Customer Reviews for

Shadow Woman

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertaine

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertained all the way.

posted by booksonmynook on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

Decent, although too much time spent with the main character dreaming. The ending was wrapped up very quickly and with hardly any bang, more like a whimper.

posted by KhanSW on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Not bad

    Decent, although too much time spent with the main character dreaming. The ending was wrapped up very quickly and with hardly any bang, more like a whimper.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Not her best

    She has written better. Still a good author and i will read more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have been a Linda Howard fan for years. I have read so many of

    I have been a Linda Howard fan for years. I have read so many of her books it would be hard to say which was my favorite. However, I could easily say this is my least favorite. 




    The first 75% of the book was narrative, very little intetaction between characters even as we watch them react to each other. This is of course subjective. I personally like a book with a lot of dialogue, so I foumd myself skimming through a lot of the story trying to get to some action.




    Truly the book had a good plot and a lot of potential, I just think some of it got lost in the narrative for me. So my advice isn't necessarily to skip this one, but definitely try some of her other books about black ops agents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Amberstar

    "I think that either result 30 or29 is the map. Also when i when i went there, the clans werent very active." She mewed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Cut short..disappointed

    I love Linda Howard books. I've been reading them for years. This one fell flat. I was really into it and enjoying the plot when all the sudden the climatic part came and went. Wrapped up in what felt like 2 chapters. Plot was decent but unraveled in one chapter? Book should have been another 50 pages minimum. No idea what the rush was. So many opportunities for a plot twist or surprise which never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book reminded me so strongly of Death Angel which is not ne

    This book reminded me so strongly of Death Angel which is not necessarily a bad thing since that book is one of my favorites by Linda Howard. Both feature a heroine who's on the run, a hero keeping tabs on her through surveillance and the possibility that he may or may not kill her. As much as I loved Death Angel, I had a couple issues which are true of Shadow Woman as well. The hero and heroine spend more than half the book apart, and when they finally come together, there's maybe thirty pages left in the book. Lizzy and Xavier had some real chemistry so I wanted to see them together for longer than a few chapter and felt kind of cheated when the book ended so soon after. I think the author tried to compensate by having the heroine have several pretty steamy sex scenes, but dream sex is not the same thing as real sex. Another criticism is how little dialogue there was in this book. There would be pages and pages of narrative and then maybe five sentences of conversation which made for a slow pace for much of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    So-so

    It is not the best book she has ever written, there was 230 pages of technical jason bourn jargon and 40 of actual love story, so i was a little disappointed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I was disappointed in this book. The sex was not the problem. The story dragged frequently and the ending was very bland. I am a long time Lynda Howard fan but the last few books, the ones I call survivor manuals, have not been enjoyable. This one was a little different , hence 3 stars instead of 2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good reading not great

    If you are a Linda Howard's fan,as I am, I think you will be some what disappointed. I liked Shadow Woman but I have read other books by Linda Howard that I enjoyed much better. I thought the book was average.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story line was intriguing and good. It was a tad slow in spo

    The story line was intriguing and good. It was a tad slow in spots and took a little longer to get to the plot of the story than I like. I kind of miss the old Linda Howard  and would love her to come back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Well

    If shes a shadow why not show her nipples? :|

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    What would you do if you did not recognize the person looking ba

    What would you do if you did not recognize the person looking back at you in the mirror? One morning Lizette Henry wakes up, takes a shower, and is ready to start her day when she looks into the mirror and does not know the face of the woman staring back at her. 
    Lizette attempts to figure out the missing pieces of the puzzle. But it is hard because there are two years of her life that are missing from her memory.
    With the help of Xavier, her ex, she starts to remember some things from her past.  But why and how did Lizette loose her memory in the first place? 

    What I liked:
    Lizette is a tough, determined, and smart woman. It is not easy to get her to back down, and she is willing to do whatever she must in order to find out the truth.
     Even though Xavier in a relationship with Lizzy at the time, he was still supportive and protective of her. He was willing to help her no matter what. Once Lizzy and Xavier finally came together, it was nice to see how well they worked and interacted with each other.
    I wasn't completely sold on their “strong” love connection, but it was nice to see Lizzy and Xavier happy together. 

    What I didn’t like: 
    Once Xavier enters the picture, she first thinks that he is out to hurt her, but she quickly starts to remember their past and trusts him completely. (Perhaps a little too quickly for me)
     It was a little disappointing that Lizzy and Xavier did not spend very much time together in the story. I wish I could have experienced their journey of falling in love.
     The story was told with mostly Lizzy’s POV with Xavier’s POV showing up occasionally along with some other characters to take note of. 

    Final thoughts:
    I have not read any other books from Linda Howard, so I cannot compare this with her earlier works, but Shadow Woman was a book that was easy to read and fun to watch as the events with Lizzy unfolded.
    There was a good amount of suspense, twists and turns that I liked. I had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1