Customer Reviews for

Shadow in Serenity

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Why are Terri Blackstock's books in with the 2.99 and less books

    Why are Terri Blackstock's books in with the 2.99 and less books? They are 8.99 each - all four that are listed. I'm giving more stars as I don't want to downgrade her books due to Barnes & Noble's snafus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not her best but still great

    Liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    A good story

    I am a Terri Blackstock fan and read everything by her that I come across. This is a rewrite of one of her earlier books. It does not make the transition as well as some of her other rewritten books, but still makes a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful small town faith based romance

    Shadow in Serenity by Terri Blackstock is a faith based novel set in Serenity, Texas. This was a heart-warming novel about faith, love, second chances and the spirit of one small town. I enjoyed the characters Blackstock created and the wonderful tale she tells. Carney Sullivan is tough as nails, a good mother and loves the people of Serenity as if they were family. Raised by con artist in a traveling carnival she knows a con when she sees one. When Logan Brisco show up promising to make the dreams of this financially depressed little town come true she smells a con. Despite her best efforts the people she loves can¿t seem to get enough of Logan and his sweet words. Logan Brisco has one thing in mind when he enters the town of Serenity and that¿s money. That is until he gets one look at spunky Carney. The more trouble she gives him, the more he wants to win her over. Logan knows he should pack his bag and leave, he¿s breaking all the rules in the business¿but he just can¿t resist Carney. What unfolds is a delightful tale of faith, love and redemption. Blackstock creates a town and characters you will instantly love. Suspense builds as you wait to see if Logan can be the kind of man Carney needs. Shadow of Serenity is beautifully written and its message clear. There were several suspenseful and touching moments in the book. The tale unraveled easily and I finished in less than two days. I just have to tell you dear reader that I loved Jack and I am sure you will too.I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a faith based message. I look forward to exploring more of Terri Blackstock¿s novels. I would like to thank Shelby Sledge of Shelton Interactive for this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful small town faith-based romance

    Shadow in Serenity by Terri Blackstock is a faith based novel set in Serenity, Texas. This was a heart-warming novel about faith, love, second chances and the spirit of one small town. I enjoyed the characters Blackstock created in this novel and the tale she created. Carney Sullivan is tough as nails, a good mother and loves the people of Serenity as if they were family. Raised by con artist in a traveling carnival she knows a con when she sees one. When Logan Brisco show up promising to make the dreams of this financial depressed little town come true she smells a con. Despite her best efforts the people she loves can¿t seem to get enough of Logan and his sweet words. Logan Brisco has one thing in mind when he enters the town of Serenity and that¿s money. That is until he gets one look at spunky Carney. The more trouble she gives him, the more he wants to win her over. Logan knows he should pack his bag and leave, he¿s breaking all the rules in the business¿but he just can¿t resist Carney. What unfolds is a delightful tale of faith, love and redemption. Blackstock creates a town and characters you will instantly love. Suspense builds as you wait to see if Logan can be the kind of man Carney needs. Shadow of Serenity is beautifully written and its message clear. There were several suspenseful and touching moments in the book. The tale unraveled easily and I finished in less than two days. I just have to tell you dear reader that I loved Jack and I am sure you will too.I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a faith based message. I look forward to exploring more of Terri Blackstock¿s novels. I would like to thank Shelby Sledge of Shelton Interactive for this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Story of Forgiveness, God's Grace and the Power of a Second Chance.

    Shadow in Serenity is the story of Carny Sullivan who grew up in the world of a traveling carnival. The peaceful, Mayberry-like, town of Serenity, Texas has given her a home, a life and a child.

    Logan Brisco is the smoothest, most handsome man Serenity has seen. But Carny is smart, and knows a con artist when she sees one, and see has seen plenty of them, starting with her father. What is strange for Carny is that she seems to be the only person in the entire town to see through the Italian shoes, smooth talking and movie star smile. Logan has the town completely under his finger.

    Carny is determined to reveal Brisco's true colors before his promise to the townspeople of part ownership in an amusement park bleeds this town dry. The problem is that as much as she hates his ways there is a man behind that facade, one who may win her heart, whether she wants him to or not.

    The publishers note says this is a modern telling of Music Man, I'm unfamiliar with that story so I can't say for sure whether or not it is. But what I can tell you is that I really enjoyed this book. I think it's hard to find a book that tells a story you haven't heard before, or presents it in a new way. And this book was a new take on a familiar story. I found myself loving the town of Serenity and all of it's inhabitants.

    Were there parts of the book I didn't like? Yes, there were a few spots that seemed slow. There was a chapter that didn't seem necessary to the plot line so I skimmed it. There was one piece that seemed to change rather quickly in my mind, but the rest of the story made up for it (sorry, spoilers).

    Originally published as a secular novel under a different title, Shadow in Serenity is a sweet story about forgiveness, God's grace, and the power of a second chance.

    Zondervan provided me with a complimentary copy of the e-book for review purposes. I was not paid for my review and am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1