Customer Reviews for

Shadow in Serenity

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Fast Paced Read!

    Oh, this was a fun little read. Shadow in Serenity by Terri Blackstock is fast paced romantic fiction with a little intrigue mixed in for good measure. Terri Blackstock could be considered the pioneer of Christian suspense novels, and I have always enjoyed reading her thrilling tales, but was even more captivated by this foray into romantic fiction. With Shadow in Serenity, Blackstock leaves the chilling suspense behind in favor of a well written romance that still packs a mysterious punch.

    Logan Brisco and Carney Sullivan are an antagonistic match made in heaven. Both characters benefit from a colorful and interesting back story rooted in the world of con-artists and carnival tricks. Despite being wary and suspicious of the others motives, Carney and Logan fall head first into a tumultuous romance that threatens to unravel the lives they have carefully constructed.

    I highly recommend this book! Thanks to Zondervan for the complimentary copy to review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Conning a con

    Carny grew up traveling with the circus. She learned at an early age to con people out of their money. But she grows tired of the games and running and decides to plant roots in a town named Serenity.
    Logan comes to town spinning dreams and charming Serenity's citizens. But Carny can spot a con a mile away and isn't letting him steal from "her" town.

    Change is hard. Both Logan and Carny find out that God can help and no matter what the fault He will forgive and make new. It was a new look at how God can take anyone and restore them in His image.

    This book was different from anything I've ever read. It was real, refreshing and fun. The story line is unique and real. The characters, despite their faults, make you fall in love with them.
    It's been a while since I've read anything by Terri Blackstock. But that is about to change. This book was not what I was expecting and the change was refreshing. Definitely a must read in the world of Christian fiction.

    I received this book free of charge from Shelton Interactive in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!

    At the age of 17 Carny Sullivan moved into the small town of Serenity hoping to start over, have a family with her husband and have a better life, but her husband died a year after their marriage leaving her with their child, Jason, and no desire to remarry. Carny grew up in her parents carnival, learning all about scams and how to fool people, she even participated in many, so when Logan Brisco comes into town persuading the townsfolk to invest in his "company", Carny knows its all a scam, and she's prepared to do whatever it takes to expose him for what he is and protect her home. While shes trying to do that, they figure out they have many things in common and even understand each other better because of it. Will Logan fool the town, and Carny?

    I LOVED this book! It was so captivating I could not put it down until I was through the whole thing! I loved the characters and the fact that the reader could actually connect with them and follow along in the story line. Blackstock does a great job portraying honesty and trust; and also fusing in God, and how he will always be merciful and forgive a one's sins; turn it into clean slate. I give this book 5 stars, this is something I definitely see myself re-reading in the future.

    Many thanks Zondervan Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine and mine alone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Why are Terri Blackstock's books in with the 2.99 and less books

    Why are Terri Blackstock's books in with the 2.99 and less books? They are 8.99 each - all four that are listed. I'm giving more stars as I don't want to downgrade her books due to Barnes & Noble's snafus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not her best but still great

    Liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Awesome book.

    This book is hard to put down once you start it.
    When you think you have it figured out, Terri throws a 'curve ball' at you !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    A good story

    I am a Terri Blackstock fan and read everything by her that I come across. This is a rewrite of one of her earlier books. It does not make the transition as well as some of her other rewritten books, but still makes a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful small town faith based romance

    Shadow in Serenity by Terri Blackstock is a faith based novel set in Serenity, Texas. This was a heart-warming novel about faith, love, second chances and the spirit of one small town. I enjoyed the characters Blackstock created and the wonderful tale she tells. Carney Sullivan is tough as nails, a good mother and loves the people of Serenity as if they were family. Raised by con artist in a traveling carnival she knows a con when she sees one. When Logan Brisco show up promising to make the dreams of this financially depressed little town come true she smells a con. Despite her best efforts the people she loves can¿t seem to get enough of Logan and his sweet words. Logan Brisco has one thing in mind when he enters the town of Serenity and that¿s money. That is until he gets one look at spunky Carney. The more trouble she gives him, the more he wants to win her over. Logan knows he should pack his bag and leave, he¿s breaking all the rules in the business¿but he just can¿t resist Carney. What unfolds is a delightful tale of faith, love and redemption. Blackstock creates a town and characters you will instantly love. Suspense builds as you wait to see if Logan can be the kind of man Carney needs. Shadow of Serenity is beautifully written and its message clear. There were several suspenseful and touching moments in the book. The tale unraveled easily and I finished in less than two days. I just have to tell you dear reader that I loved Jack and I am sure you will too.I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a faith based message. I look forward to exploring more of Terri Blackstock¿s novels. I would like to thank Shelby Sledge of Shelton Interactive for this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful small town faith-based romance

