Customer Reviews for

Shadow Woman

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertaine

Really great book with intriguing story line. Kept me entertained all the way.

posted by booksonmynook on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat disappointing

I usually love Linda Howard but the book was a little disappointing. Not nearly enough interaction between Liz and Xavier. They didnt even get together until page 217. I really hated that I spent so much on this book. Should have been well under $10.

posted by 6060511 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I thought this was one of Linda's better books. The plot was ve

    I thought this was one of Linda's better books. The plot was very original and did not seem formulaic, as can happen with a lot of authors who write a lot of novels. From reading other reviews, it seems many readers just want to read about sex and Linda did not get to it fast enough in this book. For them, I suggest Harlequin Romance novels, many of which are free at Barnes % Noble.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    It was good. I'm a long-time Linda Howard fan...all the way fro

    It was good. I'm a long-time Linda Howard fan...all the way from her Linda Howington days, but something's been missing from her books lately. Don't get me wrong, she's still better than most - I guess I'm just not as fond of her "intrigue" novels. I agree with other reviewers, not enough interactaction between main characters. Good, but not great. Rather re-read "Son of the Morning."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A very good read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A great addition to my Linda Howard collection. I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Warning: You will need a darkness, a candle and perhaps a delic


    Warning: You will need a darkness, a candle and perhaps a delicious drink to cope with the twists in this story.






    Personally I have been a long time fan of Linda Howard. Which of course means I love how she can take a normal romance story and put several mysterious suspense filled twists in those plots, thereby keeping us as the readers guessing.






    This book is no exception!






    The story starts with a gunshot, a dead woman and bounces to our main character who comes off as a normal woman too sick to go to work except she doesn't recognize her own face. Add in the creepy (but sexy) Xavier whose bugged her house and the secret group who refers to her as "Subject C" and you might begin to agree with our poor main character who thinks that something fishy is going on.






    I would tell you more, but that would be cheating. Needless to say if you haven't read this book, then get out there and buy it. You won't regret it and for a few hours, you will enjoy a fun filled adventure of twists and of course a delicious taste of Xavier and Lizzy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I liked this book and yes, it forever for Xavier and Lizzy to fi

    I liked this book and yes, it forever for Xavier and Lizzy to finally reconnect. However, I think this would make a great first book in a series about them! They are hot and on the run and we all ready know them, so why not keep it going?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Metsuryu

    He nodded.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Enjoyable

    read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After Lizette climbs out of the shower getting ready to go to wo

    After Lizette climbs out of the shower getting ready to go to work, she makes a startling discovery; she doesn’t recognize the woman looking back at her in the mirror. Every time she tries to understand what she is seeing, why her face has changed and two years are missing from her life she becomes violently ill. Determined to find out what is going on Lizette soon finds a way to work around the block in her mind and pieces together a life completely opposite from her own in every way except one. She has lived them both.




    From page one you are assaulted by relentless action and intrigue as Linda Howard takes you through one twist after another. This is definitely a great romance novel, full of steamy scenes, high octane action, and a mystery unlike any other. This book follows your standard romance novel rules, girl has a problem, girl meets boy, boy helps solve problem, and they live happily ever after. What makes this book stand out from the rest by having some of the most intense action scenes with amazing descriptive detail Linda Howard draws you into the story and keeps you hooked as you try to figure out what is so special about Lizette and why someone would want to completely alter her appearance and even her memories. I loved how Lizette starts off as a kind of “wimpy” character and soon you start to see the real woman peak out from behind the mask. The transformation along with amazingly detailed action scenes and an interesting ending makes this a romance novel worth the read. I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    More Suspense than Romance, be warned. Read from February 17 t


    More Suspense than Romance, be warned.

    Read from February 17 to 18, 2013








    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    From perennial New York Times bestselling author Linda Howard comes a thrilling and sensual new novel of romance, suspense, intrigue . . . and memories that can kill.




    SHADOW WOMAN




    Lizette Henry wakes up one morning and makes a terrifying discovery: She doesn’t recognize the face she sees in the mirror. She remembers what she looks like, but her reflection is someone else’s. To add to the shock, two years seem to have disappeared from her life. Someone has gone to great and inexplicable lengths to keep those missing years hidden forever. But the past always finds a way to return.




    Strange memories soon begin to surface and, along with them, some unusual skills and talents that Lizette hasn’t a clue about acquiring. Sensing that she’s being monitored, Lizette suddenly knows how to search for bugs in her house and tracking devices in her car. What’s more, she can elude surveillance—like a trained agent.




    Enter a mysterious and seductive stranger named Xavier, who claims he wants to help—but who triggers disturbing images of an unspeakable crime of which Lizette may or may not be the perpetrator. With memories returning, she suddenly becomes a target of anonymous assassins. On the run with nowhere to hide, Lizette has no choice but to rely on Xavier, a strong and magnetic man she doesn’t trust, with a powerful attraction she cannot resist. As murky waters become clear, Lizette confronts a conspiracy that is treacherous and far-reaching and a truth that, once revealed, may silence her and Xavier once and for all.




    My Thoughts








    I have to admit that the story dragged a bit at first as we just could not get past the whole waking up and not recognizing the person staring back in the mirror plus the feelings of paranoia and suspicion that things are not all that they seem just take too long to resolve for me.




    That said this is a thriller that had me sold from the book blurb simply because it seemed like the perfect blend between a mystery and romantic suspense, which did prove to be true once "Lizzie" surfaced and went on the run all the while not knowing if she would ever remember everything completely are if the blanks in her mind would end up one day getting her killed.




    Think about this for a minute, you are an ordinary person living in an ordinary neighborhood going to and from your ordinary job every day and then one morning you wake up and that all changes. What would you do? How would you react if you discovered the life you were in was one established only a few years before, the face you wore was not the one you had grown into from childhood and most of all that there was a strong possibility that you had information hidden in your brain that could end up causing your death?




    All of this takes place in Shadow Woman and along with the mystery of who, what, why, when and where that is slowly revealed we also get to enjoy a complex story full of political secrets and intriguing insights that will cause the reader to sit back until finished with this book.




    There is so much more to this one than a romantic suspense and it pulls you in and will not let you go just like any good reading experience is supposed to!




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    Little differant from what I expected, but a nice change from the usual story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Worth Reading

    Good book....very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    L. H. is my favorite author. I enjoyed this book and it reminde

    L. H. is my favorite author. I enjoyed this book and it reminded me a little of the spy world of All the Queen's Men. I would have enjoyed
    the romance part more with more together time. I enjoyed the characters, the intrigue, the humor, and the well-played out suspense. No one writes dialogue like Linda Howard. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    must read

    Loved the story line. Don't know why,but I keep looking for something more. I've read all of Linda Howard books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2