BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadow Walker (Neteru Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Worth the Wait!!

    High praise to L.A. Banks for her foray into the world of Young Adult's Fiction! This series introduces us to the children of characters from the Vampire Huntress Legend series. These children are actually adolescents with issues very similar to those of teenagers we know and see every day. What's different about these children is that they're children of Guardians. These children, like their parents, have heightened extrasensory powers that assist them in battles between various forces of darkness. These powers aren't fully developed, though. When students begin disappearing from the Neteru Academy, twins Sarah and Alejandro Rivera (children of milennium Neterus Carlos and Damali Rivera) must learn the fine balance between revenge and protecting their fellow students. This first book lays the ground work for what is hoped to be a series as exciting and unforgettable as the Vampire Huntress Legend Series. This book is so worth the wait! Congratulations to Ms. Banks for a successful new beginning....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Best Banks EVER!

    Perhaps I am biased because I was already a big L.A.Banks fan, but this first book in the Neturu Academy series is the best in the ongoing Neturu saga. Banks really gets high literary marks for her story of the Neturu guardian children. Carlos and Damali's daughter Sarah was endeared to me from the very beginning and Banks imaginative writing is shown here at its very best. The blend of powers of these children and their coming of age experiences at the Neturu Academy is truly amazing to say the least. I can hardly wait to read the next book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Neteru fans she did it again!! This is a must read 4 all fans of Ms. Banks writing

    Simply outstanding Neteru series fans will not be disappointed in the next phase of the vampire huntress legend. This story picks up the story of the neterus children, the next defenders of the light. Not enough space to tell you how great this book is, so just buy it and find out for yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Great start to a new series

    I absolutely loved this book!!! I couldn't put it down. It's more focused toward teen readers but if you like L.A. Banks' books I suggest you read this book. Also,if you have not read the Vampire Huntress Legend Series by L.A. Banks you should do so. This picks up where the VHL series left off but is about the Guardians children. I'm anxiously awaiting the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Loved It!!

    It started out slow and I must admit that Sarah's constant whining over her perceived "lack of abilities" really racked my nerves. Also, I was surprised and a little disappointed at the very small role Damali played in this one. I mean she barely had cameos.

    With all that said, the storyline picked up nicely and I can't wait till the next installment. The new abilities introduced in this installment are simply awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Awesome !!

    I soo miss the Vampire huntress books.... They were my fav. RIP Miss Banks.... You are sorely missed :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    ?RIP?

    Please tell me Leslie Banks has not passed away! I read a review of this book headlined RIP. Oh my , if this is true The world has truely lost a talented and beautiful writer. Her work shines and makes you feel all good inside. I have read all of her fantasy series and can't believe there will be no more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    young adult readers and older fans who enjoy the works of Rowling and Sabin will want to enroll in the Neteru Academy.

    Neterus Carlos and Power Angel Damali Rivera kill, with the help of the Guardians, everyone in hell besides Lucifer the Anti-Christ. When the rapture occurred, the Neterus and the Guardians were left behind; not because they were rejected, but due to earth needing them. It is up to the next generation of Guardians and Neterus, Sarah and Alejandro Rivera and their team to battle the devil and Anti-Christ. To succeed they need training. Thus the Rivera twins attend Temt Tchaas Academy better known as Neteru Academy in Appalachia where they learn to be Guardians of the Light.

    Everyone assumed extrovert confident Al would be the stronger warrior, which is fine with Sarah who since early childhood has watched Shadows that no one else apparently sees; she not only does not want to be a warrior, she fears the dark. This in spite of her roots with her mom a Neteru Warrior Angel and her dad a Hell Council Vampire. The only shadow she likes is hiding behind that of her brother. However, fears, fangs and friends force her into the light when students vanish and only the hesitant Sarah can sees the Shadows in the dark that show where the missing might be if she can get past agents of the Dark.

    This is the last group of Neterus and Guardians to be trained by their parents as the battle is coming that will determine the final outcome between light and dark. At school, the sacred students and frightened faculty prepare for Lucifer's next move knowing some will not make it. Besides that angst, Sarah's unique power adds to her queasiness as she prefers not to battle the Shadows, but cannot idly stand by while friends and perhaps her family will die. Although paranormals attending school is so Potterish, targeted young adult readers and older fans who enjoy the works of Rowling and Sabin (see a School for Sorcery) will want to enroll in the Neteru Academy.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Help.....fellow l.a.banks lovers

    I was and still am a lover of l.a.banks writing and have tried to find authors with african american heroines in their romantic tales but have come up short! If anyone know of any series within this same genre and same quality of writing please tell me!........r.I.p. ms banks....you are still missed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Such a wonderful book..Such a sad loss to the literary world

    This is one of my favorite books. I have been waiting for a follow up.So i recently looked up the author only to find that she passed away the year the second book was supposed to come out.It is such a shame because This was a promising start to what i know would be an incredible series.Good enough to be a major motion picture. I am so distraught.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Ladylo

    I am hooked. This book depicts a grown up damali and carlos from the huntress series which i just started reading. I wish there was more to come. My condolenses the authors family .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I loved it!!

    L.A. Banks you will be missed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Don't be fooled by the YA label!

    Even though this is a YA title, I really enjoyed this book. If you follow the Vampire Huntress series by L. A. Banks, then you will be pleasantly surprised to see that the main characters are the children of the vampire huntress, Damali Richards.

    This story puts me in the mind of Harry Potter...only better. The main characters are twins, Sarah and Al. This is their first year at the Neteru Academy. They were sent here in order to strengthen their supernatural talents. The school is in jeopardy of being closed forever when students start to come up missing.

    Even though this book falls under the YA (young adult) category, dont let that discourage you from reading it. There is enough action, suspense, and even a little romance to hold any adult's attention. I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I thought it was a very good book. I just wish there was more to

    I thought it was a very good book. I just wish there was more to come. I still can't believe she passed away. I would love to see how the series would of ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    good story...

    just not ready for the crew to be parents! miss you l.a.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    This is a great book!!! I went to find out when the next book wi

    This is a great book!!! I went to find out when the next book will be out, and learned that Banks died. I'm truely sorry and in such disbelief. May the Angels carry you soul into Paradise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Definitely Recommend

    I am a big fan of the Vampire Huntress series, so I was very excited to witness the next generation interact with one another. I also found the distribution of thier powers interesting. I would liken it to a more diverse Harry Potter. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Great book. Probably won't see any more to this series though.

    I am so sad to hear of Ms. Banks' death. This was promising to be a great series. I have read her crimson moon series and absolutely loved it. I do know that this book was geared more toward teenagers, but when you know a good author, you know a good author. Sure enough, this was just as well written as her other stuff. Ms. Banks will be sorely missed; not just for an end to this series, but for all the future wonderful stories she would have written. My thoughts and prayers go out to her daughter, and I hope she knows the joys her mother's writing have brought to me and many many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great Continuation.....

    this was a great continuation to the series i could not put this like all the others down. Ms. Banks is an awesome author and i regret that she will not be able to finish the series. but to all of you who have never picked up one of her books it is a must read and then you have to read the rest she has become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    OMG, love the book

    I cannot wait until my daughter gets a little older to read this book. I loved that it questions on the back to help students and adults comprehend the book. It is sad that it will not be continued. LA Banks was an extraordinary author and I'm sure a person as well. She will be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10