    Shadow in Serenity by Terri Blackstock is a faith based novel set in Serenity, Texas. This was a heart-warming novel about faith, love, second chances and the spirit of one small town. I enjoyed the characters Blackstock created in this novel and the tale she created. Carney Sullivan is tough as nails, a good mother and loves the people of Serenity as if they were family. Raised by con artist in a traveling carnival she knows a con when she sees one. When Logan Brisco show up promising to make the dreams of this financial depressed little town come true she smells a con. Despite her best efforts the people she loves can¿t seem to get enough of Logan and his sweet words. Logan Brisco has one thing in mind when he enters the town of Serenity and that¿s money. That is until he gets one look at spunky Carney. The more trouble she gives him, the more he wants to win her over. Logan knows he should pack his bag and leave, he¿s breaking all the rules in the business¿but he just can¿t resist Carney. What unfolds is a delightful tale of faith, love and redemption. Blackstock creates a town and characters you will instantly love. Suspense builds as you wait to see if Logan can be the kind of man Carney needs. Shadow of Serenity is beautifully written and its message clear. There were several suspenseful and touching moments in the book. The tale unraveled easily and I finished in less than two days. I just have to tell you dear reader that I loved Jack and I am sure you will too.I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a faith based message. I look forward to exploring more of Terri Blackstock¿s novels. I would like to thank Shelby Sledge of Shelton Interactive for this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Fantastic story of redemption. Highly recommended!

    Logan Brisco shows up in a small town by the name of Serenity, Texas with every intention of robbing the town blind by conning the residents out of their life savings. He uses wit, charm and charisma to win the residents over. What he didn't count on was meeting Carny Sullivan. She was raised in a carnival setting and had seen all kinds of get rich quick schemes and was pretty well versed in con artists. She did not trust Logan from the beginning. Logan spent more time in Serenity than any other town he had ever stopped in. He felt welcome and accepted in Serenity, a feeling he hadn't found in other places. He started feeling remorse for stealing from the residents. Carny was there at every step, trying to prove to everyone that Logan was a liar and a con man. The longer Logan stayed, the more attached he started getting to the residents. He became pretty attached to Jason, Carny's son. Although, the book turns into a love story, it is not a romance novel. It is a beautiful story that weaves forgiveness and redemption into the story line. This was not a quick read for me. It took me pausing and reading slow and examining my own heart. That was not something I expected when I agreed to read this book. I don't normally find myself doing that reading fiction. It was a nice surprise! I would highly recommend this book. I give it 5 out of 5 stars! A digital copy of this book was provided to me by Zondervan and Shelby Sledge at Shelton Interactive in exchange for an honest review of this book. These views are my own. I am very thankful for the opportunity to read this book. It was the first book I have read by Terri Blackstock. I highly recommend her novels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly recomend this book.

    As usual, Terri Blackstock has outdone herself. This is a great book. I could hardly put it down. I have never been disappointed with any of Terri Blackstock's books. She is a great Christian writer and knows how to keep a reader interested. This is a great book for people of all ages. I read every one of her books. I'm always looking for new books that she has written. I would recommend this book for book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    A wonderfully entertaining book

    Zondervan Publishing
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    315 pages

    When Logan Brisco blew into Serenity Texas, he planned on scamming the people of the town for all he could get, then escape before he was found out. He meets Carny Sullivan, the daughter of a carnival owner, who recognizes him for what he is, because she's seen all the scams, working for her father's carnival, until she left, married and moved to Serenity when she was 17.

    Carny tries to tell everyone that he is scamming them, but no one wants to believe her. They want to believe he is representing a company who plans on building an amusement park, which they will be part owners. She starts investigating the information she has, trying to figure out the truth.

    He hires Carny to give him flying lessons, and goes fishing with Jason, Carny's son. He attends church, goes to the town picnics, and before long, Carny isn't sure whether she had him pegged right, or not.

    I don't want to give away much of the plot, so just suffice it to say that I really enjoyed this book. I'd give it 5 stars, it is well written, the story line is really good. And the message of redemption, both in Carny's life, Ruth, her friend's life, and others in the plot is very real feeling, not overdone at all.. Terri Blackstock, and her publisher, have every right to be proud of this book.

    I was given a copy of this book, to read and review. No other compensation was given. I am not required to give favorable reviews, all opinions expressed here are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No one can con a con! Now if she can only get them to listen to her! Another best-seller that you have to read!!!

    "A pigeon dropper? What's a pigeon dropper?"

    "A huckster. A shyster. A con man. Y'all are making a terrible mistake."

    Yet no matter how many times she tried to warn them, not only her own in laws and citizens of Serenity, no one wanted to listen.

