BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Shadow Woman

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertaine

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertained all the way.

posted by booksonmynook on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat disappointing

I usually love Linda Howard but the book was a little disappointing. Not nearly enough interaction between Liz and Xavier. They didnt even get together until page 217. I really hated that I spent so much on this book. Should have been well under $10.

posted by 6060511 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Somewhat disappointing

    I usually love Linda Howard but the book was a little disappointing. Not nearly enough interaction between Liz and Xavier. They didnt even get together until page 217. I really hated that I spent so much on this book. Should have been well under $10.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Not bad

    Decent, although too much time spent with the main character dreaming. The ending was wrapped up very quickly and with hardly any bang, more like a whimper.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertaine

    Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertained all the way.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very disappointing. I've read all of Linda Howard books and thi

    Very disappointing. I've read all of Linda Howard books and this one is, by far, the least interesting and slowest moving. Character interaction was virtually nil; no tension; no drama. I'll reread her earlier books and will hold off purchasing anything new until I see other opinions.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The story is interesting, the intrigue compelling, but the lack

    The story is interesting, the intrigue compelling, but the lack of character interplay and a weak romance bog it down somewhat. I would still recommend the book because it kept me engaged and the ending was a bit clever, if not terribly exciting. First let me say that I am a big LH fan. Having said that I found myself disappointed by this book, Well written, yes, with lots of mystery and suspense. But very little romance and that not until the book is almost over. I would like a little interaction between the hero/heroine. Both were strong characters and well portrayed, but absolutely no chance to see any sparks. Don't call it a romance, call it a mystery and you wont be disappointed. It was an enjoyable read. Linda Howard has a fabulous writing style. She writes quick and snappy books. She has a pretty impressive talent building a mystery and unfolding that with suspense. Her romances are usually just fabulous. This one was pretty good. The hero and the heroine were well matched, personality-wise. And they had some chemistry and there was some heat. I thought the set-up of the book was original and definitely had some intriguing moments. The book had a less than linear plot-line which was interesting. A lot of the crucial plot twists happened before the narrative started and the book unfolds in a suspenseful and mysterious way with some smart foreshadowing and misdirection. The reader really doesn't guess what is happening or how all the pieces fit together until the very end.   

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I thought this was one of Linda's better books. The plot was ve

    I thought this was one of Linda's better books. The plot was very original and did not seem formulaic, as can happen with a lot of authors who write a lot of novels. From reading other reviews, it seems many readers just want to read about sex and Linda did not get to it fast enough in this book. For them, I suggest Harlequin Romance novels, many of which are free at Barnes % Noble.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    It was good. I'm a long-time Linda Howard fan...all the way fro

    It was good. I'm a long-time Linda Howard fan...all the way from her Linda Howington days, but something's been missing from her books lately. Don't get me wrong, she's still better than most - I guess I'm just not as fond of her "intrigue" novels. I agree with other reviewers, not enough interactaction between main characters. Good, but not great. Rather re-read "Son of the Morning."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A very good read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A great addition to my Linda Howard collection. I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Not her best

    She has written better. Still a good author and i will read more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Warning: You will need a darkness, a candle and perhaps a delic


    Warning: You will need a darkness, a candle and perhaps a delicious drink to cope with the twists in this story.






    Personally I have been a long time fan of Linda Howard. Which of course means I love how she can take a normal romance story and put several mysterious suspense filled twists in those plots, thereby keeping us as the readers guessing.






    This book is no exception!






    The story starts with a gunshot, a dead woman and bounces to our main character who comes off as a normal woman too sick to go to work except she doesn't recognize her own face. Add in the creepy (but sexy) Xavier whose bugged her house and the secret group who refers to her as "Subject C" and you might begin to agree with our poor main character who thinks that something fishy is going on.






    I would tell you more, but that would be cheating. Needless to say if you haven't read this book, then get out there and buy it. You won't regret it and for a few hours, you will enjoy a fun filled adventure of twists and of course a delicious taste of Xavier and Lizzy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I liked this book and yes, it forever for Xavier and Lizzy to fi

    I liked this book and yes, it forever for Xavier and Lizzy to finally reconnect. However, I think this would make a great first book in a series about them! They are hot and on the run and we all ready know them, so why not keep it going?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    May be confusing in beginning but a GOOD READ

    I always get a LH book and have enjoyed each and every one, some more than others. The plot I found to be a bit confusing in the beginning but eventually everything came together. A good read especially during this cold weather, sit by a fire, drink hot chocolate and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Angela Shikany

    Very good. I found it extremely suspenseful and loved the intensely sweet raw sex awake or dreaming. It would make a good movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. There was plenty of cat and mouse mo

    I really enjoyed this book. There was plenty of cat and mouse moments, some humor, and romance. Another great novel by Linda Howard

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Shadow Woman

    My FIRST book of 2013 !!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Gjet kl

    A
    vh zv
    vwrxnttrucbp pecnznovbypryp djrglycb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Riverflash

    She watched lilypaw with interest in the shadows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Darklust

    I will brb in a few min.s wait for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    LilyPaw

    "Ok." *she once again lowers her ears and bends so her white fur barely touches the grass. She slowly pads forward towards the mouse and pounces onto it*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    I seriously regret buying this book.  From the description, I e

    I seriously regret buying this book. 

    From the description, I expected something more along the lines of the Bourne Identity (woman doesn't remember her past, but discovers disturbing clues/skills that don't fit with what she thinks she knows of herself). Instead, I got a story with little action--from either the protagonist or her "lover." Even at the end, the neither DO anything, rather the problem is resolved (quite anti-climatically) by a secondary character. I'm used to being annoyed when a story with a female protagonist has the male love interest resolve the major conflicts (and unfortunately, this seems to be a common downfall in many stories). However, this one takes the cake: not only the heroine, but also her "hero," completely lack any sort of agency! What did either of them accomplish by the end of the book? Nothing! By the end of the novel, the status quo remains UNCHANGED. 

    So, what was the point, really? Yes, Lizzy woke up from her zombie-like state, but even the reason for why she had to become like that in the first place was totally bogus. 

    As for the romantic angle, it was nonexistent. She switches from fearing him to suddenly being in love with him with no state in between. Their interactions are so unrealistic, and there is no courtship, no romantic development. I couldn't feel any connection between them at all (even their "intense" sexual attraction was non-existent). 

    If I could give this book a negative rating, I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6