian came out. Also, the charactors and gods are completely different. Stop saying it is based on Percy Jackson just because it is about mytholigy. I ...
This book came out in 2006. Ikd about your town but the PJ craze didn't start in my state until 2009, when the Last Olympian came out. Also, the charactors and gods are completely different. Stop saying it is based on Percy Jackson just because it is about mytholigy. I have always loved reading mytholigy books, so I can tell you that there were fiction books about Greek mytholigy before Percy Jackson, and ther will be books about Greek mytholigy after. Percy Jackson just made this genre populor to those who didn't already love reading it.
Also, about this book, I loved it. Though it was slow in the beginning, it picks up and has non-stop action afterward. I am going to get the next book soon.

posted by 13628607 on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Good

Complete fail at writing a book about Greek mythology. If you want a good mythology book, read Rick Riordan.

posted by 10136984 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Not based off Percy Jackson

    This book came out in 2006. Ikd about your town but the PJ craze didn't start in my state until 2009, when the Last Olympian came out. Also, the charactors and gods are completely different. Stop saying it is based on Percy Jackson just because it is about mytholigy. I have always loved reading mytholigy books, so I can tell you that there were fiction books about Greek mytholigy before Percy Jackson, and ther will be books about Greek mytholigy after. Percy Jackson just made this genre populor to those who didn't already love reading it.
    Also, about this book, I loved it. Though it was slow in the beginning, it picks up and has non-stop action afterward. I am going to get the next book soon.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    This Book was Surprisingly... Very Good!!!

    When I first saw this book, I was hesitant to buy it. I don't like to read or learn about Greek Mythology. I never have. But this book was so entertaining!! The narrator was so witty, that I sometimes couldn't help but smile and laugh. The story was good and easy to read, but it was also very fun to read. The characters were lovable, and it was hard for me to put it down because I wanted to find out what happened to them! So read this book! You will love it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    It's a Trifecta - a Winner for all Three of Us.

    We have a tradition in our family that I read books to my two youngest before bed. As they've grown older, it's been increasingly difficult to find books that I can read which not only entertain me, but also capture the attention of a 15 year old girl and an 11 year old boy. The Shadow Thieves succeeds on all three levels with its charming intelligence, clever wit, and exciting plot. Anne Ursu has a wonderful ear for dialogue and all of us were delighted with her ironic sense of humor. It's a special book that can draw us away from our video and internet diversions, so we're anxiously awaiting the next installment. In the interim, we'll read this one again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Wow...

    Guys, what are you all talking about? This book was as good as Percy Jackson! Anybody who doesn't like it probably never enjoyed reading in the first place!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK

    I could not tear my eyes away from this book i hope the other books in the series are as good as this one

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    The BEST!

    After I read the first chapter, I knew I just had to read more. Afterwards, I lent it to my friend who loved it as much as I did. It catches your attention for some weird reason, and as you read on you find yourself thinking: Just one more chapter. But you finish the entire book instead of just one little chapter. It has a great air of adventure and mystery and lets you take a break from all those other books. A highly enjoyable read that will leave you waiting for the sequel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    I definitly recommend this book because it had action ,some funn

    I definitly recommend this book because it had action ,some funny parts, and i couldn't put the book down for a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Even better

    I mean the Percy Jackson series are good and all...bit I think this series is actually much better. I know the Percy Jackson series are supposed to be funny and all but, the Cronus Chronicles are much more humorous. So if you like modern mythology and humor and books that are just freaking AWESOME! So, use those things called fingers beg your parents for money and buy this book. Ok.
    -ichigo tachikawa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Love

    I got it from the store and I loved it! It is such a page turner and I recomend this to anyone looking for a good Greek mythology book with humor. It is very well writen. By the way, I am 13 years old.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Shadow Theives

    This book is amazing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Luv myths

    U like mythis? U like cats? Read thid book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Kool

    Its super interesting and full of mystery, the only problem was the grammer and the childish sentences. There r so many run-on sentences

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Ann Ursu came to my school too

    Ann ursu camee to our school the same day you said she cme to your school so i am guessing u go to my svhool ann ursu signed my book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Wow

    This book will have readers iching for more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Um

    Please tell me u guys wont go crazy like th reviewers on percy jackson amd thw loghtning theif

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Amazing book

    We all like to chase our shadows, and learn about shadows. But to find out that your shadow has been stolen? That's different.
    Zee goes away from home to spend time with his cousin Charlotte. Zee doesn't understand much- why all the girls like him, why the teachers respect him but he gets used to it. Charlotte and Zee team up to solve this mysterious disease going on that has no cure.

    If you like the books Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and other adventure books, you will enjoy this thrilling, spooky adventure by Anne Ursu.

    Will Zee and Charlotte fail to save the world against the evil Philecron, or will Philecron fall to the feet of Hades? Read this exciting series to find out. by Junah

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    !!!!!BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    I loved this book and recommend it for fans of Percy Jackson. It's a very fast paced and adventurous start to the Cronus Chronicles series. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    this is a great book

    i love this book! it is my favorite. i love how exciting it is! im not usually a reader but this just made me have to read it and i am reading the whole series now but so far this would be my favorite one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Amazing book....... and series

    as soon as i read the first page i was hooked. i love the difference between reality and the mythicall place of the underworld.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved This Book

    I loved this book! It was very funny and had a nice spice of Greek mythology to it. I very much liked the characters, especially Mew/Grandmother Winter. That was a nice touch to the story. It had nice writing and the style was a style of writing you mostly don't come across, sort of had the author's train of thought to it. I'd reccomend it to anyone who loves Percy Jackson!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4