    Situated in Texas, Serenity was a quaint and peaceful town that some would compare to Mayberry from the old Andy Griffith show. One that was also beginning to feel the effects of the latest downturn in the economy. These are where hard-working, God-fearing people still lived and worked trying to find a better way. Where everyone knew one another and were willing to look out for others. Until Logan Brisco showed up.

    Smooth-talking, wealthy, and charismatic, Logan has researched the small town of Serenity. He's been looking for a town that was down on its luck, a town that needed a dream or two, but also a town that still had resources. Green resources! The kind that would keep him in the lifestyle he had grown accustomed to, and only one person stood in his way, Carny Sullivan.

    Carny Sullivan was a con-artist til the age of 17, who was raised by two small time frauds in a traveling carnival. Named after her family's lifestyle and trained to follow in her parents footsteps, she lived for the day she could finally walk away from this and live the life she could only imagine. Until the day Abe Sullivan walked in, married her, and convinced her, that he was the man of her dreams. Abe would also be the man who would later drink himself dead, leaving Carny behind with her baby Jason in Serenity, and Carny would learn that dreams don't come true after all. This is why she has to convince the residents of Serenity, that Logan is a con man.

    In the latest novel by Terri Blackstock, Shadow in Serenity, we see what happens when Carny's past allows her to see what others can't. What others only want to see, is the possibility of their financial dreams becoming a reality; where they won't have to work as hard and prosperity once again return to the residents of Serenity. Some are willing to give all that they have just to make that happen.

    I received this book compliments of Zondervan Publishers and Shelton Interactive for my honest review. I am already a huge fan of Terri's, so asking me to review her latest book was a true gift. Able to whisk the reader away from their present day circumstances and place them within the town of Serenity as a resident, is what makes Terri's writing so captivating and desired. There is an underlying message contained within the story, but unfortunately, you'll have to pick this one up, get lost in the story and like me, be left breathless as you finish the final page. Make sure you set some time aside when you start, because if you're like me, once you begin, you won't want to set this one down til you finish. Another 5 out of 5 stars for this novel and can't wait for you all to pick this one up at your local book retailers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Didn't "wow" me

    Carny Sullivan has seen plenty of cons, having been raised by parents who were carnival people and taught her all the tricks. When Logan Brisco blows into her small, close-knit town she knows his promises to the locals of making money in his investment opportunity are nothing but a scam. Carny does everything she can to convince her town that he's a con and refuses to tear down her personal walls of defense. But just when she believes she's got Brisco all figured out, he surprises her. The book synopsis calls this a modern day "Music Man". It is that type of story, and I hadn't expected that when I planned to read it. I think I enjoyed the second half of the book more than the first. Carny's constant nagging about Logan Brisco's con for the first half started getting on my nerves, but somewhere in the middle of the book I got over it. I give the book 3 stars because it just didn't "wow" me. I was looking forward to suspense because it was Terri Blackstock, but the suspense just wasn't there. I would've enjoyed it more if it had been. Overall it's a fun read, and I found the background of the life of the con men and the "carnys" interesting. *I received an advance copy of this book for review purposes from Shelton Interactive. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Story of Forgiveness, God's Grace and the Power of a Second Chance.

    Shadow in Serenity is the story of Carny Sullivan who grew up in the world of a traveling carnival. The peaceful, Mayberry-like, town of Serenity, Texas has given her a home, a life and a child.

    Logan Brisco is the smoothest, most handsome man Serenity has seen. But Carny is smart, and knows a con artist when she sees one, and see has seen plenty of them, starting with her father. What is strange for Carny is that she seems to be the only person in the entire town to see through the Italian shoes, smooth talking and movie star smile. Logan has the town completely under his finger.

    Carny is determined to reveal Brisco's true colors before his promise to the townspeople of part ownership in an amusement park bleeds this town dry. The problem is that as much as she hates his ways there is a man behind that facade, one who may win her heart, whether she wants him to or not.

    The publishers note says this is a modern telling of Music Man, I'm unfamiliar with that story so I can't say for sure whether or not it is. But what I can tell you is that I really enjoyed this book. I think it's hard to find a book that tells a story you haven't heard before, or presents it in a new way. And this book was a new take on a familiar story. I found myself loving the town of Serenity and all of it's inhabitants.

    Were there parts of the book I didn't like? Yes, there were a few spots that seemed slow. There was a chapter that didn't seem necessary to the plot line so I skimmed it. There was one piece that seemed to change rather quickly in my mind, but the rest of the story made up for it (sorry, spoilers).

    Originally published as a secular novel under a different title, Shadow in Serenity is a sweet story about forgiveness, God's grace, and the power of a second chance.

    Zondervan provided me with a complimentary copy of the e-book for review purposes. I was not paid for my review and am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2